We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Standard hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family stayed here for one night during a long trip so we checked in quite late. Check-in was quick. Room was clean except for a few head hairs in the bathroom. Sleep quality was good.

Things got interesting in the morning. My daughter and I went down for breakfast around 7:30 AM which was in a moderately sized room which what appeared to be a fair selection of food/drink items along two walls with cheap disposable plates/bowls/utensils. At the time we showed up, about 20 other people showed up at the time time. It was chaos and the hot food was quickly gone. We just got cereal and sat down to watch everyone else and wait for more hot food. We waited a good half hour with no more hot food coming out. By that time, we figured we would just sit in the lobby and wait for my wife and son to wake up and maybe try for breakfast again.

While in the lobby, I got to share a little small talk with the front desk person. I found out from the person that they had all 69 rooms occupied and that breakfast can be little chaotic at times due to little rushes. He did say things slow down around 9:00 AM.

As we sat in the lobby, I got to hear the front desk take several phone calls and two in-person complaints regarding housekeeping. Most seemed to be related to needing more towels. I could over hear the front desk person say that housekeeping doesn't punch-in until 8:30 and then it would be a bit longer for them to get organized. After a little more small talk, I discovered that they ran out of towels.

After the rest of my family woke up, we did finally get some hot food for breakfast. It was so-so. After breakfast, we wanted to get in a quick swim before our long car ride. Nice size pool and Jacuzzi; however, the water looked to be a little unclean and green looking. We decided it was good enough and started swimming. Shortly after, a ton of people came in and overtook the pool and Jacuzzi. Three unsupervised teenage kids were being extremely loud and annoying. After dealing with the ruckus for 15 minutes, we finally said enough was enough and cut the swimming short.

Seemed to me that this hotel was having some slight issues due to 100% occupancy at the time. It's great that they can be fully occupied; however, if they cannot offer 100% service during those times, then they have some slight issues that should be addressed in my opinion. The ruckus in the pool was not the fault of the hotel, but when you have so many rooms, you are bound to get some parents that just don't want to watch their kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToadNumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    80
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
113
79
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Upperville, VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nice amenities: indoor pool w/ jacuzzi; clean, well-stocked breakfast area; nice efficient staff esp. Tony; rooms - clean, very quiet and comfortable w/ refrigerator and microwave; EZ access to I-95 but a little hard to find (behind Pizza Hut) Good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family stayed here on a trip to King's Dominion. The location is perfect, right off the interstate and only a few minutes to the park. Numerous restaurants are nearby. The rooms are very clean and up to date. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. We did have a shower only, but we did not need a tub. It would be nice to have a few more places in the shower stall to place items. The breakfast area was clean and food items were plentiful. The food was also restocked, right up to closing time. Check in and out was easy. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would absolutely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromVa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Pretty good alternative to the higher priced chains. Clean, good location. Trainee Anthony at the front desk was great. Very helpful and a good sense of humor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank say24hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a Kings Dominion trip. We had 5 kids so we got two rooms. It was very clean and updated. Everything was great. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and nice. The only issue we had were some obnoxious kids in the pool area but I am sure if we reported them to the front, they would have taken care of it. I would definitely recommended this hotel for families. There are several restaurants nearby and the hotel does offer complimentary breakfast and it was just basic....cereal, waffles, muffins and bagels, which was very nice before heading to the park. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

While not a five star property, they have five star values -- they get the basics right of making the traveler feel welcome, give you a clean room, and you feel safe and secure. Marsha, the gal who maintains the breakfast nook is a sweetheart who would be a wonderful spokesperson for the chain. Definitely stay here when you find yourself in need of a room in Ashland, VA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Highly recommended hotel, super clean, very large rooms, excellent service. Stayed for one night for a Kings Dominion trip, only a few minute drive to the park. Comfortable bed, fridge and microwave in room. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 80 Cottage Green Dr, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Ashland
Sleep Inn Ashland
Ashland Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing