We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Not your typical Mexican food....”

Frida's Gourmet Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Anacortes
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Frida's Gourmet Mexican Cuisine has been named after the famous Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. She was the wife of another famous Mexican artist Diego Rivera. This marriage was an amalgamation of two artistic styles, the classical muralist Diego and the avant-garde Frida. This blend inspired us to produce a menu that offers both classical and gourmet Mexican dishes.
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

Frida’s in Anacortes never fails to please! If you love Mexican food, but want to explore beyond the typical menu of tacos, enchiladas etc.... then Frida’s is absolutely where you want to be!

Frida’s prides itself on “Haute Mexican Cuisine”, and the two front pages of the menu are full of spectacular-tasting dishes; everything we’ve had has been terrific. My favorite is the Pollo Diego Rivera; strips of chicken breast napped with a pistachio/chili/white chocolate molé. Also try the medallions of pork in a hibiscus sauce.

Everything is great the appetizer of fresh chunky guacamole served with flautas is wonderful. We always look forward to eating at Frida’s the owners (brother & sister) are charming and the service is spot-on. Bravo!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank islandjavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 237 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2018

Love Frida the artist and we love Fridas Gourmet Mexican Restaurant. I would say the food here is several notches better than the average Mexican restaurant you find everywhere. They have put some real thought into the dishes they serve here. The decor is Frida inspired. The service was formal, to the point, efficient....not overly friendly, but was there when needed. The food was delicious...had the chimichanga with chicken and a steak dish I cannot remember the name...but the sauce was amazing. Fresh margaritas made from scratch...excellent. Definitely recommend Fridas. Located right on the main street, across from the Majestic Hotel.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank busconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Loved this place, the decor is delightful, the service and food was great. The menu is large and we went for chicken mole and tamales, friends had tacos. Way more interesting than the run of the mill Mexican. It was exceptionally well prepared and we will be back to try other things on the menu. Has an expansive list of alcohol and our choices were delicious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank fredSeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Went to lunch with a good friend that recommended this place.
Beautiful interior. I plan to go back there for dinner.
Lots of interesting delicious options on the menu.
We both ordered the stuffed peppers option. You can get them two different ways. Both where yummy.
Service was spot on.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Been there several times in the last three months. Frida’s has become my go-to spot for real Mexican meals.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WILLIAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida's Gourmet Mexican Cuisine also viewed

Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Frida's Gourmet Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing