We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unusual movie experience

Took grandkids and their parents for movie experience. Nobody was disappointed. Msde reservations... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
roadwarrior96
,
Ashburn, Virginia
via mobile
Went to see THE MULE - reserved seats, concession service

Reserved seats online. Ordered water (complete menu was available with under table light). Wait... read more

Reviewed January 6, 2019
Steve S
,
Ashburn, Virginia
Read all 260 reviews
  
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
115
91
37
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
91
37
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza dinner and a movie fried pickles full menu food and drinks star wars pre show the wait staff cell phone comfortable seats front row reserved seats great movie glass of wine free refills love this place cookies
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 260 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is the best. You get comfy seats with a great view, and seatside service that is friendly, fast, and unobtrusive. The popcorn is freshly popped and served in a bowl with butter, just like being at home. The food is decent, and being able to have champagne with your popcorn? Absurdly awesome. The stuff they run before the movie is a little weird, but let's call it "quirky". Love, love, love this theatre.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have made it to Alamo four times now. Theaters are small which is nice and sound and picture are very good. Great to watch a movie. Food is really good but it does take longer to get my food than i would like (particularly for popcorn and soda). Popcorn made with real butter and they give it to you in a metal bowl with free refills (although with the speed of the wait staff, I'd be surprised if you could get more than one refill unless it was a really long movie). Great craft beer selection at a DC price. Expect to pay about $6 for a pint. I have not made it to one of their specialty nights but it seems as though they are really trying to excite people in wanting to come to a movie and making it a complete experience. Worth a visit. Can't wait for the holidays and their Elf quote-along!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank faulkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is good, the theaters are not too crowded and it's reasonably priced. The service is sometimes iffy, but on the whole it is a great place. It of course has stadium seating, and even when the waiters and waitresses are serving, you can still see the movie. I've been there several times when the service was fantastic, but I've also been there when they have delivered the wrong food to the wrong people. If you're the recipient of something you didn't order, your attention is taken away from the movie while trying to flag down a waiter/waitress to correct the mistake. And I don't like it if my food is delivered to someone else, and then given to me.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Saw The Heat at The Alamo and was impressed. Ticket prices were in line with other theaters, but found refreshments to be a better deal! A bottomless bowl of popcorn, topped with REAL butter, was only $6 and unlimited soft drinks, only $4. There were no objections to sharing the bowl of popcorn and getting it warm, even warmer on a refill was great. Once again, there is a real difference in popcorn with REAL butter versus the "butter"/oil used in most theaters. Yes, you have to tip the servers but not having to juggle your snacks while trying to make your way to a seat made it well worth it. Reserved seating is also a plus. Seats were comfortable and easy to access. Viewing and sound were both good. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and look forward to going back. A final comment is that since the popcorn and soft drinks were not served in paper containers, but rather containers that are washed and used again, it is better for the environment!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank JanetH643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

each movie has assigned seats which means you pay extra (usually $2.00 or more). Almost all of the movies can be seen at a theater close by -- without the extra charge. The asigned seats may not line up as you may want--- For example --- not in center, if that is what you want; behind a tall person, etc. I go to the movies almost every day and can choose a seat, after I enter, based on what is avalable -- and can change (if someone tall sits in front of me).

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank ArkansasCheezburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews