We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable lunch option.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opa! Mezze Grill

Opa! Mezze Grill
Ranked #11 of 204 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch option.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I ordered the souvlaki chicken Greek side salad. This was a delicious, filling lunch. I will be back to try out other dishes for dinner. Good, friendly, fast service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are new to the area and were excited to try the Tripadvisor #2 rated restaurant for Ashburn. We went to the web-site and read several of the reviews by local food critics. Based primarily on the Washington Post review, we ordered the Chicago gyro, with a side of seasoned fries, the lamb kapama entrée and the galaktoboureko for dessert. The gyro and fries were great, no issues, but then again those are greek restaurant staples and I would expect that. The lamb shank was tender, I'll give you that, but there was not much meat on top of that huge bone and even less flavor. I detected a hint of cinnamon in the otherwise bland sauce and the orzo was a mess, completely mushy. The mush continued with dessert. The Post described the pastry as having flaky dough and fluffy custard. I beg to differ. The pastry was completely soggy and the filling was thick and lumpy. Service was friendly and efficient. I can't say I won't ever return, I love Greek food and maybe it was an off night. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to order another gyro, but I didn't think the rest of the meal warranted a repeat visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tennisbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Nice place with great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are planning to move to Ashburn and stop here based on reviews on TripAdvisor. This place does not dissapoint. The Chicago gyro was excellent and the service was great. It was so good we came back the next day for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Opa Mezze has amazing food service and value. I would recommend getting squid or octopus for an appetizer with lamb or pastisio as an entree. Owners are very nice and will come to your table and start chatting with you. The atmosphere is kinda lacking but the overall experience is one not to forget!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“always a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

my friends and i go here often to eat during our lunch break. the gyros are so tasty that sometimes i end up here more than once a week! i also love their appetizers--the saganaki, octopus and calamari are amazing. we love the decor and the relaxed atmosphere. the owner is always pleasant to speak with and very kind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa! Mezze Grill also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Opa! Mezze Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing