We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here on business great place to stay. Friendly Staff! Breakfast was good room was clean. Location is great! Close to I-95 Would definitely stay here again! Mrs. Marsha at breakfast is friendly and hugs all guest each morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfresh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    84
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
215
92
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We came down in November and stayed a week. My boyfriends job picked this place and paid for us to stay here. Everyone was so nice and knew us by name. Ms. Marsha was amazing she always put a smile on our face's everyone morning we came down for breakfast. Everyone who meet's her can't wait to come down for breakfast the next morning to see her beautiful smile and get a hug. This Hotel is very lucky to have her. We live here now and if ever need to stay in a Hotel again it will be this one. Thank you Ms. Marsha and Thank you to all the front end people and house keeping for making our stay their so warming.

Room Tip: They upgraded us to the suite and it was great... So I recommend that room but if it's not avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello DebbieR,

Thank you for your comments :) Ms. Marsha is indeed a wonderful person and we certainly are lucky to have her! Im glad to hear your stay with us was pleasant and we look forward to hosting you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in fairly new hotel. Large comfortable room with firm mattress and separate living room with 2nd TV for kids. Good water pressure in the shower. Easy access off the interstate. No highway noise heard! Breakfast was pretty standard, but filling and plenty of seating areas. A few fast food options across the street as well as a restaurant in the Bass Pro store next door.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilyngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night on our way to Florida. The location was convenient to the I-95 corridor yet it was tucked away on a quieter road.

Check-in was a breeze and the service was friendly and professional. The room was exceptionally clean, well-appointed and cozy. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was better than expected -- as vegans we were hesitant to bother but we had several options to choose from. Those with a gluten intolerance will also find options for breakfast.

The staff was exceptional. The morning of our check-out we discovered a flat tire on our vehicle. The front desk clerk was most helpful in quickly locating the nearest tire service center and printing directions.

There were two minor issues that did not affect our overall rating because, aside from these, everything was perfect: 1) Be aware that, even though the location is secluded, you can still hear the traffic on I-95, and 2) We set the thermostat to 72 degrees but when we woke up the next morning the room temperature was only 68. That explained why I was chilly during the night. By the time we realized there was a problem, it was too late to notify management.

While we have had no prior experience with the Country Inn Suites hotel chain, we can highly recommend the Ashland location and will not hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: We chose an upper level room so there would be no noise from guests above and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthlingsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed at the new Country Inn & Suites in Ashland, VA, over Thanksgiving. I was traveling and walked in. They gave me a reasonable rate (lower than nearby hotels). Check-in counter staff (I met 3 of them over the course of my stay) were all courteous and friendly. There was always free coffee & hotwater (for tea/ hot cocoa) and several cookie choices at the counter.
I stayed in a single bed (king-sized) right above the check-in counter. The room was very clean, nice décor, and bed came with several pillows and was confortable. Amenities included a small fridge and microwave oven (see pic) and ironing board + hairdryer. Bathroom was average sized, had a shower stall (clean and new) with Pantene toiletries.
The pool was average in size for a hotel (only issue is there was no shower to rinse before and after the swim) and there was a Jacuzzi as well. Next to the pool was a gym with new equipment (treadmills, pedal machine and weights).
Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good – there were sausage and eggs and oatmeal, yogurt, waffle (make yourself) and choice of cold cereals.
There was a computer and printer for guests in the hallway next to the pool and gym. It would have been nice to have them in a room for more privacy.
It was a very pleasant stay – new hotel, nice staff and good facilities. I’d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice cookies and free coffee/tea at the check-in counter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwick, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is one of the best Country Inns I have stayed in. Being new no smoke smell for us non-smokers. The bed was very comfortable and the location off the interstate about perfect. The staff is very friendly and they make you feel at "home" both arriving and leaving. I stayed only one night and I wish my visit was longer. The place has a positive smell throughout and the service exceeded my expectations. The hot breakfast in the morning makes it outstanding. Marsha the person who meets you at breakfast will make you want to visit again as she is without a doubt an outstanding employee where you come first. This is a hotel you do not want to miss when you are in the area. It has one of my best recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Staying here again because everyone in our group loved the hotel- the kids liked the
cookies - My husband and I liked how nice the staff is and how clean the hotel is.
The Breakfast was wonderful - they actually had real eggs and there was taste to the food.
close to kingsdominion - and bass Pro

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor - was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariesa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Address: 11600 Lakeridge Pkwy, Ashland, VA 23005-8190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing