We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good airport hotel near Dulles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Dulles Airport North
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good airport hotel near Dulles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you're looking for a hip, trendy, and fairly cheap hotel near Dulles, Aloft Dulles in Ashburn may be the one for you. The rooms are clean and very modern. All in all, very little complaints.

The manager is superb. I accidentally missed the shuttle to Dulles, and he voluntarily gave me a lift on the spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our cool and hip hotel. it was our pleasure to give you a ride to the Airport. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    160
    98
    79
    59
See reviews for
115
122
83
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got a great deal for a room with two queen beds through Expedia. Our arrival was nice, a colorful facade, waterfall in the entryway, friendly staff at the front desk. We noticed that the hotel was hip and had great alternative music playing...no violin sonatas here. We carted our luggage up to our room in airport style carts which were fairly easy to maneuver. Our room was nice, smaller than I imagined it would be. There was no refrigerator although we had asked for one, but I let the front desk know and they brought one immediately. Neat and clean, a modern bathroom that took some getting used to with a pocket door...but the design was nice! It was a little disconcerting to have to make the coffee in the bathroom. Also, there were no drawers anywhere. They took the minimalist concept to the extreme and skimped on the storage space. There was only a desk to eat at, and we couldn't face each other to eat. The beds were comfortable and the sound around us was muffled. We loved the pool and the workout room. There was no restaurant, but a snack area instead although, there was another hotel connected to the parking lot, so not an issue. It almost reminded me of a spa atmosphere. Also, being close to D.C. was just perfect for us. We drove to the train station which was not TOO far and parked there to take the train which was the best way to spend the day in the city. We enjoyed our stay and got a good nights rest. The staff was extremely helpful and printed out many places that we could visit locally, including grocery stores, restaurants and movie theaters. There was also a pool table in the lobby. I would stay there again...it was pleasant more than anything else.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool area which was nice. The way the hotel is des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your comments. We would agree that our Aloft Hotel is 'colorful, frinedly and is perfectly located in the Dulles/Ashburn area. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forwards welcomng you back soon.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the Second, Aloft hotel That I have stayed in, This one was not as Great! The Air never really got cold, even after they fixed it! The carpet needed to be re-stretched, The hotel you could tell was a High Use facility and needed a update!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback. I am pleased to share with you, that we are making updates to our property. As you realized we are a very popular hotel, and frequently used by visitors coming into the Dulles/Ashburn area. We completed the carpet project that you notice and are continually exploriing opportunies to improve based on the voice of our customers.

Thank you once again for satying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

One of the few good hotels that I have in US, the look and the feel of hotel is very youthful and energetic. The rooms are nice and comfortable, the washrooms are clean with a good shower room. Its near the Dulles airport and the onlything which us not good is that you have to pay quite a few tolls to rwach the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LokiMehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Aloft Dulles hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would agree we offer a clean, "hip hop" style stay experience.

We are looking forward towards welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Husband does overnight work in Ashburn every couple weeks and we stayed here for 2-night stays in July & again in August. Considering we've been here more than once, it's easier to let the feelings of "woohoo modern art & cool vibes" go and notice some of the actual relevant details and issues to the stay. Let's cover the bad, then the good, for just our August stay...

Cons:
- We left the breakfast order form on the door by 11pm and at 8am, we called to find out they never picked it up or prepared our sandwiches/coffee. That's poor customer service. We got breakfast elsewhere.
- Even if the sandwiches were done, we still would have had to get them in the lobby... NO room service.
- Noise apparent between rooms. Noise from band/DJ playing on Friday night - told it would stop at 10pm by front desk. It ended around 10:30. Noise from other rooms' AC units. This wasn't us, BUT, if you're coming from a really long layover, you might want to stay somewhere quieter. I'd be seriously annoyed if I got to a hotel with a band/DJ so loud that you could hear it through the walls 5 floors up still and you wanted to rest after flight-related issues.
- Filthy floor in bathroom upon arrival - white stains on floor and ledge, crust around shower, piece of string on bathroom floor, hair on bathroom floor.
-Bed sheets on sideways, not tucked in totally. Yellow stain and hair on one pillow (we brought our own, thank goodness!) Makes you wonder if they changed the sheets.
-Obvious wear to walls & carpeting - scuff marks, stains, bits missing.
-Extremely slow Wifi on the fifth floor
-White stain on the wood frame of the "sunflower" art above the bed (but..gravity doesn't go that direction???)
-Cracked wall above the bed on two sides, looks like it may be from the bolts used.
-Ice only available in the lobby
-Handprints/streaks on glass "window" of shower between bedroom area and shower. Yuuck.
-The pool area is very visible to bar guests and also tiny.

Pros:
-As a severe asthmatic, I can overlook ALL of the above since I can breathe fine here. I have a lot of issues when staying at hotels and none here. The air filters, cleaning products, or whatever utilized to keep rooms "clean" must be working on the air at least, because there has been NO odor in either room we've been in. There is no mildew, mustiness, or odor whatsoever. Maybe it's because not many products have been used. Whatever. I can breathe so it's OK.
-Good night's sleep, probably since I can breathe.
-There's fast Wifi in the Lobby.
-Pet friendly - I didn't bring my dog, but if our trip was more conducive to having her with us, I would. I think it's free or a minimal extra charge added. Plenty of room in guest rooms for a crate, too, if that's your dog's preferred bed.
-Reasonable price for what you get

Room Tip: Get dinner or bring food with you..limited selection in the lobby. A Wegmans is about 5 minutes awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clbrtwewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you choosing to stay with us again and for sharing your comments. We would agree that we offer a modern eclectic experience and are a pet friendly hotel. I'm sorry to hear of the challenges with our Live performances that usually take place every Friday and with our Housekeeping cleanliness. We are addressing these concerns and would love to welcome you back soon, so you can experience the difference.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Aloft on our way to San Francisco, via Dulles Airport. We needed a place where we could leave the car for a week and being from out of town, we couldn't just drive to the airport and use the park and fly there. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Nice room, although not huge, which didn't bother us given we were only there for one night. The bed was comfortable and the shower was huge. Staff were pleasant and very easy to deal with. The hotel is lovely with a retro new look -- if that makes any sense. There is a nice area out back to sit and have a drink. The hotel is far from DC, so probably not a good choice if you are visiting DC, but really nice for park and fly. Our car was exactly where we left it when we came back a week later. There were no issues. Shuttle was on time in the morning for our flight out and pick up at the airport on our return was a breeze. This hotel is a bit more expensive than others, but the amenities and peace of mind when leaving your vehicle for a week are well worth the extra cost. The only downside to the hotel is that it is far from restaurants and from DC. However, I highly recommend it for a short stay when flying out of Dulles.

Room Tip: Breakfast is serve yourself and expensive. Best to plan ahead and bring something to eat if leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments we are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and the special "Park and Fly" rate plan. Our hotel has proven to be very convenient for traveling and we would agree that 24-hour shuttle services is an added amenity that we exclusively offer at the Aloft Dulles. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, I did not know what to expect; first time ever staying at an A-Loft but then again, it was only $79 so you get what you pay for. The bed was hard as a rock and the bedding was cheap. The towels were small and cheap and their were no extra ameneties like shower cap, mouthwash, extra soap, etc. Actually, the room was dusty and the floor was dirty; it could have used a good, thorough cleaning. I suppose the fact that I consider myself a hotel "snob" does not help. I like a good bed and clean room. The A-Loft is a different experience . . . if you want something easy and cheap, this is the place for you. If you like service, amenities, a comfortable, clean and luxurious night of sleep, this is not the place! I was not impressed with the "modern" decor . . . and the hallway smelled.
Enough said.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maestra2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. While I understand that the Aloft offers a very unique experience to our guest and clients, I apologies for the challenges you received with our service. We are striving everyday to get better and thank you once again for sharing your feedback.


Kind regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashburn hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburn
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
3.2 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Property: Aloft Dulles Airport North
Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plz, Ashburn, VA 20148-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing