We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tasty Seafood, Delicious Beers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood, Delicious Beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have eaten here about 3-4 times over the past year or so. Always have had a great experience. It can get noisy in the bar area but it is a bar and a not a huge space, very cozy and welcoming. There can be a wait so it's best to call ahead, they do take reservations. They have a small patio area outside with a few tables that is nice when it's not too hot or too cold out. They also have a great beer selection. My favorite is the Port City Revival Stout on tap, Try it! you can't go wrong! I have still been trying to get out there for brunch. Have heard nothing but good things about it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    226
    58
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Every time we've visited, the food has been excellent... especially during brunch. We always call ahead since they typically have a long wait. Our favorites on the menu are: blueberry lemonade, lobster bisque (good but a little saltier than I'd prefer), cornflake-crusted french toast (to die for), crabcake benedict, fish tacos, BLT egg croissant sandwich, etc. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too loud was just the beginning.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My lobster tail arrived late, then was so salty I couldn't eat it (I'm not one to avoid salt). My husband's blackened scallops were good, kid salmon fine and nice beer selection. But we won't go back because of the noise level. Every restaurant can have a bad night, but you can't fix loud. And be prepared to call ahead for 1.5 hour wait and then wait another 20 minutes once you arrive.

Helpful?
Thank Nova Mom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Best place around! Try the salmon or cod both are fantastic!!! Great service at the bar and very friendly atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Shack - Needs reservation system”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

If this place either got a larger location or took reservations I would go all the time. The menu is great and food wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKYI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryOut, Manager at Ford's Fish Shack, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Very sorry if there was some confusion created on our part, but we do offer both Reservations & Call Ahead in Ashburn. Please feel free to utilize the system by calling 571.918.4092 the next time you are headed our way! We have also just opened a new location in South Riding that is larger in both the dining room & patio than our Ashburn location. We invite you to come check it out once the weather is nicer & the patio is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing