We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb corner of seafood in Northern VA”
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A superb corner of seafood in Northern VA”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Don't be put off by the name-- this is no "Shack". It's in a strip mall but is a warm place with booths and a convivial atmosphere. It's not quiet (lots of TVs over the bar) but is always packed with locals (so you know it's good). The Maine Chips are to die for, and they make fried seafood taste like it's supposed to-- light and airy and tasting of the sea, not heavy and greasy. LOVE Ford's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    258
    60
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The atlantic salmon is quite simply the best salmon I have ever had. I never bother ordering anything there. And, the quality has been consistently top-notch the many times I've ordered it.
Lobster bisque is also very good, as are the deviled eggs.
If salmon isn't your thing, the fish tacos are also excellent.
Friday night happy hour is excellent value, but you need to be in the bar area for those prices.
Outstanding...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great seafood dinner!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Was in town on business and was looking for a good seafood place in the area. It was suggested we try Ford's...6:30..the place was packed....definitely a good sign...the staff was friendly and offered drinks to start..had the local October beer...had some pumpkin and cinnamon hint to it....very unique, but real tasty.
We started with the steamed shrimp...they were very tender and juicy and generous portion.
For the main dish, we had the 2 lobster tails...one broiled, the other, deep fried...served with a homemade coleslaw and fries. It was excellent.
The atmosphere and food were great...and the price was reasonable..
I am definitely coming back next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Humidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Ashburn”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There's no comparison to Ford's when it comes to fresh seafood served up by a friendly staff. They always have a great oyster selection, the fish and chips is exceptional and the lobster rolls are to die for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RM656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go as a foursome”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The food is awesome, as is the service. This is a great restaurant, with great atmosphere and prices.

The only problem we have is that twice my wife and I sat at the bar and watched foursome after foursome that came in the restraurant after us be seated ahead of us. Almost all the tables are for four or greater. On a busy weekend, don't expect to be seated as a twosome until all the waiting foursomes are seated. Obviously, a table of four generates more income than two. I just wish they would be forthcoming and tell people this. Seating wait times are inaccurate because they have no idea how many foursomes are going to walk in the door after you. As a former bartender, it was quite obvious to me they were doing this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing