We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Sushi Yokozuna

Sushi Yokozuna
Ranked #16 of 89 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The BEST sushi in Richmond! A hidden GEM Ashland. I have to have my Yokozuna fix every week! The Kamikaze roll and Ninja vs. Samurai are favorites of mine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rtilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doswell, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

2nd time we've been here, last time was much better. We ordered the spicy tuna roll, and the tuna was mushy, and really pretty bad. We ordered the spider roll and the soft shell crab was a little unsoft. A few other rolls we ordered were edible, but not great. Service was slow, only 1 server. Generous wine pours though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmeister1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place, atmosphere could use a little work, but great place for good food. Atmosphere is open, too open, not a good place for couples. food is excellent. loved every adaptation that they created because what was on the menu wasn't actually available. Still good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmeister1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

In Ashland this is the place to get delicious Sushi and Sashimi. Troy uses fresh ingredients and is always friendly and helpful. I go there fairly often, but tonight he made a Hawaiian Roll and fresh water Macheral that were wonderful. Don't be put off that it is located in a strip shopping center. The food is excellent. The inside atmosphere isn't glamorous but the food makes up for that. Go and Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent real Japanese food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Imagine my surprise, in Ashland VA, to find one of the best sushi restaurants I've been to in the US! I ordered Ikura sushi (salmon roe), and the chef was honest enough to say he didn't think it would be as good as it should be. He suggested another roll, which was terrific.
The menu is much more like a Japanese restaurant in Japan than the US - they have the obligatory teriyaki dinners, but outside of that almost all sushi - and miso mussel soup, hard to find!
A bit pricier than expected if you go for the special rolls, but worth it.
You won't regret giving them a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krashtest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sushi Yokozuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing