We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service from Bob” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 188 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superior Service from Bob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This spot is a must stop every time I travel to Ashburn, VA. The seafood is always fresh and super tasty. The Lobster chips app. is really incredible and the Pick and peel shrimp are excellent. Upon my last visit I had the Catfish Po' Boy special and that was really good as well. Excellent draft beer selection. I wish the Bar area was larger. Better go early or you will be waiting!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Been here several times, everyone knows its awesome, but I decided to give the place a try for BRUNCH on Feb 17th 13. First, not having to wait an hour to be seated (which is always worthwhile mind you) was a great change. The usual biscuit baskets included blueberry muffins alongside the usual corn ones. My husband had the Crabcake Benedict and I had the Smoke Trout Both dishes were amazing! I was a little apprehensive to order the trout because it said it came with scrambled eggs, and honestly I was expecting "normal" dry scrambled eggs, but boy was I wrong! They were so moist and delicious! Another pleasant surprise is that the potatoes that came with our dishes are battered in the same batter they use for their seafood. each little slice is individually battered and are just amazingly good. Also, You have most usual entree choices available during brunch, to include the fried seafood, lobster bisque etc. Check out the pics!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady-SMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ford's have a great variety of fish and shellfish on the menue. the swordfish special was excellent as was the chopped salad. The beer selection is very good. Service was excellent and the price reasonable for the DC area.
this is my third visit and it was always been very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmstitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Start, disappointing finish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I started out with a dozen of the East Coast blue point oysters at $21.00, which was quite more expensive than I expected. With that said, they were fresh and delicious. I probably could have eaten another dozen. I was excited to continue the meal. We got lobsters rolls, one regular, one connecticut style. The lobster meat was tough and the toasted roll was soggy. For $17 bucks a piece, I have had many better rolls on the coast of Maine for under $15.00. The shoestring fries (which I think is kind of cheating in the fry department) were over cooked and tasteless. The sweet potato fries were better, but they were served with ketchup. I wish they would have served them with a almond or cinnamon butter to bring out the sweetness of the fries. For the price, I don't think it's not quite worth it for us to return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, lively crowd, will go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Founder special topped with a black bean mix and salsa was excellent, generous portion, the oyster selection was good and the waiter well informed to tell us what was available.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cprrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#