We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO PROBLEM HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Ashland/richmond
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NO PROBLEM HERE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights going and coming from Philly.
Reading some of the reviews from back in 2008 I was a bit hesitant about staying here.
I think in the last couple of years they have fixed many of the problems.
Our room was nice with a micro and frig. It was clean and quiet the cont. breakfast was very good.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The only thing I would say is the wash cloths and towels were do to be replaced.
Close to gooe eating places.
A good value for the price.
Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    39
    53
    57
See reviews for
76
39
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Reviewers who write that this place is terrible have never stayed at a true rathole motel. This is not one of them. It is a slightly run down not terribly well kept place that is perfectly fine for no frills traveling. If you want a super nice place pay twice as much. The Super 8 Ashland is a good value for $35. It's not scary or disgusting.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank abcrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

As the first hotel I had to select on my own, it was a great choice. No micro or stove. WiFi (3 bars), great heat, well-stocked bathrooms and coffee machine. Two armchairs, coffee table, nice big bed for two, TV (I did not try). Roomy for 1, probably could have slept 3 with the couch. Several restaurants within 500 feet, located conveniently. If you need extra power sources for (e.g.) a laptop, check behind the bed. This hotel has great value.

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChrisA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stay here every year on my way down to the Carolinas. Being that the hotel is right off of 95 and the cost is the main reason that we continue to stay here year after year. The rooms are always clean. Sometimes the front desk staff is friendly and sometimes they are not. We do not go to the breakfast so I can not really comment on that, easier to just go to McDonalds. The pool area is always clean. Great place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conwayluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Arrived and were given a key to a second-floor room. Hauled luggage to room, only to discover that key card didn't work. Trekked down to get a new key-card and were assigned room on first floor. Hauled luggage to first floor. No elevator in sight. Overwhelming stench of urine in stairwell. Room and pool fairly clean. Breakfast tolerable, if simple. What do you expect for the cost, I guess? Just a place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

I was a bit apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but I went with it anyway. I was not disappointed at all. The desk clerk was very friendly & had my reservation. Check in went fine without a hitch. The room was cheerful & nicely decorated. There was a slightly musty smell in the bathroom, but everything was clean. The continental breakfast was just cereal, donuts, & coffee or tea, but that is normal for the Super 8. If you want luxury, go somewhere else, but this was fine for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elderhosteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed at a Super 8 in Max Meadows, Virginia on our way to South Carolina. It was very well kept and hospitable so we decided to book at a Super 8 on our trip back as well. However, the Super 8 at 806B England St. in Ashland, Virginia - has a lot to be desired. It was very run down. We don't recommend it!

  • Liked — It was close to the highway
  • Disliked — Not well maintained
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveHawaiiToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Doswell at Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ashland/richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ashland/richmond

Property: Super 8 Ashland/richmond
Address: 806B England St, I-95 Exit 92 SR 54 West, Ashland, VA 23005-2231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ashland/richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ashland/richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ashland
Super Eight Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing