We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Orca trip

We had a great time. We were out for about 6 hours! Great scenery. We were able to see 2 different... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
charlie h
Great day, comfortable vessel, knowledgeable staff!

We went out with Mystic Sea for my sons Birthday. We had a great day! The staff was incredibly... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
Danielle W
via mobile
Read all 243 reviews
  
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
196
29
4
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
29
4
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching captain and crew sea lions canadian waters great tour company san juan islands provided binoculars kelp bed see whales great trip hat island snack bar saratoga passage perfect size transient orcas smooth ride pods of orcas
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We had a great time. We were out for about 6 hours! Great scenery. We were able to see 2 different Orca pods, harbor seals and porpoise, sea lion, bald eagle, and island wildlife. Crew was safe and professional. Ship was comfortable and very stable. Would go back for other trips.

Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We went out with Mystic Sea for my sons Birthday. We had a great day! The staff was incredibly knowledgeable about the Southern Resident Killer Whales and the transient pods. The vessel was comfortable with reasonably priced warm beverages and food. We plan on going out again next summer and will definitely make the trip with them again!

Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

After a rainy start, the sun miraculously appeared and so did the Orca J-Pod! It was a long trip out and back, but worth it. They had print-outs & info of the Orca family (I took pics of them with my camera) and binoculars to view. I missed photos of the breaching due to slow fingers and camera, but great to see it. They don't get close to the boat, so bring a telephoto lens if you have one. Only problem was hearing the captain - they could use more speakers. All in all, a great day!

Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

I have been going on this trip for a number of years and always something exciting waiting for us. This time a humpback whale breaching and playing! They crew is top notch and very knowledgeable of the islands and wildlife. Highly recommend Mystic Seas for anyone who wants a great experience! We are going again next year!

Thank sandyfeet2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. We saw lots of whales and other wildlife and the day was great. One item that could be improved - the PA system cannot be heard over the sound of the engines and so a lot of the wonderful information the captain shared was missed. Having lived aboard a trawler for a number of years this is always a challenge to be heard over the sound of the engines.

Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Captain Eric got us safely and comfortably to where we could view a pod of Orca. A 100’ boat sounds big but didn’t feel so large in the waters at Deception Pass. We followed the pod at a distance for 20 minutes. The whales surfaced regularly and were swimming inland. We idled waiting and they surfaced between our boat and another and then swam right to our boat. The naturalist, Jill was happy to explain what we were seeing. The crew took us to several islands where we saw a nesting bald eagle, harbor seals, Stellar sea lions, dolphins and many sea birds. We didn’t find any other whales that trip but not for lack of trying. We had a great trip, got some great photos and I felt that it was an excellent value.

Recommended for all ages but maybe not for very young children.

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Great experience! The boat, crew, and captain were all great. This was my second trip out. On the first trip we did not see any whales, but did get to see eagles and sea lions. The captain took us on a great tour and made up for it. This second trip (September 2018) we got to see plenty of whales. Crew members were very friendly. Trip was amazing. Highly recommended to anyone looking to explore the northwest

Thank Grace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

The day was perfect - and the captain informed us we would have to go aways to see the whales - and we did - but well worth it. Boat not large, but very comfortable and personable. Staff was great!

Thank 60Donna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing experience! Even the food was reasonably priced. They know the hang out spots to give you great views of seals and sea lions. And we weren't left disappointed for whale sightings as we watched a family of 4 Orcas from a safe distance for them but plenty close enough to see them well and get good pics. The crew and captain were awesome!!

Thank Jerel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Great time, comfortable boat and lots and lots of whale sightings!!! The recommendation of taking motion sickness medicine made the day totally enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Thank SLShoenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews