We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasently Surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasently Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wife and I went for our third time tonight. Food is extremely tasty and they have done some very clever things with some traditional favorites. Fish and shrimp tacos are awesome. Good happy hour specials, bar area is a little crowded but their space is limited overall. fun place for small groups to go out. Give it a try, younmay have a little wait butnthatbis because it is so good!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    241
    58
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok service. Food was not good at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We went on Father's Day on a recommendation from a colleague. I tried their "new special that everyone is raving about", i.e., the half rack of ribs and the lobster tail. The ribs were dry and tasted like they'd been reheated several times. The lobster tail was fried! Fried lobster tail? Are you kidding me? Who does that? There was so much dried breading on it that you couldn't taste the lobster meat. My wife had the crabcake which was mushy and had a lot of filling. My son had a hamburger, which he enjoyed.

I would not go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
473 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall in Ashburn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Ford's has a nice simple menu with great service and food. The deviled egg appetizer is awesome and a must have and the chedder rolls are great too. I have yet to have a dissapointing meal here.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Excellent Value, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

My travelling co-workers and I eat at Fords almost every time we stay in Ashburn. The food is fantastic, the service is excellent and you can't beat their happy hour deals on shrimp, oysters and drinks. This is hands down my favorite restaurant in the area.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zombron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudoun County, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I have been twice in the past month and love it. Love the Maine chips, shrimp tacos, and soft shell crab sandwich. The banana pudding is so delicious!!! The atmosphere is very cute and family friendly. I disagree with the reviewer who said it's expensive. It's so reasonable that I thought they may of left something off the Check. Oh... And The service was also great!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaGPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing