We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is amazing and priced right.”
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is amazing and priced right.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great food and service is wonderful. Rather eating our take out it good. Some of my favorites are: angry muscles, fish tacos, lobster Cobb salad and oysters. The specialty drinks are delicious and creative ( blueberry lemonade and pumpkin martinis) yummy.
Go there they never disappoint

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NRAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    258
    60
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Ashburn!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Got there before 6pm, and they had happy hour prices on oysters, so I got a platter of raw VA oysters as an appetizer--very fresh. Ordered the fish tacos, which were flavorful, tender and flaky--came with shoestring fries. Washed it all down with a cold microbrew, one of many on tap. Overall, the food and service were excellent. Look forward to going back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJTCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Down Home Seafood”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We at here after a 10 hour flight into Dulles; the food was fresh, and well prepared. The place was jumping on a Thursday night, it's loud, so be prepared. We had to wait about 30 minutes to get a table and there isn't much room to wait, so we went to the car. Wait staff seemed to be overworked a bit, but pleasant and accommodating. The food was New England Style/with a Chesapeake bay accent and all our food was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and son took me here recently for my birthday. The food is very good. We had the guacamole as an appetizer, and would highly recommend it.

Draft beer selection is pretty good - was surprised to see they offered Dortmunder Gold from the Great Lakes Brewery in Cleveland, OH. This is a great, award-winning beer.

My wife is not a seafood person, so she ordered chicken caesar salad, which was a generous amount, and the chicken was very tender.

My son, being 4, got the mac & cheese. It was good, but quite salty.

I ordered the fish tacos. The fish is lightly breaded, came in a flour tortilla with shredded cabbage, radishes (i think) and baja sauce.

We caught them at shift change (at roughly 3pm for a late lunch) and ended up with 2 servers. There were a couple of times where that was a little awkward, but very friendly and polite staff - so we just worked through it with a joke and a smile (need more water? yes, but other guy beat you to it, etc)

It's not a huge restaurant, and reservations are recommended.
I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We made the decision to eat here based off of pervious reviews and since we had an event in the area and wanted to eat close by. We were not dissapointed one bit. Food was great, the angry mussels are the best. We ordered the steamer of clams, which came with softshell clams, and has the underbelly, which is a common thing for New Englanders, but kind of different for us. My wife didn't care for them and they replaced them with more mussels. The manager was very nice about it even though we felt it was our fault. Seafood basket was very good too. I would definately try this place for a New England Seafood feel. Great food and atmosphere. Our waiter was very good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing