We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pricey But Worth It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 206 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pricey But Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Gotta say this is not inexpensive especially for a family, but the food is really really well done and so tasty. Service, as always, depends on the server but the food each time I have been here has been excellent and I try and order something differnet on each visit. I took a West Coast visitor here for a late lunch/early dinner and they were amazed at the wonderful meal. They complety enjoyed the meal as did I. It is not inexpensive but the food is really well prepared and I feel worth the cost. It is rather noisy as it gets crowded and hard to have a meaningful conversation. The acoustics are not very good at all and just echo all the noise, mgmt needs to address this so the diner can be more comfortabel as we dine. Overall it is a good palce ot go out to ean. Try it and you will be a fan... :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    227
    58
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Go for lobsters! The value for money is there. I had a standard new england clam chowdah soup (nothing special, too creamy) but the lobster is great.
A bit noisy (not too much), good selection of beers, no espresso (only standard coffee).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcboit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place! I'm from New England and grew up on fresh lobsters, steamers, etc. that we'd get right from the boats. This place gives you a true taste of what New England seafood is all about. Everything is super fresh and delicious and the staff is incredible. It's a great family place, I'd eat their every day if I could.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“OK Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ate there with my daughter last week. I had the crab cakes which were good. The little muffins they serve are tremendous. Service was excellent. Pretty high prices, though, for the food offered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok, not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fords is one step above a chain seafood house. Add to that the "lively atmosphere" (read that as it is impossible to hear). On the plus side, their happy hour specials bring the price down to reasonable. The food is ok, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing