We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cabin”
Review of Lochaerie Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amanda Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochaerie Resort
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Cabin”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chris and Tom were wonderfully helpful with restaurant and activity suggestions and even offered us some wine as we talked about our plans for the next day. Our cabin was perfect with a beautiful view of the lake and a super cozy living room. We had a great time canoeing across the lake to The Salmon House for breakfast and spent the day hiking around the south side of the lake. Chris even offered to pick us up if we were too tired to canoe back at the end of the day. We will definitely be back next time we're in the park.

Room Tip: We were so busy exploring the park we didn't take the time to check out the grounds and other ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
15
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Been several times, always a pleasure. Very basic but nice cabins...clean, quiet, fireplaces, views, fully equipped kitchens. Nice staff, available if you need them. Go hiking, canoeing, exploring, beachcombing or do nothing. No phone, tv, wi-fi...you won't need them. Each cabin a gem. Beautiful and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dannyosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Cabin Olympus and it was VERY clean and well maintained. The cabin is a rustic but delightful with a real "National Park Feel". The stove/fireplace was ready for use and wood was supplied and the hosts were warm and helpful and will help carry luggage. This is a rustic experience, with no TV/Phones but it does have cell service. The lake is beautiful and there are canoes/kayaks for free NOT like all the other Lake Resorts. Each cabin is distinct and have patios/decks/porches. Remember though this is a RAIN FOREST and it rains!! The cabins nearest the lake have challenging climbs for elderly or mobility impaired. The cabins nearest the main house have easy access. BRING food, the cabins have full kitchens with all supplies but the grocery store in Amanda Park is VERY limited. The Lake Quinault Loop is worth doing with a SUV or study sedan.

Room Tip: Lunch at the Lake Quinault Lodge is fun and the Lodge has a great gift shop. The Rain Forest Resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights on our way back from Vancouver, we could not have been more happy with our stay. In fact, we really didn't want to leave. We stayed in Cabin Christie and it was absolutely fantastic. It has a fantastic view of the lake and great little patio with two adirondack chairs.

Chris and Tom were very nice and helpful. We took the canoe out for a spin, which was really nice.

Some reviews complain about the price, but compared to other lodging in the area, it was very comparable but a much nicer place. Getting down to some of the cabins and the beach is a little steep, so keep that in mind.

Overall, it was definitely one of best lodging experiences I've had, and I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend Cabin Christie for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We loved our stay in the Storm King. The charmingly decorated cabin was peaceful, spacious, and clean. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen is small, but it had everything we needed to make dinner each night - all of the appliances are in good working order. Great views and very soothing to be right on the water. A pair of bunnies visited our front porch every morning. Chris was friendly and responsive to all of our questions about the area and to our requests. The stairs down to the cabins on the water are very steep, but it is worth it to be right on the water. It is wise to read the "fine print" section of their website. They do say that the deposit is non-refundable. For us, it was not a problem. The cabin was well worth the money. It was only $15 more a night for a three bedroom cabin with a living room, fireplace, and kitchen than it was for a hotel-like room in the Lodge across Lake Quinault. We wished we could have stayed longer and would gladly stay at Lochaerie again if we get back to the Olympic penninsula. Location was fantasic. Many great hikes in Quinault valley and saw lots of wildlife (elk and bears) while driving around the lake in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The cabin was lovely, well-maintained, and very clean. It was definitely rustic, but that was what we wanted. No tv and no wireless internet. Just nature.

The grounds and the lake are just beautiful.

Chris and Tom are wonderfully fun and friendly hosts. We'll go back again, for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in Ellinor, but the best view of Lake Quinault is from Christie. There are some relativel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is one of those place you hate to review, since once you've visited there's a huge temptation to hope it will remain a well-kept secret. My husband and I have been visiting Locharie Resort a few times a year for the past couple of years. The cottages are pretty rustic - don't go if you're expecting the Four Season or something like that. But if you want a quiet weekend away from the 24/7 connected electronic world, this is the place to go. The view of Lake Quinalt is spectacular, the cabins and clean and charming, with wood burning stoves. The hosts, Chris and Tom are extremely friendly and helpful. In summary - a perfect 10 - even though I can only give is the official 5 stars

Room Tip: Sorry - that's one secret I'm going to keep for myself :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanda Park
2.0 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
1,710 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochaerie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochaerie Resort

Property: Lochaerie Resort
Address: Olympic National Park, 638 North Shore Road, Amanda Park, WA 98526
Location: United States > Washington > Amanda Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Amanda Park
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lochaerie Hotel Amanda Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing