We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood without the trip to New England” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 198 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Seafood without the trip to New England”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having grown up in Massachusetts, I have a pretty good idea of what good seafood is. Even though this restaurant is in Virginia, they fit the bill very nicely. We try to go every couple of months and have yet to have a bad meal. The lobster roll, available in both styles is good, as are the scallops and stuffed cod. Maine chips is a must for an appetizer, along with the lobster chowder(available at the weekend) or the clam chowder are all good choices. Two things that I find fault with...1) Timing is everything....hit it wrong and you should have an alternative restaurant in mind. 2)Service...don't expect over the top, its average at best. The upsells get really annoying almost to the point of being hard sells. The last time we were here, our waiter(it was a Sunday late morning, coming off an obviously rough night for him), was paying so much attention that he collected our silverware in the middle of the meal. No kidding he really did. Expect good food here, with a value to match...unfortunately, the service is the weak link in this establishment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raff622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    201
    54
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great sides and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had the fish tacos they were really good and the corn was awesome. I heard the mac and cheese is also amazing. Good sized portions, would go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank epoh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An experience not worth Ever Repeating!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I usually like to check out new restaurants, and see what other advisors on Trip Advisor or Yelp have to say! Let me start off with, no offense meant, to other reviewer's of this shack, but this was the worst excuse for a fish specialty Restaurant EVER! Some folks on here say that is the best seafood they have ever had, I Disagree, the seafood wasn't worth the price nor tasty! Starting with Lobster Bisque, If I hadn't ordered a shot of Sherry to put in my bisque, the taste of the bisque would have been pretty bad! I ordered a shrimp roll, and it was average in taste, not nearly enough shrimp for the hefty price I paid for it. My fiance ordered, the bisque, and had a Casear salad. The salad had a Casear dressing made with Mayo and that was not tasty in her opinion either. I have traveled in every New England State and this place doesn't come close to Decent Maine Seafood, in taste nor quality. I left the Shack, and thought, I would have been better off eating at Long John Silver's for seafood. At least there you get what you pay for. I can't stress enough, the fact that we had high expectations of this Shack, because of the other comments on Trip Advisor, now I begin to wonder, if the reviewers here ever had really decent Maine or New England Seafood before?? I leave you with this thought my friends, I am not sure how this place survives but they seemed to be busy. They need to improve what they serve and how it's prepared too! Unfortunately, I will tell my associates that I work with in D.C. Please don't waste your time nor your money at Ford's Fish Shack. To everybody else, if you don't care about quality food, small portions, and pricey everything, then by all means Go directly to this Shack.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Food-Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went to Ford's fro lunch and sorry we couldn't go back for dinner. We ordered Clam Chowder soup, it was very good (I did not like the crackers in the soup). The server was most helpful in helping us to decide how to order a combination plate we would enjoy. The whole bellied fried clams, scallops and fired oysters were so yummy. The portions are very generous. There is outdoor seating.
It was difficult finding a parking space. The restaurant is located in a shopping mall, very tight parking. Also we were there during lunch hour so it was quite busy. The service is excellent and food was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasGal55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just left Ford's Fish Shack, and we just had to comment on it's unique seafood dishes and excellent service. Joey, our server, was personable and attentive. He made some recommendations for food choices, such as the angry mussels and the potato crusted halibut. The Maine chips were delicious. The sauce on the trout was slightly sweet and was a great complement to the pecans and fish. Top notch food and service. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMinerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing