We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent ferry location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent ferry location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

You couldnt ask for a better location to get on the ferry if you're heading to San Juan/VIctoria. The units are cute ( small but cute) and the view is good. They have a nice bistro on site where you can eat snacks and eat on their outdoor patio ( heated lamps). Lots of deer to watch. They offer a breakfast in the morning that is decent ( fresh waffles, eggs, toast, coffee). Staff working there is a bit lackadaisical-- maybe its the small town thing--and a bit misinformed (told me Frida was closed--- we havent to go downtown and find it open and its FANTASTIC mexican food).

Room Tip: If you're boarding ferry early, go to the ferry docks, park, checkin and then you can walk back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Greetings SMPDX, I’m happy to see you were able to take advantage of our location! You tip is what we tell most guests taking the ferry that once they get their car in line they can walk back up and have breakfast as long as they are there to board they don’t need to wait down there. Sorry was misinformed about Frida’s we love that restaurant here I call it Anacomex! I am glad you got to see the wild life our close proximity to Washington park usually means we have a few resident Deer Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    144
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
232
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the location. We walked along the beach, walked to the ferry terminal to ride to the San Juans on the Washington State Ferries. A bit expensive for the room with the "best view" Noisy as it was next to the open deck.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Kathleen, glad you were able to take advantage of how close we are to the ferry terminal. Sorry it was a bit noisy on the deck for ya we do stop serving food out there at 8pm but I could see how if you had your side window open you might hear some talking. Since your review we have repositioned the tables so they will give that room some extra space also if you would like some additional privacy we have the same type room available on the other side of the property. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I booked the Ship Harbor Inn for my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary getaway. The staff made sure that all the details were well in hand, the rooms are spacious and clean. I ordered the romance package, and the staff did a great job of making a beautiful rose petal layout.

The room suites themselves are well-appointed with deep jacuzzi tubes, majestic views, and quiet sitting areas. I booked on a Sunday - I am not sure if it is busier on some weekends, but it was very quiet and tranquil.

The place is nestled in the hills on the way to the ferry, about 5-10 minute drive out of downtown. The Inn offers majestic and sweeping views, with a quiet relaxing ambiance in a natural setting. It feels like a quaint island getaway without having to travel on a ferry!

The inn has a small onsite bistro, wine selection and an outside eating/dining area on a large concrete "patio". It is a little ways out of town, so you would need a car or taxi if you wanted to eat something different, but it is a quick ride, and the bistro isn't too bad at all. They offer things like soups, sandwiches, various salads and pizza.

If you are in Anacortes, and are looking for a quiet retreat, or a romantic getaway, I would definitely consider the Ship Harbor Inn, I am sure you will not regret it. I would say that the ship harbor inn, is one of those jewels of the San Juans, a one-of-a-kind well kept local secret.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hey Brian, Thanks for the review! Happy to have your parents with us on their 50th anniversary and I’m glad they had a great time. As you said we are nestled on 6 acres of sprawling tree’s and woodland and have many room options that may offer some additional privacy you wouldn’t normally have in a standard hotel. We hope we see you all again soon perhaps on the 51st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a perfect spot if you are in Anacortes going to or returning from the San Juan Islands. Sit on your balcony and gaze at the view of the water and the islands, enjoy a glass of wine and dinner on the outside patio. The Inn now has a wonderful bistro dinner service which is a perfect way to end the day - no need to drive back in to town. The rooms are quiet and very comfortable. This is my second visit here and I would definitely recommend it. The continental breakfast has something for everyone in a lovely breakfast room. The owners have really made this place a wonderful spot and their personal attention to detail shows everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello again Connie! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a chance to try the new Bistro Menu, we had worked on making some affordable fresh items that may save you a trip back to town or as you said enjoy the amazing view! Many of our guests love to be able to get right off the ferry and straight into relax mode and that’s really why we have started the Bistro. Can’t wait to see you on your next trip up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Anacortes Ship Harbor is a walk uphill from the Anacortes ferry. Lovely spot but not within walking distance of other places to do things. If you sleep with windows open you will hear other guests and the ships, but it is a beautiful spot. The food is fine, if a little pricey, good soup. The breakfast is pretty much the kind you would find at a Holiday Inn with the waffle maker, etc. so that was a bit of a let down. Helpful staff too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind review Monica B! Yes we are located only about
1/3 of a mile from the ferry terminal. Our guests love to use The Ship
Harbor Inn as their base of operations so to speak as they visit the
San Juan Islands. Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy breakfast we
are constantly working on improving the quality yet providing the
ability to Grab & go that some guests enjoy. We look forward to having
you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
741 reviews
520 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

OK, it has been 14 years since I stayed here but things have sure changed!! There is now a lovely concrete patio out the back that is wonderful for sitting and relaxing while taking in the view.

Room - Our room was nice and white, crisp and clean and it had a had a sliding glass door that afforded excellent views. The bathroom was also a nice bright white. Both rooms were decorated with blue accents. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and well appointed with a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator.

Breakfast - Breakfast is included and was very nice and more than met my expectations. The coffee and OJ were both very good. There was a waffle maker, assorted coffee cakes, bread and bagels. There were two cereal choices, packages of oatmeal and hard boiled eggs for something more substantial. The breakfast room was bright and white, just like the rooms.

We only wished we had planned to stay longer as this is the type of place where you want to spend a few days just to relax and unwind. A perfect stay. I can’t forget to mention that we arrived after midnight on the ferry but were able to get to our room just fine as a key had been left in a lock box for us. Also, the owners had left a light on at the door to our room to make it easy for us to find it. Now that was a nice touch.

We will have occasion to stay here again due to the proximity to the ferry and we will certainly take advantage of the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the harbor - less expensive rooms are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! So glad you are enjoying the
completed renovations, We always strive to make sure every room is
spotless and glowing reviews like this make it all worth it. I am
delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and can’t wait to have you back
next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was traveling up the coast from San Francisco to Seattle with no plans and decided to meet a friend (from Bellingham, WA) in Anacostes. A quick look in TripAdvisor led to a phone call from a downtown parking lot and finding a last minute room. I was just grateful to find a room! But once I arrived, I knew I had found a special place. Right near the ferry (which I did take a trip on) to the San Jan Islands. The staff are superb, very helpful, cheerful and accommodating. Tiny bistro to fix you home-made food. Beer and wine and espresso bar right there in the main building. Someone else said this place feels more like a bed and breakfast, and I would completely agree. Breakfast is included in the overnight rate. Lots of lovely places to sit outdoors and enjoy the views. I stayed in a small 1 bedroom and it was clean, quiet, and had everything I needed. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktraphagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, Guest Relations Manager at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We have a joke that we are the last minute resort vacation you never
meant to take haha! Many of our guests find themselves here late after
missing a ferry when that happens you can count on us to get you
through the night, with an on site Bar, Bistro and Espresso bar we
have everything you need and want. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacortes
3.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Conner Channel Lodge
La Conner Channel Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Conner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Property: Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Rd, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4043
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Business Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing