We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleanliness and poor guest services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Many hotels in Richmond proper were sold out so Hilton Customer Srrvice helped me locate and book a room at this hotel. Check in was fast and friendly, but shortly after checking into my room, I found visible major cleanliness issues in the bathroom. The floor clearly hadn't been mopped in a long time, visible stains on the tile, and on the sink countertop, there was a quarter size smudge of who knows what (brown in color). I have no idea how housekeeping could miss such blatant issues. I was able to remove this with washcloths and as it was so late and i was so tired i chose to stay put. The rest of the room looked ok. At 10pm or after, my room phone rang and it was the front desk asking me to check my shower pressure as the room next door was reporting problems and they needed to know where to start the "fix". I was already in bed so didnt really appreciate being bothered.

The next morning i was disturbed 5 times in less than 45min by housekeeping staff. Twice while i was in the shower trying to get ready and get checked out. Shortly after that I get another call from the front desk asking if I had come down (it wasnt even 9am yet) to check out. I said "no" and the front desk attendant told me someone had checked me out. I have no idea how this could happen.

So, not only did I clean my own room, but I was also disturbed from sleep at night, followed by almost harrassed in the morning and rushed out of the room. Lucky me, thanks to this hotel, I have a pounding headache and now have to work all day and drive 4hrs home with a screaming headache. Will never stay here again, and may never stay at another Hampton Inn although in the past, its been one of my failsafe go to hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms and bathrooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. However, I would also like to apologize for the level of service you experienced as well. We have addressed our staff to ensure that this is not repeated. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.


Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hampton Inn Richmond North-Ashland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 520 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I left Disney World and made it as far as Ashland before calling it a day. We were trying to make it back to Jersey before the hurricane.

Hilton Garden and Hampton Inn are always our first choice when we're on the road. This Hampton was like many others we've stayed in. Clean and comfortable.

My wife liked the girl at the front desk, said she had a nice smile. I was too tired to notice. Showed my Hilton Honors card and was able to get a king bed which was nice.

There is a Pizza Hut you can walk to and after dinner and a little TV, we enjoyed a good night's sleep.

We left early the next morning before breakfast had been set out. We justed grabbed some coffee and were on our way........Would return......In case you're wondering, we made it home and had time to batten down the hatches before the storm which is raging right now.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are even more grateful that you made it home safely!!

We love having you here!

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland!!

Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hampton Inn Ashland, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Check in clerk was one notch above rude. I made the mistake of leaving a shirt in the closet in our room. Upon discovering this, I called the hotel the next morning thinking that if no one had used the room after us, the shirt might still be there. The person we spoke with insisted that the housekeepers ALWAYS check the closets when cleaning the room and nothing had been turned in. The idea to send someone to check the room was out of the question. Furthermore, if we wanted more information, we'd have to call on Wed. to speak to the head housekeeper. Surprise surprise - nothing was in the lost and found box. Of course, my shirt wasn't there because 4 days had elapsed! We have a long history with Hampton Inns and actually choose Hampton without even checking other hotels. We've always been pleased, but this is a deal breaker. I'd really have to think twice before booking Hampton again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and I am very sorry for the experience you had after your stay. I have taken your comments to our team to correct the level of service in situations like yours. Please contact me directly with your Hhonors or confirmation number if I can be of further assistance.

Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

stayed one night on our way to north myrtle beach. very nice and clean hotel. only one elevator , which is very very slow!!!!. breakfast seemed ok, but the set up is very poor. it is set up in a small out cove, and gets very congested and hard to get around, as people are clumped together in a small area.staff seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

We apologize for the elevator. We have gotten it repaired as of yesterday. As far as the breakfast area, we have so many delicious choices that, yes, sometimes it is hard to get around in there. We have been studying the area to see if there is someway we can alleviate the congestion. We are currently working on making it smoother for all!!

Thank you for your review!!

Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hampton Inn Ashland, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family and I stopped in for 1 night. This hotel was clean and we all had a great night sleep. I was impressed with the hotel and staff. They were very friendly and provided great customer service. Our room was modern and the beds were extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacinq-mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel! As the Hampton slogan goes, "We love having you here!"

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is an above average Hampton Inn. Clean, new, very good breakfast. The staff recommend a places in town to eat and drew us a map to Montpelier. Ashland is a small town and the people are friendly , Some good restaurants in town [college town eating] and all the chains out by I-95 We felt safe and enjoyed our stay, This is a great place to stay if you are going to Montpelier and/ or Monticello.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are very centrally located to Ashland, Montpelier and to Monticello as well as all the different locations in between!

There is only one difference between a guest in our homes and a guest at the hotel, the guest at the hotel is paying for it and it has to be better!!

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Ashland, VA!!
Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at this Hampton Inn the weekend of 7/21/12. I had a very good experience here. The hotel has a very nice interior decor and the exterior is well maintained. The three rooms we had were all cozy and clean. The breakfast they offered had a nice variety of food items and the staff that maintained the breakfast bar did an excellent job doing so. All the staff at the Hampton Inn were friendly and courteous. This hotel is located near many restaurants for dining and many stores for shopping. The cost of your hotel stay is minimal compared to the quality offered at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthego-Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonAshland, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We strive for the best for our guests and we thank you for noticing! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay!
The only difference between a guest in our homes and a guest at the hotel, is the guest at the hotel is paying for it so it has to better!

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Ashland!

Kristy Short
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
102 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
278 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland

Address: 705 England St, Ashland, VA 23005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hampton Inn by Hilton Ashland is exited to announce that the Hotel has just been renovated as of 2016. Upgraded areas include all guestrooms, corridors, lobby, and exterior. The Hampton Inn by Hilton is conveniently located between I-95 and Route 1, just 15 miles north of Richmond. Nestled in the historic town of Ashland, known as "The Center of The Universe", you'll be centrally located to a vast amount of activities and dining options. The Hotel is just 1/5 mile from Randolph Macon College and 5 miles south of Kings Dominion and Meadow Event Park. Along with the countless historic sites that range from the Pre-Revolutionary to post-Civil War eras surrounding the area, you'll find various dining, salon, and shopping options as well. All our rooms have 37" flat screen televisions, complimentary wired & wireless internet, microwaves & mini refrigerators, irons/ironing boards, hairdryer, & coffee maker. We also have an on-site fitness center, complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet served daily 6am-10am, guest laundry room and valet laundry service available.Our hotel offers a seasonal outdoor, heated, salt water pool. The business center is open 24 hrs & includes a printer and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond North / Ashland Hotel Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
Ashland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing