We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Every time we've visited, the food has been excellent... especially during brunch. We always call ahead since they typically have a long wait. Our favorites on the menu are: blueberry lemonade, lobster bisque (good but a little saltier than I'd prefer), cornflake-crusted french toast (to die for), crabcake benedict, fish tacos, BLT egg croissant sandwich, etc. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    203
    55
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too loud was just the beginning.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My lobster tail arrived late, then was so salty I couldn't eat it (I'm not one to avoid salt). My husband's blackened scallops were good, kid salmon fine and nice beer selection. But we won't go back because of the noise level. Every restaurant can have a bad night, but you can't fix loud. And be prepared to call ahead for 1.5 hour wait and then wait another 20 minutes once you arrive.

Helpful?
Thank Nova Mom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Best place around! Try the salmon or cod both are fantastic!!! Great service at the bar and very friendly atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Shack - Needs reservation system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If this place either got a larger location or took reservations I would go all the time. The menu is great and food wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKYI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryOut, Manager at Ford's Fish Shack, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Very sorry if there was some confusion created on our part, but we do offer both Reservations & Call Ahead in Ashburn. Please feel free to utilize the system by calling 571.918.4092 the next time you are headed our way! We have also just opened a new location in South Riding that is larger in both the dining room & patio than our Ashburn location. We invite you to come check it out once the weather is nicer & the patio is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ashburn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ford's is the best! A great atmosphere, great food, great service! It's a pretty small place and very popular, so if you're planning on going (especially Friday/Saturday nights) make sure you make a reservation or call ahead! It's well worth the wait though! The food is so good and super reasonable for the quality. I highly recommend the Maine Chips, Grilled Lobstah Tail, Shrimp Tacos, and of course, the Ford's Lemonade! YUM!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing