We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atkins
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here on way back from vacation after finding coupon at Virginia Welcome Center ($64.95). Was pleasantly surprised to find friendly informative clerk at check-in and the rooms were very clean, although somewhat lacking in space. The breakfast was just OK and he room is tiny, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlene W, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
19
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everyone we dealt with were very nice. Breakfast was sufficient. Make sure you look in the crockpot for the gravy. I'm used to oatmeal being set up like that and didn't see the gravy until someone else mentioned it. It makes the breakfast. Yes you Northerners should give it a try. Room was clean and quiet and met all of our needs. Someone said beds were firm but we liked them. If you go on into Marion at the next exit you will turn around and come back here once you see those places. Yes you will have to go to Marion to eat but it is only 3 miles. As everyone has said Mark is very engaging and more than willing to tell you where things are.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSHS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlene W, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff upon checking in was very friendly/helpful, especially on letting us know where in the world restaurants were since Atkins is just a small dot on the road! (restaurants about 3-4 miles down the road in Marion, btw).

Motel seems new, has a slight "drywall" odor and paint looks fresh. Found out it is about 18 years old but has just been renovated. However, for our double room at least, they either forgot to "upgrade" the mattresses or just "cheaped out" because both mattresses were very, very hard and thin (remember the days before fat, pillow-top mattresses?). Lots of pillows.

The room has a mini-frig & microwave. Internet was fast & easy. Free regular Choice Hotels breakfast. A good hotel for a one-night stay....I wouldn't stay longer due to the hard mattresses!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teechur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way back home to Albany NY from Mississippi. Mark at the desk was really nice. You could tell this was a hotel for lots of truck drivers. The hotel was quiet and the breakfast was free. Juice and coffee were avail. 24hrs.; which was great. Unfortunatly there was no pool or anywhere to sit outside. The heat outside was near 100 and it would have been nice to have a pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobi136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mass
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way up 81 north. When we went in to register at the front desk, we found the desk clerk, Mark, to be very engaging. He has a great personality and sense of humor. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and informing us about the area. By the time we checked in, we had signed up for the Choice Hotels rewards program! But no charge - so no problem. The room was clean and nice but small. The breakfast area is a little cramped but since it's free - who cares? I would say that the hotel is a bit over priced but there is no competition in the area so they can charge whatever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiRochester_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here randomly on our way back from vacationing in the Smokies and my daughter and I were not feeling well. Our welcome was very warm at the front desk. Our room was great; comfortable and clean. The front desk gentleman was very kind in giving us some utensils for eating our soup since we were not well.
The shower and bath were the most relaxing after traveling a while. The next morning the staff was cleaning the floor diligently as we exited the hotel. It was a very clean hotel and our stay was great. There continental breakfast was like many hotels, but it was a bit notched up with having the waffle maker that i see often. i was expecting juice, fruit and bagels so it was good surprise.
If you are traveling up I81 from VA, TN, etc. you should stay here...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRegnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a "pot luck" choice along I-81 in the Marion, VA area. Very convenient to the interstate. 50 rooms. Very nice staff, good complimentary breakfast and very comfortable appointments in the rooms. For $85 it was ideal re: room size, cleanliness, etc. Breakfast area has only three or four tables since its a small property. The bathroom was spotless. Sorry I didn't take a pic of the interior.

Room Tip: Watch out for penalty fees for smoking in rooms. Also double check the rate you accept/initial on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazonbufeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atkins
5.2 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
20.3 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Knights Inn Glade Spring
Knights Inn Glade Spring
#1 of 2 in Glade Spring
146 reviews
21.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 20 in Wytheville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 5558 Lee Hwy, Atkins, VA 24311-3004 (Formerly Comfort Inn Atkins)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Atkins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn, an Atkins hotel near Mount Rogers National Recreation Area. The Atkins, VA Comfort Inn hotel is off Interstate 81, Exit 50 between Abingdon and Wytheville. We are minutes from: Hungry Mother State Park The Back of the Dragon Bristol Motor Speedway Mount Rogers National Recreation Area Smyth County Community Hospital Wytheville Community College Blue Ridge College of Evangelism ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Atkins
Atkins Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing