We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Smaller rooms are very small.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonds, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view. Friendly staff. Smaller rooms are very small.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this warm, friendly place. Our room was extremely clean, but so small.
They do have larger rooms available. I recommend you consider asking for a room with two queens (ours only had one) to give you a bit more room if you are planning on staying more than a night or two. I definitely would stay again, but would be certain to get a larger room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at65happytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We think the view is beautiful too! The single queen room you stayed in is one of our smaller rooms. Next time you come, think of staying in one of our more sizeable units such as our King suites or Queen rooms with spa. Check out our cottage spaces for an more roomy and comfortable space as well. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Linda Harvey
Owner
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    155
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
106
247
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location was nice and the front-desk staff was very nice, but the room needed work. We stayed in a one-bedroom cottage w/kitchenette, with a distant water view. The front porch was full of cobwebs--I'd understand a few spiderwebs, since it was a warm November, but we had to knock them down just to get in the door; we also noticed the porch light was full of old dead bugs--bad first impression! The room was basic, but comfortable except that the bathroom ceiling was also full of dead bugs--little gnats or mosquitoes, along with a lot of rusty water spots. We expected the room to be a little rustic and cabin-like, but it should still be clean. I mentioned this to the front-desk staff, so hopefully they will improve upon this. I would not recommend this place for anyone staying alone off-season 'cause the place is very isolated and empty in the winter. It was a little scary for me and my daughter staying alone. Would be a great location for summer if they would just clean it up a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjkjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and time. We see you stayed with us this last winter in November, which we have found out was a very buggy season. An exterminator came in for the season's pests and has since been taken care of. We do apologize for the cobwebs you mentioned and have made sure our staff is keeping a better eye out for that sort of thing. We hope you will stay with us again and look forward to seeing you!
Linda Harvey
Owner
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The photo we took from just outside our hotel room was the cover for my photo scrapbook of a trip to Washington State. This hotel has an amazing site, very convenient for the ferry. The hosts were so sweet, when we noted we were still adjusting from east coast time they marked several nearby parks which opened early. The hotel room is spacious, well maintained. The breakfast was very filling. The best feature is the view though, watching the ferries ply the waters.
You can hear the ferry announcements if your windows are open.

Room Tip: Garden level rooms can hear footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainetaxmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our stay at the Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn was a very pleasant experience. Beautiful view from our room, and the room was exceptionally clean. The breakfast area was also very nice and all of the staff we had contact with were pleasant and helpful. Our stay was outstanding and will always be our destination when spending time in that area. Jim and Bonnie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Jim and Bonnie,
We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. We will let our housekeeping staff know that their work is appreciated. If you come back to see us in the summer ask about our complimentary BBQ and picnic area!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Linda Harvey / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff was pleasant and friendly, room was very clean, nice view of the harbor and only 10 minutes from downtown. Very quiet at night. I had a microwave and mini-fridge which is always nice to have. I'll be staying again on all of my future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Richard, Thank you for your review about your stay here at the Ship Harbor Inn. We are glad you appreciate the ammenities such as the micorwave and refridgerator in your room. Since your visit we've added a brand new exercise room with an elipitcal, tred-mill and weight machine! It also has a view of the water. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Linda Harvey/ Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just read the last post and they stole the words right out of my mouth. Motel 6, or worse. View of harbor is nice and you can walk to the ferry. So go to the San Juan's, and don't come back! Out of season, we were given a basement room that smelled. I asked for some febreeze (can you believe that?) Got no change in smell after we returned from dinner. I opened the windows (it was 38 degrees outside) to make the room smell a little bit less like a dead animal.
The shower gives your chest a very nice wash. No luck hitting your head. Our "host" in the gross breakfast never stopped talking to another guest even to navigate us around the hideous "full" breakfast. Even a comfort inn does a better job with breakfast. They don't begin even setting up until 6:45 for a 7 AM breakfast. In other words, you can't even grab a banana if you have an early flight/ferry.
The room was clean (except for smelly wall to wall carpet.) They were not full, so if there was a better room, even after I suggested to them that my room had an odor, they did not offer to move us.
Find some place else in town and drive to the ferry. The parking was $5/day. Shame on TripAdvisor for directing us here, or, this place sinks to low tide in the "off" season. I don't think they can fix these things even in the "on" season.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 270Doctordeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I want to personally write to you regarding your recent experience with us here at the Ship Harbor Inn.
We have been working diligently to upgrade the guest rooms, grounds and personal service we provide to our guest, your review leaves me with a somber heart and sincere apology.
Every situation presents an opportunity and we have risen to the occasion with aggresive action and solutions. We put all hands on deck to remedy each and every room and instituted a more stringent cleaning process.
For those who have never stayed with us at the Ship Harbor Inn. We offer a complimentary Self-Serve extended continental breakfast that includes; waffles, bagels, muffins, hot and cold cereal, fruit and fruit juice and hard boiled egg. Coffe, tea and Milk served from 7am - 10am.
There is no way to replace an event once it has occurred, but we can offer a new memory. Please feel free to contact me personally so that you can experience that get away you deserve.
Our promise to you is that you will have a pleasant and peaceful experieince with us on your return.
We look forward to another opportunity to see you again.
Linda Harvey, Owner 360-293-5177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Found this on Tripadvisor,
Photo's, shows 1 room that was updated and looks like a 4 star room. They make you believe that this is a 4 star property. It is no more than a motel 6 style hotel at best.
I PAID $109 FOR ONE NIGHT, NOT WORTH $60. I called the 1800 number, they made it seem like a high end resort. It has a 72 hour cancellation, so when i got there I was very unhappy, which I kept to myself till now. Did not want to ruin our long week end.
This is a very thrifty inn that the owner only thinks of the all mighty dollar with non accurate web site to fool over night rentals. To boot your 5 miles from from the main city or any eatery. Please take my advice and stay in town. If you do call ask your questions. Ask if your room will look like the one in picture, I bet you it won't unless you pay $150
$99 gets you a motel 6 style room with 2 double beds. Our room the heater stayed on all night even though we tried to turn it off. Had to open the windows. Hope this helps.
Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hot-Breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipHarborInn, Owner at Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I want to personally write to you regarding your recent experience with us at the Ship Harbor Inn.
My sincere apologies that you felt the website displayed an inaccurate view of what we offer.
We pride ourselves on our website accurately presenting each of our room types.
We always encourage our guests to view the room upon check in and encourage our guests to talk to us while visiting so that we can better assist their needs.
Please feel free to contact me personnly so that you can experience that get away you deserve.
Our promise to you is that you will have a plesant and peaceful experience with us on your return.
We look forward to another opportunity to see you again.
Linda Harvey, Owner 360-293-5177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anacortes hotels
3.2 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
609 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marina Inn
The Marina Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anaco Bay Inn
Anaco Bay Inn
#6 of 10 in Anacortes
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
434 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn

Property: Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Address: 5316 Ferry Terminal Rd, Anacortes, Fidalgo Island, WA 98221-4043
Location: United States > Washington > Fidalgo Island > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#3 Family Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Business Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is built on a wooded hillside amidst towering cedars and mature firs, insulating it from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Located 2/3 mile from the San Juan Ferry and a locally owned restaurant known for its atmosphere and great food. Hop in the car and you are just minutes away from Old Town Anacortes where you will enjoy a unique shopping opportunity, as well as several other favorite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anacortes Ship Harbor Hotel Anacortes
Ship Harbor Hotel
Ship Harbor Anacortes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing