We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The crowds tell the story!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The crowds tell the story!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

In area for funeral. Look place up. Had good reviews. Surprised so crowded on Wednesday night. Soon found out why. Had fish taco and shrimp roll at the bar. Portions were large. Price reasonable. Wine selection excellent. Weight staff pleasant and attentive. Recommend to everyone but don't go if looking for quite dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Integrity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    203
    55
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ford's is fantasic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of the hotel I was staying at for business. Propably the best recommendation I have gotten from a hotel. They even gave me a free appetizer coupon, which I used on getting the Angry Mussels. Awesome dish, could have been my main course: loads of mussels, great tomatoe/onion/sausage with a crazy good sauce. The decor is great, not overly done and dark wood tones. Expect a wait, I went on a Tues. and there was a 30min wait for a table. However I would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Rate Casual Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a family dinner with 2 adults and 2 older teens. Had: 1) lobster fried and steamed, 2) scallops and shrimp, 3) half ribs with half fried lobster tail and 4) a burger.

Pros:
Outstanding service
All meals were delicious
A new treat - fried lobster tail was fantastic
Casual comfortable environment we all could enjoy

Cons:
None.

Our server gave excellent advice and was very attentive to our needs. I felt like my family's eating experience was his top concern, and by the end of the meal I was glad I trusted his advice. He suggested the fried lobster tail, saying he never had anyone say other than positive things - and we are glad we listened to him. All the food was excellent and we left happy that we came. This is our new favorite place to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJKNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Fried Shrimp Basket - every time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The crowds tell the story. You may have a wait to be seated but it's worth it every time. Food here is delicious. Shrimp basket is my go to but also love the salmon salad and the bisque. Neighboring diner asked for a straw with his second bowl! Another tip try the muddled blueberry lemonade...wow. Wish they took reservations but they will do call ahead or check the bar area where its first come first served. Most folks don't mind the wait for this very popular Ashburn location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good quality food, not "Shack" prices...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had to check in on Ford's Fish Shack after hearing that friends had trouble getting a table on a busy weekend. We visited on a weeknight and had no trouble being seated in the ample dining area. There was a nice selection of craft and commercial beers to go with our meal. We started with a half-plate of Maine Chips - Hand cut potato chips generously topped with "lobstah," basil aioli, melted blue cheese, and marinated tomatoes - finger-lickin' delish! The Fish & Chips ($15) and Fish Tacos ($12) contained fresh ingredients and the battered fish was piping hot and tasty.

One note: Calling Ford's a "Shack" might connote lower prices - don't be misled. $5-6 pints of craft beer and $15 fish & chips baskets are not shack-like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing