We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par with other Homewood suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here recently after having had a good experience with another Homewood suites in Philadelphia. First the front desk staff person could not find our reservation in the computer and then did not apologize afterwards. The carpet in our room was very stained and very thin. The TVs are old-style and the wireless Internet is also slow. On the positive side, the breakfast was decent and the breakfast staff was very friendly. There was also free parking. Overall I think I would try other hotels before coming back to this one.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank pysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad E, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Homewood Suites. I am truly disappointed to hear about the difficulty you experienced during your visit. we are working on upgrading to new TV's. and we will have the internet upgrade in August.
I do want to thank you on recognizing our staff and the customer service we provide. I will take this and share it with the team.

I apologize again for any inconvenience that this situation may have caused, and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles-North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 428 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I picked homewood suite because it was walking distance to where i had to work for few days..i think it was average

The good--
free breakfast (and dinner mon-thurs i hear but i didn't try it). They serve complimentary beer wine too- wine is not good at all but its free and only choice beer is bud i think
bed was comfy


the bad
Tube TVs in the room- i think it's time you upgraded
free internet is nice but it's so slow that it's almost unusable
free shuttle is hit or miss..i was stranded for couple hours waiting to be picked up from a restaurant. and other time i had to cab it...so don't rely on it
i was on the 2nd floor and could hear the cracking sounds of floor boards from the room above. Every time someone was walking upstairs i would hear it..was annoying when trying to sleep

Next time i will try the embassy suites next door

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank road_warrior_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad E, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Homewood Suites Dulles-North. I apologize for the issues that you encountered on your stay. we are working on upgrading the TV's and some of the other amenities.Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect from Homewood Suits.

Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles-North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I are in the process of moving. Needless to say, after the exhausting process of moving out of the house in VA, it was nice to come back to this little oasis for a few days before settlement.

Our suite had two rooms - one with two queen beds (comfy!), bath, sink, vanity, and the good sized closet had a safe. The other room had a little living room with a sofa bed and fully-stocked kitchen with frig, dishwasher, range, and microwave. Breakfast and light dinner is included. What more could you ask for? I would definitely stay in a Homewood Suite again.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the top floor away from the elevator. It was incredibly quiet - I can't say e...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lioness2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad E, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our hotel. I will make sure to share this with my team members.

Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Homewood Dulles-North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stay in Homewood Suites preferably when I travel. This hotel did not keep up with the standards that I have seen in other Homewood Suites. 1. Poor checkin - staff was confused did not know where the reservation was, no professionalism. 2. Non smoking room smelled like a smoking room. 3. Room was rundown and dirty, not that I expect a spotless room but I like to think it is relatively clean. (stains and hair on the sheets) 4. Checkout - staff again was confused, unsure how to checkout a guest. 5. Poor attitude - a take it or leave it attitude. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: stay in homewood suites dulles south if your coming to this area.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgoer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about our hotel. I apologize that you did not have the experience that our hotel promotes. We truly regret the difficulties you experienced during your stay and will make sure our team uses this feedback to improve Service during our peak seasons.

We appreciate your business and want the chance to win you over. I hope that you will give us another try!

Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles- North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here about 4 nights in June 2012. Directly prior to our arrival they sent an email that they could not give us our reserved 2 bedroom suite, as they didn't have any available. They searched for similar lodging at nearby hotels, but were unable to find any. They eventually put my family of 5 in a one bedroom for the first night (for free) and moved us to a 2 bedroom for the remainder of our stay. Our 2 bedroom suite on the second floor was located near the back of the hotel and close to a mechanical/storage room. The problem with this was that the employees apparently used these rooms to take smoke breaks, and our room would smell like cigarette smoke frequently. The final drawback we found was that the breakfast staff seemed overwhelmed the days we were there. On all but one day, almost all the breakfast food was gone when we arrived in the breakfast area around 8:00am, and the staff couldn't seem to make it fast enough to feed the number of guests. We ended up eating cereal on these days. Other than this, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the outdoor pool at the hotel was very nice. Also, the indoor pool at the connected Embassy Suites was nice for one of the cooler days we were there. The staff was very friendly and seemed like they were trying to help, but just weren't always effective. I tried to speak with the manager about our issues, but he wasn't available at that time. The staff at the desk asked me to leave my cell phone number, which I did, but he never called me back. I've stayed at nicer hotels in the area, and although this one was ok, I will not be staying here next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are near a construction area next door, and they start construction very early.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Homewood Suites Dulles- North. I am disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations for several aspects of your stay and apologize sincerely for the issues that you encountered.

We value your feedback and strive to make every guest's stay comfortable and enjoyable.
I apologize again for the issues that you encountered and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service again in the future and we can demonstrate the Homewood Suites difference in action!


Sincerely,
Ahmad Erbinieh
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles- North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Clean, comfortable place to stay. Be careful using their wifi network. I was hacked while making reservations for a mountain cabin near New Market.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We appreciate your positive comments and great recommendation! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team. On a side note, I will be looking into your internet experience!

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed there 2 nights and had very different results.

For the first night I got a room 156 next to the laundry and the elevator and it was quite noisy. Also, I came backup after midnight and my card would not open the door. I was standing in front of the door ringing the bell for more than 5 mins before someone let me in. The TV was old and small. Then I tried to watch some youtube videos and the the video was stopping every half a minute because internet connection was slow (next morning I went to business center to print some directions and the Internet on the computer over there was also slow).

So I was pretty disappointed and talked to the front desk lady.

The next night I came at 1 am and the door opened right away, I was moved to another room on the 3rd floor and it was really quite. Well, the Internet didn't get better, but I got a big LCD TV in the room, so no disappointment there. The only problem was this room didn't have tea stocked and I had to go downstairs to get some.

Overall, the place is great. The rooms have a lot of space, they are clean, comfortable furniture, perfectly usable kitchens, friendly staff, good free breakfast. Unfortunately, not all rooms are equally comfortable and, apparently, not all staff members are equally good, so I can understand why people were posting mixed reviewed.

My advice would be to talk to the front desk and looks like they would try to get your problems solved once you make them aware.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not close to the elevator or laundry. If you watch TV, ask for a room with a ne...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your candidness and apologize that we fell short of both your expectations and mine. We will apply your observations to our customer service improvement plan that we are implementing. Also, we are in the middle of upgrading our internet access to provide much more bandwidth to our guests!

We encourage you to return to our location as our goal is to provide a flawless stay. If your travels return you to the Dulles Corridor, please contact me directly at the hotel. We look forward to another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Homewood Suites Dulles North

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburn
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Dulles Airport at Dulles 28 Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun

Address: 44620 Waxpool Rd, Ashburn, VA 20147-5083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ashburn
#2 Business Hotel in Ashburn
#3 Family Hotel in Ashburn
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Dulles Airport hotel is designed to make you comfortable, whether you're traveling for a few nights or longer. Our accommodations near Dulles Airport feature spacious studio, one- and/or two-bedroom suites feature separate living and sleeping areas. Each has a fully-equipped kitchen with full-size refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner stove and dishwasher. You'll find enough space for work, study or entertaining - plus all the comforts of home including two remote control TVs, complimentary high speed internet access, and two phones with voice mail. Enjoy a complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast seven days a week and a Welcome Home® Reception featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (local laws apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun, Va Hotel Ashburn
Homewood Dulles
Dulles Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing