We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Lejeune, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were visiting for the weekend and found this Hampton to be a great value and an exceptional stay. This hotel is clean, fresh and looks very nice. The staff is friendly and seemed to be very happy. We walked downtown and around campus easily. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ITFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are always looking to improve our property and service and your feed back is important to us. The Town of Ashland is one of Virginia’s best kept secrets! From the local restaurants, antique shopping, museums, and the beautiful Randolph Macon Campus – Ashland has a way of making you want to return! For your future stays, check out our Hotel Specials like the Gas and Go Package, which include a $25 Gift card. Again, thank you for your review and we’ll see you soon!
Warmest Regards,
Amber Lacey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    126
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
194
137
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great experience. I thought the staff was helpful and kind. The room was clean and quiet. And the complimentary breakfast was excellent (especially because it was free!) We would stay here again if we have another reason to be back in Ashland. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcdc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are always looking to improve our property and service and your feed back is important to us. We’re glad your enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the make-your-own waffle station is always a big hit and my personal favorite. We’d love to have you return to experience our new Hotel Specials like the Kings Dominion One and Two Day Pass Package, Gas and Go Package, or the Bass Pro Shops Package to get the most out of your stay. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Amber Lacey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were traveling for a short stay to attend an event nearby; this was a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful both at the front desk and in the breakfast area, where they went above and beyond to keep things clean and stocked. The entire property was very clean and our room was comfortable and very spacious. It's also convenient to I-95 and to restaurants, stores, and all the area attractions. If a pool or hot tub is important to you, note that there is only an outdoor pool that is only open a few months of the year, but otherwise this hotel has everything you could need.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We do our very best to provide quality and service that not only meet, but exceed your expectations. Hilton thinks so too! We’ve just been awarded the Excellence in Quality award for the 5th consecutive year. It’s because of guests like you that keep us on track to success and we truly value your feedback and loyalty. For future stays, our outdoor pool is seasonal and is only opened from Memorial day Weekend through Labor Day weekend, unless weather permits extensions. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We wanted a place to sleep that was clean, had parking and breakfast. We were heading home after being away for 2 months. We have always been pleased with Hampton Inns and this location fit the bill. It was immaculate, the duvet covers are washed after each use! Lots of towels, great TV, comfortable bed. The breakfast is just fine, serve yourself, lots of choices and just what we needed to be on our way quickly in the morning. We got just what we wanted and expected and it was excellent for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably the same. You're in a parking lot and probably just want to sleep, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanlover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We do our very best to provide quality and service and Hilton thinks so too! We’ve just been awarded the Excellence in Quality award for the 5th consecutive year. It’s because of guests like you that keep us on track to success and we truly value your feedback and loyalty. We’re glad your enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the make-your-own waffle station is always a big hit and my personal favorite. For your future stays, check out our Hotel Specials like the Gas and Go Package, which include a $25 Gift card. Again, thank you for your review and we’ll see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Amber Lacey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Hampton Inn was conveniently located to the Interstate and community servic and was pleasant and clean. The staff was courteous and efficient. The breakfast serving area was a bit cramped, but the food offerings were acceptable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are always looking to improve our property and service and your feed back is important to us. We’d love to have you return to experience our new Hotel Specials like the Kings Dominion One and Two Day Pass Package, Gas and Go Package, or the Bass Pro Shops Package to get the most out of your stay. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Amber Lacey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The rooms are quite large and the beds and pillows are super compfy. But the heater and air conditioner are so loud that I had trouble sleeping. When I tried to turn off the heater by lowering the temperature, the air conditioner kicked in which made the room too cold (we went in the winter). So it was a lose/lose situation for sleep: both the heater and air conditioner were noisy and there was no option to turn them off altogether. I did not call the front desk to complain so maybe they could have done something about it. But my sisters had two other rooms for their families and all three of us had the same problem. But again, the rooms themselves are very big and the beds and pillows were fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms are great and beds are super compfy, but the heating system and air system are extremely loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTON
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not the nicest Hampton Inn anywhere, but super clean with a super staff, and handy enough to Richmond. The breakfast choices are generous and there's plenty of variety, including boiled eggs -- no surprises, unless you've never encountered an opportunity to make your own waffles in public.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Address: 705 England St, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hampton Inn by Hilton Ashland is exited to announce that the Hotel has just been renovated as of 2016. Upgraded areas include all guestrooms, corridors, lobby, and exterior. The Hampton Inn by Hilton is conveniently located between I-95 and Route 1, just 15 miles north of Richmond. Nestled in the historic town of Ashland, known as "The Center of The Universe", you'll be centrally located to a vast amount of activities and dining options. The Hotel is just 1/5 mile from Randolph Macon College and 5 miles south of Kings Dominion and Meadow Event Park. Along with the countless historic sites that range from the Pre-Revolutionary to post-Civil War eras surrounding the area, you'll find various dining, salon, and shopping options as well. All our rooms have 37" flat screen televisions, complimentary wired & wireless internet, microwaves & mini refrigerators, irons/ironing boards, hairdryer, & coffee maker. We also have an on-site fitness center, complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served daily 6am-10am, guest laundry room and valet laundry service available.Our hotel offers a seasonal outdoor, heated, salt water pool. The business center is open 24 hrs & includes a printer and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond North / Ashland Hotel Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
Ashland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing