We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a view of the harbour”
Review of Islands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islands Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is not fancy and maybe a little bit dated but wow it was great in all the ways that mattered! It was clean. The bed was comforable. Some rooms have A/C but mine didn't. It wasn't ever a problem as I could open the doors for a few minutes and get a "flow thru" breeze when I needed it. Usually just oepening the door to the balcony was enough. There was a ceiling fan too. I stayed 6 nights and got a great rate. The front desk was helpful. There was GOOD coffee available in the lobby all day. I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you don't mind no A/C stay upstairs on the end aways from the office. There is a vierw of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 166 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Islands Inn is a great stay for folks visiting the San Juans or traveling through. The owner and staff are very attentive in the best possible way, the accommodations are clean and comfortable, the location very convenient and even though it has a motel style build, the nights are super quiet and blissfully dark.
The best part of it is really is the approach to hosting travelers from the top down. Great morning breakfast (perfectly boiled eggs), they will microwave any leftovers upon request and make the stay really comfortable.
Thumbs way up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grunberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after taking the ferry to Orcas Island for my daughters 18 birthday. Check in was fast and the desk clerk was very accommodating.
They were out of two queen bed rooms so she upgraded us to a family room.
The hotel is older but very well taken care of. Outside entryway but still quiet. Inside the room was very cozy and although we didn't have a fireplace, there are some rooms that do.
Very clean and well stocked for your stay. The furniture could use some updating for example the televisions are old as well as the couch and chair but again, clean and well cared for. The first thing I would change is the beds. They need replacing. Very old and "springy". The place has a nice continental breakfast with homemade muffins, bread and granola. Coffee was good too. All and all, for the money it's a great place to stay if you want a clean and cozy place to spend the night on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OU4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night in late September, during the boat show. Check in was very pleasant and we were offered a king room as an upgrade. This room had a fireplace which was nice, but when we entered the room the first thing we noticed was a very strong smoky smell. The front desk gave us some keys to check out a few other rooms, and in the end we decided to keep the "smoky" room, because in all other ways it was the nicest. Our room was on the 2nd floor, with a great ocean view. Everything was clean and all the amenities were nice (good quality coffee, tea, soaps). The lobby was very welcoming, with a fireplace, internet, coffee and cookies. Breakfast was excellent. All staff we encountered were warm and friendly. Location was a long walk to downtown (short drive but we wanted to drink some wine, so we walked), but at least we got to walk off our dinner. Overall a nice place to stay. Rooms could use a little more updating.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank sawmill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel on trip advisor and other sites, and were VERY glad we chose this hotel. Right at the entrance to Anacortes, and on the main street, it's convenient location is only the first plus. The room decor was a little bit dated, but very clean and the fireplace is a very nice touch. The service was OUTSTANDING from the moment we walked in the lobby until the moment we checked out. The comp. breakfast has a good selection and it was all very fresh - we were even offered a loaf of bread fresh out of the oven! I expected the hotel to be a little noisy being on the main street, but we faced the water and couldn't really hear the street noise at all. The pool and hot tub were clean and looked well maintained (the hot tub was nice and HOT!) and the hours were good (until 10:30). We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the water view with the fireplace but a word of caution - there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bilibob2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Islands Inn is a great choice for a budget hotel. You get a very clean, spacious room, good breakfast ( they bake their own bread and muffins fresh every morning, the coffee is good too).The location is very convenient, it's the first hotel as you get into town, coming from the main road. The staff is very friendly, they are really helpful, they even suggest places where to go in and around Anacortes.The only thing, our room didn't have airconditioning, we were there on a hot August weekend...Anacortes is a lovely town itself, I really liked the art displays throughout the town, nice sculptures, murals everywhere.We would go back to Islands Inn any time.

Room Tip: Room with airconditioning if you are there in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ildi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Islands Inn is a great budget hotel option in Anacortes. Don't expect anything fancy, but this will work for a short stay.

The staff is friendly and helpful and they have a great free breakfast!

The rooms are simple and clean and the hotel is conviently located in downtown Anacortes.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaelyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
0 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
489 reviews
5 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Inn

Address: 3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4227
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range: $64 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Islands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quaint town of Anacortes, Islands Inn is located less than 5 miles from the Ferry Terminal to the San Juan Islands and Victoria, B.C. Islands Inn serves a variety of travelers from the Northwest, Canada, and beyond. From business trips to family vacations, we provide comfortable lodging accommodations and excellent customer service to meet all our guests’ needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Islands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Hotel Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing