We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay”
Review of Days Inn Ashland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Ashland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed June 8, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

While traveling home to New York from our vacation in Florida, we drove all day and then pulled into an Ashland restaurant for dinner. After dinner we decided it was time to stop for the night, and based on a previous positive experience at a Days Inn elsewhere, we checked in here. It turned out to be a big mistake.
The room was bargain-priced and was clean, quiet and everything worked, but ultimately we base our satisfaction with a hotel stay on quality of sleep. We did NOT get a good night of sleep here, due to the poor quality of the bed. The mattress was thin, worn and uncomfortable. In fact, it was so worn out that it was no longer flat. The middle was recessed and the outer edges were curled up and off the box spring. You could feel the springs inside the mattress and had to lie around them. We barely got any sleep and couldn't wait for morning to come.
Free complimentary breakfast was a limited selection of cereal, pastries, juices, coffee and tea.
We learned a valuble lesson. In the future we will ask to see the room first before checking in, and if it is unsatisfactory, we'll keep going and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRedJonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This room had the absolute worst bed I've ever slept in. I could feel every spring, and it was so thin that when you sat on it, you could feel the underlying box spring. Also, since we were attending a graduation the next morning, I had checked the website the morning before we checked in to ensure there was an iron and iron board in every room. However, upon arrival, we saw a sign at the front desk that said we had to "put down a deposit for an iron." But when we inquired the desk clerk said she would have to call someone to see if they even had one. Needless to say, we went straight to Wal Mart and bought and iron and ironing board so we'd have one in the morning before our event.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Trae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were visiting an amusement park and needed a quick nights sleep. The entire motel needs a major renovation as I do not believe all the cleaning in the world could help it. The double beds were bad, but the sheets were clean. Gaps all around the door allowed in noise and bugs. The floor felt oily. The tub needed additional cleaning. People were hanging out drinking beer out side our door and random parts of the motel. The bathroom vent and sink was falling apart. The furniture was dusty and dirty. Otherwise, if you just want clean sheets then you are good. No roll away beds available. Continental breakfast was decent and consisted of cereal, bagels and muffins and juice. Lady at the front desk was nice.

Room Tip: Read the reviews, they are generally pretty acurate but everyone has their own standards. Do expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraciandChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I didn't even use the shower or bring my luggage into the room. Needed a place to sleep over night on my way to myrtle beach. The bed was not covered properly. If I wasn't so exhausted I would have checked out and found another place to stay. I felt like I was staying in the no tell motel.......it was very creepy.......questionable people lurking in parking lot.......pool green and murky.......rooms not filthy but not up to standard.....beds not hotel grade. Something you would see as a set in a scary movie. Was shocked it was a Days Inn. Shame on them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We are truck drivers and stayed here just to get out of our truck for a bit to stretch and relax while waiting for our next pick up. We have 2 small dogs, a Chihuahua and a Papillon.. together they don't weigh 20lbs. When we want a place to relax, we need a pet friendly but also a place that has truck parking.. so with the limited selection, we stayed here. The room smelled and wasn't very clean at all. Traveling the country, we've stayed in our fair share of places and this had to be one of the worst. Worse than a truck stop. When we couldn't get loaded we decided to stay a second night... was better than sitting in a cramped truck for 2 nights with 2 dogs who like to stretch and play too. When we went to request the second night, they charged us per dog $10 again for the second night. ($40 for 2 dogs who sleep in their crates anyway...ugh) When we questioned it, since we have always paid a flat fee for the dogs in any other hotel, the woman said "if you don't like it, you can go some where else" Not, I'm sorry that's the hotel policy or whatever, but go some where else... very rude!! Then when we asked for extra towels, she told us, they are provided in the room... was like, well we already used them since we were already here one night?? Just hate poor customer service!!! Will NOT ever stay there again and whenever we look for a pet friendly hotel, first choice is a Motel 6 and pets stay FREE!

Room Tip: Just don't go to this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ashland

Address: 806 England St, I-95 and Rt 54, Ashland, VA 23005-2231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ashland 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Ashland Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing