We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a meal, snack and drink if you're waiting for a ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a meal, snack and drink if you're waiting for a ferry”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We just walked by this place when we had 2 hours before our ferry to Orcas. It's not obvious as a place to eat, but they have a delicious menu of salads, sandwiches, soups and appetizers. Great wine and beer and a cute outdoor patio where we sat with our dog too. Such lovely owners and high quality food and drinks. We couldn't have scripted a better pre-ferry meal. Go!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyxx24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Greetings Amyxx24, I’m happy to see you were able to visit us on your way to the ferry and try out our new Bistro Menu, Also glad you brought the puppy along, many guests don’t realize we are pet friendly until after they arrive. I hope you get a chance to stay with us next time see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    155
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
106
247
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel provides outstanding customer service and convenience. It's located close to the ferry terminal, airport and Flounder Bay Marina, which makes it an excellent place to begin or wind down vacation or travel plans in the San Juan Islands.

The property offers some on site food, coffee, and beverage services. A continental breakfast us usually included as part of your stay, and it is a short - 5 to 10 minute drive from downtown shops, eateries and other businesses.

Our room was located on the 1st floor of the main building, w/ an ample lawn just beyond the back patio. We enjoyed spending a few hours sitting and enjoying the favorbale weather and view of the terminal. Our small dog enjoyed it too.

This site offers rooms for travelers w/ pets. Be sure to confirm that your reservation includes your pet before arriving as not all rooms will allow for them. I'd also suspect that other rooms offer better views. This hotel sits on a side hill slope and different rooms will definitely offer better views of the ferry terminal and surrounding areas.

The location and rooms are pretty quiet.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room in the main building or specify a request for a view or pet friendly roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the kind words Keb1959, I’m glad we were able to make your stay one to remember, I’m glad your family and puppy were able to get some use out of our lawn, we just finished doing some work on that not too long ago and it now runs the entire length of the main hotel, People with pets love to be able to walk right out of their room door and onto the lawn area. We also have pet friendly rooms upstairs if you prefer the higher vantage point to enjoy the view however some are kept pet free for our guests with allergies. Next time you are planning a trip out here give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you are planning to catch an early ferry to the San Juans, the Ship Harbor Inn is perfect! The hotel was very accommodating for an early check out and friendly. The building is older but rooms are updated. The best part for our stay was being walking distance to the ferry terminal for an early morning ferry on a busy holiday weekend. Driving to Anacortes the night before and staying at Ship Harbor Inn saved us a super early departure from Seattle and we got to enjoy the Inn's great view and location instead of a blurry eyed pre-dawn drive!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hi Wajere! What you did is the only way to go when it comes to catching the ferry, when you stay at the Ship Harbor Inn you are in walking distance of the ferry and if you have to drive the car on you can be first in line with views of the lines directly from most rooms. I’m glad you were able to capitalize on the convenient location. I hope you had a wonderful time, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

After a recent climb of Mt. Baker, my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a couple of relaxing days along the Washington coast. The Ship Harbor Inn, with a relaxing in-room jacuzzi style tub, was a perfect choice in Anacortes. Hidden along the road to the ferry, and very close to Washington Park, this charming, romantic inn is perched on beautiful grounds overlooking the water. The room was very comfortable. A great patio, perfect for a glass of wine, has a harbor view. A light breakfast is included.
The staff was very polite and offered wonderful suggestions for things to do and places to see in the area. All of their suggestions were spot on. Our next stay will be longer.

Room Tip: Go for the jacuzzi rooms. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hello again Blackdogg, I love the jacuzzi’s in those rooms being able to sit and relax in there while looking out over the channel should be on everyone’s list of things to do here. Glad we were able to suggest some exciting things to do and that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was very impressed with the friendly service as well as the beautiful view from the large windows and balcony facing the harbor. It is within walking distance to the San Juan Islands ferry and a short drive to Washington Park that provides for beach access as well as scenic walks/hikes overlooking the Puget Sound with the San Juan Islands in the distance. The complementary breakfast was more than adequate. The Ship Harbor inn is in a beautiful location and I was very happy with the service I received.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hey B W, I’m glad our location made it convenient to visit some of the best of Anacortes, I personally spend a lot of time at Washington Park and since we are just a hop skip and jump away it makes it an easy place to relax and unwind. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you are looking for lodging in Anacortes with close proximity to the Washington Ferry - look no more. The Ship Harbor Inn provides a lovely clean room with a terrific view of the water. Breakfast is included. It is a very quiet establishment providing for a great nights sleep. The owner is a wonderful hostess and added many new features to the inn. The Inn is just a few minutes walk to the ferry and is well taken care of. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building facing the water. Our room had a king bed and a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKL33458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the gleaming review BKL33458, being the only hotel within walking distance many people enjoy not having to wait an extra 2 hours just to bring their car over on the ferry. I hope you were able to take advantage of some of the new features, my favorite is our Organic Espresso bar! I hope you keep us in mind when booking your next trip. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently took at trip to Victoria, and spent the night at the Ship Harbor Inn. We were taking the ferry to Victoria and the location couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly, recommended a great local restaurant, and helped in our selection of a bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and quiet and had a great view.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King apartment and there was plenty of space for the 5 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hey Jeff I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn we value your patronage and hope you choose us when booking in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
3.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
612 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
383 reviews
7.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
354 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
140 reviews
16.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Property: Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Rd, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4043
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Business Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing