We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Two things I must have: a clean room and internet connection that works.
The room was indeed clean, and I generally like Springhill Suites. The two-room bathroom layout is kind of cool as is the work area. The bed was comfy, too.

Breakfast was uninspired and typical of less expensive hotels. Free, so it's not horrible - just not up to the level a Marriott property should have.

BUT, as in about 25% of the hotels I stay in, I could receive email but couldn't send it. The hotel apparently has some super secret blocking device that prevents email from going out. When this happens I go find the nearest Starbucks or Panera, and always get connected no problem. Why hotels have this issue, I don't know. And I have no intention of sitting on the phone having some support guy in India trying to get me to reconfigure my computer - I shouldn't have to.

So in spite of the fact I'm in this area pretty frequently, this hotel goes on the list of hotels I can't work in, thus I can't return to.

If internet connectivity isn't an issue for you, it's just off Rt 7, not far from food, shoppng, Dulles Airport, etc. And if homophobia doesn't bother you, there's an odd Chik-Fil-A kind of standing out in a field across the street from the hotel, like the toll booths in Blazing Saddles....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHarv_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS_Ashburn, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always wonderful to recieve positive feedback after a guest stays with us; but valuable constructive feedback also helps us to make improvements and get better - so thank you.

I was sorry to learn of the challenges you faced using the internet at the property. We did increase our bandwidth recently to accomodate for the greater number of people travelling with 2 or sometimes more devices. We are also looking forward to a secodary upgrade early in 2014 which should improve our service further. I certainly cannot speak for the other properties you indicated having problems with previously; but I do know that we are taking steps to remedy some of the challenges that still remain.

I would also like to let you know that the Springhill Suites brand is rolling our their new breakfast program at their hotels nationwide on July 1st and I know guests will enjoy some of the changes that have been made. The brand reconizes that our weekday travellers often have different needs to our weekend leisure guests and therefore certain elements of the new breakfast program will vary to accomodate for this. Some of the new items include fresh cut fruit, deli meats and cheeses as well as soem less obvious changes like the addition of healthier greek yogurt to the menu. I hope you and our other guests enjoy what's coming soon!

Kind regards,

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    85
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
102
37
16
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just a short drive from the Dulles Airport in a quiet locations away from the highway. Spacious parking, abundant and diverse selection for breakfast, large room, great bed, nice shower and pleasant employees. Close to large shopping area with restaurants, etc. and real close to Leesburg. Would stay there again if in the area. Only negative was that the air-conditioner was quite noisy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzodellaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend to attend a conference a few miles away. My friend had booked one location and I showed up to this one by mistake. Once I realized the mix up, they were great in booking us for two rooms here and calling and cancelling the other reservations. They also ensured that we would get the same rate we had confirmed with the other hotel. They also printed out instructions for us to get to our conference without us asking. Breakfast had a variety. The oatmeal was a bit runny and the eggs didn't look too appealing to me personally, but there was so much stuff to choose from that it was fine. I highly recommend this property. Be warned though, because it's a new property your GPS may not work. I tried 3 different GPS systems and none of them got me here. I had to google the hotel and get written directions. I used the GPS address of George Washington Blvd. I would mapquest just in case.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic customer service. Have stayed here about 10 nights, and have been a high-maintenance guest. Have asked the front desk team to make copies, scan documents, and fax. Always are happy to help, which is fantastic. Can't say that very many hotels would provide this kind of service with a smile. The breakfast options are the most I have seen for this type of hotel, and all included. I put a croissant in the toaster even though there is a sign that says "do not put croissants in the toaster." Caused some stinkly smoke in the breakfast area. I told the breakfast attendant that I was sorry, and her said "no problem sir." I'm telling you, A++ customer service. Stay here, but do not toast the croissants.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here one night for the Nike Elite Football Camp. Hotel is very modern and nice. Rooms were very clean and well kept. The rooms were very sizable and had a great layout. There was no hall noise in our room which was great! Breakfast was good...eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel. We booked through priceline and got the room under $60. Hard to beat! It was just minutes away from the Redskins practice facility, Dulles Town Center, and the Leesburg outlets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UhVoAo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend and it was just great. The hotel is clean and the rooms were clean. The two queen set up was perfect for 4 of us in one room. The toilet is separate from the shower-this is very convenient with more than two in a room They have two full length mirrors-very important to the two daughters who were with me, and the mirror in the shower room was fog-free which is a nice feature. The room was quiet and comfortable. Also the front desk people were very nice. The free breakfast was good including a good assortment of cereals, muffins, croissants, eggs, pancakes and yogurts including my favorite, greek yogurt. I would definitely recommend, especially for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love this updated version of the Springhill Suites brand. Aside from the higher level Marriotts, I prefer springhill suites. It was a clean, spacious hotel. I really like the updated bathroom layout and the working desk setup.
Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Breakfast spread was decent as well.

The only reason I wouldn't rate this excellent is because there isn't really anything around the hotel. Seems like an area that's being built up, but currently nothing there. Unless you want chick-fil-a, you're driving 10-15 minutes, which isn't terrible.

Convenient to where I was working and close enough to Dulles without a crazy commute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS_Ashburn, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We do have a lot of exciting things happening around our area and I hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy some of those developments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburn
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Dulles Town Center
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#3 of 7 in Leesburg
253 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North

Property: SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
Address: 20065 Lakeview Center Plz, Ashburn, VA 20147-5900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ashburn
#4 Family Hotel in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North is situated along Route 7 between Leesburg and Tyson's Corner. Free breakfast buffet, wired/wireless Internet, and transportation to Dulles International Airport. Come and enjoy our SpringHill Suites hotel, where each guest suite is innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give you the flexibility you need to work efficiently and relax comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North Hotel Ashburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing