We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be fabulous but now. . .” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon

Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Anacortes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Issaquah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Used to be fabulous but now. . .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was so excited to take my out-of-state to Bob's Chowders but we were so disappointed. The chowder was lackluster and not as flavorful as it used to be. The fish was greasy and bland. I hope when their remodel is over the old Bob's comes back or I will find another favorite stop in Ancortes on my way to the ferry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2far2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    59
    40
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Bob's chowder is not your typical chowder. It almosts tastes like it might have Italian seasoning in it. But it is good. The salmon is also excellent.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank serenasun32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local fishshack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food was great, as well as the prices and the atmosphere. They are expanding and under construction, so hopefully they'll maintain their character once they're bigger.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't like”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fisrt off the service wasn't good. The staff wasn't very friendly. Then to top of the lunch experience, the food was very disappointing. We won't be going back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I love their prawns and chips. Just a fun place to have lunch

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dpjp813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon also viewed

Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
Anacortes, Fidalgo Island
 

Been to Bob's Chowder Bar & BBQ Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing