We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable layover at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Comfortable layover at a reasonable price”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We chose this place when we got stranded overnight a Dulles. They had reasonable rates (approx. $80) thru the airport's discount list. There is a free shuttle direct from the terminal (though expect to wait up to 20-25 minutes) - the shuttle back to the airport was much easier.
Large comfortable rooms - trendy and a bit cheap and plastic but that's ok for one night - very quiet rooms and a decent workout facility we used. Note there is nothing close by for food, but some basic food for sale in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your layover. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward towards welcoming you back soon.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    172
    107
    86
    70
See reviews for
129
133
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Pros:
if you don't want to spend tons of money while visiting the capitol this is the option (but you'll have to drive about 30 min depending on traffic).
Free parking, free WiFi.
Nice indoor lounge, cool design as usual with all ALofts.
We had 2 rooms and both were in great state.
Staff is friendly and attentive.
Cons:
Pool is on a smaller side.
Food is really average.
Outside lounge was a bit worn and dirty (not a real con for us since we spent most time in DC anyway and we don't smoke).

Room Tip: We had a AAA rate for 1 room that came cheaper and included 2 sandwiches as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you're in your 20s and early 30s and single, this is a great hotel for you. My family regularly stays here because it's the only category 2 Starwood hotel in the area, and it's not as suited for us. However, if I was ten years younger, I would think it's the greatest innovation since sliced bread. The Aloft is decorated with cool colors, has nice meeting areas including a courtyard, a pool table, bar, swimming pool, and a fitness center. There's free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

For the older crowd, it's a little noisy; but we tolerate it because, again, it's a better deal using our rewards points than the Sheratons in Reston and Herndon. I've also had a few problems dealing with the management over discrepancies with their 'green choice' option (for Starwood members). I'd give it a rating of a 4 if I was younger.

As with all Alofts, they do allow dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your business and for sharing your valuable stay experience. We are happy that you gave us a try. Yes, we aim to be better than most hotels in the area, and believe our hotel excellent staff and amenities caters to all.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

To be 100% honest I didn't leave my room because this stay was for business and I had work to do, but the hotel was great. Very trendy lobby with a pool table. I've heard the gym and pool are great. The room comes with a mini fridge, iron, ironing board, blow-drier, coffee-maker, and complementary hookups for your devices to the flat screen TV. I had two desks and a very comfortable bed, but I couldn't seem to get the air-conditioner to reach a comfortable climate. Wi-Fi was fast enough to stream videos off Netflix. There is a place to buy food in the lobby, and also a gas station convenience store directly outside of the hotel. But the bathroom door is just a sliding mirror, and the shower has a translucent glass panel that looks into the main part of the room, so if you need 100% privacy in the bathroom it might be an issue.

Room Tip: The first floor can get a little noisy because the parking is directly next to the building, also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekrause65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good place for quick overnight trip. We've stayed there several times before flights on he park & fly packages with mostly acceptable results.

In February 14, 2014, after multiple previous trips and was highly disappointed. I was told that I had to park in the back (for the park & fly package), which was completely fine. The sidewalks were icy and none of the ramps were cleared; there was no way to get a suitcase or anything else from the parking lot onto the sidewalk. We had to trudge through snow and icy patches just to get to the sidewalk. There wasn't any treatment on the sidewalks either to cover the icy patches.

I asked the front desk person and was told that maintenance would be there shortly to clear. Attached are my photos from my experience. Needless to say, no one did anything further to assist or ensure conditions were safe.

The sidewalks were never cleared and we struggled, slipped and have a very difficult time entering and exiting the hotel. I understand the need to have park & fly guest park in the back; however the sidewalks and sidewalks need to be cleared.

The room was functional: good king size bed with decent pillows. A long bench ran across the front of the room to rest carry-ons, sit on, leave clothes out for the next morning, etc. A roomy desk with a phone (not beside the bed) so one has to get out of bed for the walk up call. The bathroom is interesting: sink outside (good for 2 people to get ready at the same time), odd "door" that slides to close the toilet and shower away from the sink.

I hope they address the poor sidewalks and icy situations so we can feel comfortable staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyl472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

my name is Sam I stay Aloft Dulles Airport North
Ashburn, VA
June 2014 for one week i'm so happy they have a good management and good service and all the rooms clean also they have a good customer service only think I like everybody work that hotel They so friendly Thank you for everything

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fairly new hotel in an isolated location, obviously built to serve the airport. Lobby was large and airy with lots of comfy seats. Bar only opens at 5pm. Little choice of food except from a vending machine. Room was a good size with a comfy bed and we slept well. Bathroom door was big and noisy and didn't really close properly. Not a destination hotel but the price was reasonable and if you know what your'e getting it meets your needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburn
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Dulles - North / Loudoun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
3.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
3.3 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Property: Aloft Dulles Airport North
Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plz, Ashburn, VA 20148-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing