We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great idea and really good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Cinema Drafthouse

Alamo Cinema Drafthouse
20575 East Hampton Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-293-6808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
northern virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great idea and really good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's a movie theater with a full menu of tasty food AND a full bar! This place is great. The seats are comfy, the food is surprisingly good and the mojitos are fantastic. Our server, Matt, was very friendly, fast and knowledgable. We will definitely be back. They have theme nights too...I see an Animal House toga party on their calendar next week!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank princess008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“4k Digital films and great local beer selection served to your seat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The films are in 4k. Large beer selection that is served to you in your seat. Decent American style food.
The seating are assigned and you pay at about 30min left of the movie.
The pizza wasn't bad and was a large portion. I could only eat half of it. This is my new favorite way to see a movie.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJCRockChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERLING
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun at the Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rarely go to the movies, but if I'm gonna go, then this is the most fun way. We would spend about the same amount or more doing dinner and a movie, but here, you can do dinner with the movie! The service is great, the food was yummy. We sat in the bar before our show and had a glass of wine - very nice! This was my second time, and the first was just as fun, only that time it was snacks and a movie - the bottomless bowl of popcorn and drinks. The theater chairs are comfortable, nice screen and sound, and spacious! We had to sit in the very front row the first time I went and it was fine, although I do admit I like sitting further back better. Fun place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Favorite Movie Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is the best. You get comfy seats with a great view, and seatside service that is friendly, fast, and unobtrusive. The popcorn is freshly popped and served in a bowl with butter, just like being at home. The food is decent, and being able to have champagne with your popcorn? Absurdly awesome. The stuff they run before the movie is a little weird, but let's call it "quirky". Love, love, love this theatre.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Movie and a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have made it to Alamo four times now. Theaters are small which is nice and sound and picture are very good. Great to watch a movie. Food is really good but it does take longer to get my food than i would like (particularly for popcorn and soda). Popcorn made with real butter and they give it to you in a metal bowl with free refills (although with the speed of the wait staff, I'd be surprised if you could get more than one refill unless it was a really long movie). Great craft beer selection at a DC price. Expect to pay about $6 for a pint. I have not made it to one of their specialty nights but it seems as though they are really trying to excite people in wanting to come to a movie and making it a complete experience. Worth a visit. Can't wait for the holidays and their Elf quote-along!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank faulkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Cinema Drafthouse also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Alamo Cinema Drafthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing