We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fish Shack - Needs reservation system” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Shack - Needs reservation system”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

If this place either got a larger location or took reservations I would go all the time. The menu is great and food wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKYI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryOut, Manager at Ford's Fish Shack, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Very sorry if there was some confusion created on our part, but we do offer both Reservations & Call Ahead in Ashburn. Please feel free to utilize the system by calling 571.918.4092 the next time you are headed our way! We have also just opened a new location in South Riding that is larger in both the dining room & patio than our Ashburn location. We invite you to come check it out once the weather is nicer & the patio is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    226
    58
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ashburn!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ford's is the best! A great atmosphere, great food, great service! It's a pretty small place and very popular, so if you're planning on going (especially Friday/Saturday nights) make sure you make a reservation or call ahead! It's well worth the wait though! The food is so good and super reasonable for the quality. I highly recommend the Maine Chips, Grilled Lobstah Tail, Shrimp Tacos, and of course, the Ford's Lemonade! YUM!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Customer service makes no sense.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Table of two request at 4:45 pm and we were told 20 to 25 minutes even though there were 18 open seats.

This is not a high class reservations only establishment. Good food but annoying approach to customer service.

I'm not coming back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superior Service from Bob”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This spot is a must stop every time I travel to Ashburn, VA. The seafood is always fresh and super tasty. The Lobster chips app. is really incredible and the Pick and peel shrimp are excellent. Upon my last visit I had the Catfish Po' Boy special and that was really good as well. Excellent draft beer selection. I wish the Bar area was larger. Better go early or you will be waiting!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been here several times, everyone knows its awesome, but I decided to give the place a try for BRUNCH on Feb 17th 13. First, not having to wait an hour to be seated (which is always worthwhile mind you) was a great change. The usual biscuit baskets included blueberry muffins alongside the usual corn ones. My husband had the Crabcake Benedict and I had the Smoke Trout Both dishes were amazing! I was a little apprehensive to order the trout because it said it came with scrambled eggs, and honestly I was expecting "normal" dry scrambled eggs, but boy was I wrong! They were so moist and delicious! Another pleasant surprise is that the potatoes that came with our dishes are battered in the same batter they use for their seafood. each little slice is individually battered and are just amazingly good. Also, You have most usual entree choices available during brunch, to include the fried seafood, lobster bisque etc. Check out the pics!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady-SMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing