We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel to attend a wedding nearby. The hotel room was spotless and comfortable. The internet connection worked flawlessly, the pool was clean and refreshing, and the front desk personnel were friendly, helpful and professional. We enjoyed our stay immensely. A big thank you to the breakfast hostess for making sure I had some Earl Grey tea each morning! How could you not like a hotel that serves complimentary cookies? What a nice welcoming touch! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahootywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 591 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and check in was fast. Beds were firm and comfortable, furniture is in good condition. Breakfast was good with cereal, eggs, pastries, gravy and bisquits. Good cookies and coffee available anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review online. We certainly appreciate your feedback on the facilities including the areas of breakfast, friendly staff and easy of check in. I am so happy to hear your thoughts on our "Be Our Guest" bedding program and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our brands design department. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again someday.

Sincerely,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent experience after a long night of driving with the family. We braved a terrible thunder storm and showed up at 1 AM with no reservations and were greeted by a caring staff that could not do enough to help and accommodate us. Jonathon was great, the front desk staff was excellent and Marsha in the breakfast area will give you a big hug and a warm goodbye. Very family friendly, clean, spacious and comfortable. Includes breakfast and smiles. Would definitely come back next time we are at Kings Dominion or in the area!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MAC6684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online, I am happy to hear that Jonathan was accommodating and your check in was easy. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to my morning hugger...Ms. Marsha, she sure has a special way of leaving a lasting impression on our guests. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Cordially,
GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A couple of my friends, my siblings and I went to Kings Dominion for my birthday this past weekend. Normally I would stay at Best Western, however my girlfriend's mother loves country inn and suites and recommended it to us. We decided to give it a try. We had the best time in this hotel! It was comfortable, it looked great, the staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was pretty good. My only complaint was that it was basically in the middle of nowhere and the GPS was no help as it directed us to a field of trees when we were looking for it, but once you get passed that, you will not be disappointed by this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for trying out the Country Inns & Suites brand....we are certainly delighted by your comments and positive feedback. We appreciate our guests patience while the area builds up as there are some exciting new ventures in the works for the area.

We wish you safe travels and a happy summer!!!

Cordially,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great, brand new hotel. Unbelievable beds, wow, so comfy with great pillows. Rooms are huge. Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Easy on/off right off the Exit. Exit does not have much near it but will surely build as time goes on. Already a retail shopping center looking for tenants. Great breakfast(eggs, sausage gravy, homemade waffles along with the usual bagels and such. Two ladies were working the breakfast area and I felt strongly to tip them both. They were quite appreciative. They have a library where you can borrow books during your stay and a great indoor pool and hot tub(my girls used the hot tub without issues). Perfect stay. Will definitely stay there next year when we head to the beach!

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor room and they took care of our request. Hotel is not huge though, so pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootch713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnAshland, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our brand new facility...we are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay!

Have A Great Summer

Cordially,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was a birthday/ 4th of July getaway. when you drive up to this location you wonder where are the other places and business in the area. The rooms are very spacious and the bed was comfortable. What made me write this review was the customer service. The clerk at night was helpful in helping us locate restaurant locations. she even went out her way to show menus, give out coupons and suggest menu options she tried. They have a little convenience store and another guest purchased ice cream that was a new flavor and we all had a grat conversation about the ice cream and all partaked in the fresh baked cookies that are always available to guest.
The breakfast in the morning was great, waffles, cereal, or you could make a burrito with ham, egg, cheese, and salsa. What made breakfast so great was the friendly and attentive staff. Two ladies worked the breakfast area and they greeted all, held the bar a bit longer as guest came late with children. They also went to each table to make sure all guest was served and finished with breakfast. The clerk in the morning was full of smiles and was pleasant. The hotel was a great bargin and the rooms were clean with up to date tv, light fixtures so you could plug your electrical gadgets. It is not far from Kings Dominion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phenomenal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Phenominal2 Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding several areas of our brand new facility. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Ms Ashley for her attentive care of your needs during the check in process. We certainly appreciate you taking to the time to state your reviews and hope to see you again someday when your travels bring you back to the central Va area.

Cordially,

GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Like others have stated, the staff at this hotel is great. We arrived very late at night with a toddler and were exhausted. Check-in was quick and very friendly. For someone working in the middle of the night, he was very cheerful! He even made a point to put us in a room far from the teenagers who were staying at the hotel. We were also able to get a great deal through the VA hotel coup book from a rest stop.

The breakfast area was immaculate (in stark contrast to another country inn I recently stayed at) and Marsha is such a sweetheart. She made my son's waffle for him and set his place at the table, which she did not have to do. Breakfast is pretty standard, but we appreciated it since it meant making one less stop on our way down to NC. The breakfast included a waffle maker, oatmeal, sausage, cereal, and some baked goods.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay her again on our next drive down south.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferlynne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our brand new facility we certainly appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Ms. Marsha our gem of a breakfast host and also to Jonathan for making your check in process as seamless as possible.

On behalf of my entire staff we certainly appreciate your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Ashland, VA area.

Cordially,

Nilam Patel
GM
Country Inn & Suites
Hanover, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
109 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA

Address: 11600 Lakeridge Pkwy, Ashland, VA 23005-8190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW OPEN!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing