We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed one night this past weekend and had a great experience. Jessica made the check-in very simple and her friendly welcome set the tone for a good stay. The lobby is cozy and inviting, especially with complimentary cookies and hot beverages. The sugar cookies are very tasty! It was a nice surprise to find packets of hot cocoa mix in addition to coffee and tea. My room was on the third floor and it was very clean and larger than I expected. The bathroom was huge, as well. The bed was comfortable and the room seemed to have above-normal soundproofing. I did not use the pool, but other guests were using it and seemed to be having fun. The pool area was clean when I stopped to check it out. The breakfast is definitely better than average with a variety of offerings, including waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, cereal, and bakery treats. Miss Marsha makes everyone feel so welcome and works very hard to ensure that breakfast is a satisfying, enjoyable experience at this hotel. This hotel will be our first choice for future visits to the Ashland area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisfamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 575 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

1st room next to stairway and access to exterior. Very loud. Asked to be moved to a quieter room location. He sent us down the hall and unknown to us was next to the kitchen. Crazy loud and constant. Asked the new person at the desk if the hotel was fully booked and she said not, plenty of available rooms. She said she try's not to rent room 105 due to the noise. Not cheap room either and not worth waking up to wife in tears from lack of sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eslay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest Eslay7,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for noise created in the kitchen after 5 am that morning. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

Cordially,

GM
CIS Hanover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was in the middle of restaurants and shopping. It was comfortable, quiet and clean. Even though it was a bit far from the Richmond Intl Airport, it was actually nice to be outside of town. The breakfast was sufficient for business as you do not want to travel with a heavy stomach anyway. The elevator was tiny, so using the extra-wide stairs was more enjoyable and healthier anyway. The stairs were freshly carpeted and clean, and plenty wide enough to pass others with luggage. Nice place we will return to. Thank you and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: If you're a large person, or have a handicap, I would suggest a room on the first floor, as the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped over during trip from NYC to Fla. Safe,clean and exceptional staff make this the perfect place to stop. EZ on/off I95 Thank you to Marsha for a wonderful breakfast. When my family talks about warm hospitality Marsh's name comes up. Well equiped gym.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Hanover, VA. We look forward to your next stay.

Wishing you safe travels!

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were on our way home from a vacation in Disney. We needed a place to stay for the night because we just couldn't make the whole drive. Hotel was right off I-95 easy on easy off. Great room, very clean, great beds, super staff, and a yummy breakfast. Top it off we got a free hug from one of the staff members!!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivychase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stopped here twice during trip to and from Myrtle Beach. Rooms were very clean and everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Staff treated you like family not a customer. Will use this hotel every year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anakin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely the best stay on our trip to Florida and back. Clean,clean,clean! Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The hostess at breakfast offered personal service with a smile. The staff all evidently enjoyed their jobs in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
278 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA

Address: 11600 Lakeridge Pkwy, Ashland, VA 23005-8190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $94 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing