We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Stay....Will be the only place we stay in the future.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
middletown, ri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay....Will be the only place we stay in the future.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I'm not quite sure what people expect from a hotel, but we had an excellent experience in this hotel. First of all, their complimentary shuttle service to/from hotel & to/from the metro station is unbeatable. It was such a nice amenity to have especially when you don't have a vehicle. Second of all, when we walked into the hotel, it was beautiful. The lobby looks like it had all just been rennovated. It was certainly fancy looking. Check-in was extremely easy. Our room was terrific. Flat screen tv, nice king sized bed, crisp white linens and very clean. We had a nice view of the Air Force Memorial and could see planes taking off all the time. I have to say, I was very impressed with the room. When I booked it, they hadn't had updated pictures of the new rooms online, so it was a nice suprise to see all little upgrades!

Shuttle drivers were great, on time and extremely helpful. The Starbucks Barista in the hotel lobby in the mornings is great, we survived on that for 5 days! The 2 ladies that work there are AMAZING and very friendly! The hotel restaurant was a tad pricey, but what do you expect, you're in the Capitol region, besides, the shuttle will take you to the strip in Pentagon City where there are plenty of cheaper restaurants.

All in all, a wonderful stay and due to the ease of my experience there, it will be the only place we stay while in DC. (which we go to a great deal)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalgurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    428
    207
    105
    62
See reviews for
287
232
85
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Spent two nights here for an Irish dance competition and we had a great time. The hotel staff was very receptive and helpful in directing us to our rooms, providing bag service and directing us to parking which was convenient to the elevators. The room was in excellent condition: clean glasses and ice bin, stocked cups, spotless white sheets and clean bathroom. The A/C unit in the room worked great and had an energy-saving motion sensor- very nice. Also like the energy-saving compact flourescents and the large plasma TV.

We did have a broken ottoman which had obviously been broken by a previous guest and deliberately concealed but the front desk people took care of it. Also, we needed a roll-away bed and received it within minutes after checking in. There was also ample hotel security and staff in the lobby area, highly visible and helpful in providing information or direction. The hotel location was convenient to great restaurants in Crystal City as well as attractions near Arlington.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I won't say that this hotel was absolutely terrible, the room was lovely, but one day they didn't even make the beds, let alone change the sheets; hygiene was not their strong point.

Furthermore, we ate at the hotel for breakfast and dinner on consecutive nights, and frankly I would've preferred to be eating at a one-star hostel, where at least the food would be hearty and personalised. Here, the "scrambled eggs" were obviously of the dehydrated variety, badly prepared so that there was a watery residue seeping out; the fruit salad was obviously straight out of a tin; and, worst of all, despite a significant proportion of the conference being Hindus, and therefore vegetarians, there was no vegetarian option, and they were left eating scrawny salads and tired french fries every night.

When I thought Sheraton, I would always think "up there with the Hyatt, the Hilton and the Shangri-La". Now, I would scarcely equate them to Best Western. A thoroughly unfortunate experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Quiet clean hotel,
Good location for us... next to Chystal City Shopping Centre and close to bike trail along the Potomic, we saw many people walking from the Ronald Reagan airport.
Parking was a stiff $22.50 per night.
Free coffee and pastries in the morning; hors d'œuvres in the evening in the lobby.
I was on the 3rd floor and had trouble with the WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I just returned from our trip to D.C. and we had a wonderful time. The hotel was very nice and everything we expected it to be. The beds were very comfortable, service was great, and very easy to find if you are driving (right off the highway). Bathroom was small though. We did self parking with parking fees at $18 per day.

The shuttle service is good but few adjustments could be made. Shuttle arrived on the hour and half hour with service to Pentagon City metro. It left the metro on the quarter after and quarter to the hour. There is a free shuttle service to Reagan National Airport. There were no clear markings to let you know which was the airport shuttle or metro shuttle. I'm sure they use both but some kind of marking would have been great because both shuttles would be in the driveway at the same time. We would just ask which was the metro shuttle.

We never ate at the hotel so no comment on food.

With the shuttle service stop at Pentagon City metro it is right next to Fashion Center at Pentagon City. This was nice for a quick meal stop at a fast food place for quick cheap meals before heading back out to D.C.

I would recommend this hotel for family and friends and I would stay there again. But I have stayed at the Marriott Crystal City and I would recommend that one over the Sheraton National Hotel. I loved that fact that I walked out of my room, down into the lobby, down the hall, and into the metro. There are no shuttles to wait for. If you just miss the shuttle there is no waiting a half hour for it to return. You just get off the metro and within 5 minutes your are back in your hotel room. Also it is only one stop further from Pentagon City, so it you want to go to the mall it is one stop away. There is also a little underground shopping area attached to the hotel. Not much there for shopping but if you need a quick fast food meal they have a small food court.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amuslman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed for 4 days with my wife and 2 young kids. The location is great, close to the highway and immediate access into DC. Don't expect to walk around the hotel, there is nothing in the immediate vicinity. As long as you have a car, this is the best value around.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank platinumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I booked this hotel on Priceline and got a great rate. The hotel is beautiful, the view of the city is wonderful, the beds are comfortable, and we loved our girl's weekend away being pampered at this hotel. The rooftop pool is spectacular and the shuttle service leaves every half hour and takes you to the metro station at Pentagon Mall. We were very fortunate to have Jazer Pineda check us in at the front desk. He went out of his way to make sure we were happy with our room and the personal service made the trip. We can't wait to plan our next girls weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bw6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
1.7 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204-4520 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing