We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not great.”
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
west of Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok, not great.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fords is one step above a chain seafood house. Add to that the "lively atmosphere" (read that as it is impossible to hear). On the plus side, their happy hour specials bring the price down to reasonable. The food is ok, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    258
    60
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great seafood, great price, attentive waiter, great selection. Perfect location for a seafood place. Lots of parking. Everything we ordered seemed Fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desinez41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Noisy & busy but good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was traveling on business and ate here on a Sunday night. I did call ahead and was told about 25 min wait. Ended up being more like 45 min because as a single I was passed over by several couples who came in after me. The hostess was very nice and apologized but I still felt slighted because I was alone. The noise level was pretty high so you wouldn't want a romantic dinner there; but good for a bunch of friends or families. The complimentary mini corn muffins with maple butter were tasty. They have a nice selection of beer and I tried the Sea Dog Wild Blueberry which I really liked. The special was a crab cake and lobster tail for $26 which I thought was reasonable. It came with a large amount of shoestring french fries. The crabcake was one of the best I've had....no filler and toasted breadcrumbs on top. The lobster tail was a good size and very tender with sweet butter on the side. The waitstaff was attentive but a little slow bringing the check. All-in-all I would definitely recommend Ford's but definitely call ahead for a reservation and you might want to try a less busy weeknight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The crowds tell the story!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

In area for funeral. Look place up. Had good reviews. Surprised so crowded on Wednesday night. Soon found out why. Had fish taco and shrimp roll at the bar. Portions were large. Price reasonable. Wine selection excellent. Weight staff pleasant and attentive. Recommend to everyone but don't go if looking for quite dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Integrity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ford's is fantasic”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of the hotel I was staying at for business. Propably the best recommendation I have gotten from a hotel. They even gave me a free appetizer coupon, which I used on getting the Angry Mussels. Awesome dish, could have been my main course: loads of mussels, great tomatoe/onion/sausage with a crazy good sauce. The decor is great, not overly done and dark wood tones. Expect a wait, I went on a Tues. and there was a 30min wait for a table. However I would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing