We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

It's a nice hotel overall, initially they gave us a room which was at the ground level and we were told that the hotel was full so there was no other rooms available. However, the front desk staff was very helpful and the second day they not only gave us a room at a higher level, but it was a suite with the view of The Washington monument and Lincoln memorial. The view was so beautiful even on a rainy day. The hotel offers free shuttle bus to Washington D.C. Metro station, from there, you are good to go to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manolo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    427
    206
    105
    62
See reviews for
287
232
85
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed on Febuary 15, 2012. I've stayed at this hotel several times, it is a great hotel as it is next to Arlington National Cemetery. It is away from the hustle and bustle of D.C. The area is quiet and next to USMC base, therefore you can hear bugle calls for Revellie, and Taps if you are outside. There are no restaurants in the vicinity. That being said the hotel has a very nice restaurant.
The Hotel is/was doing construction on the pool on the upper floor, so that if you stay below there is beating and banging until 500p. it is very loud and annoying. the Hotel staff were very accomodating and moved me to a lower floor with no noise. Overall I will stay there again.
I do not know how long construction will be going on and it may be over by now, so just something to be aware of.

Room Tip: If there is still construction, get a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Awayfro,

Thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel. It is always nice to hear that guests want to come back time and time again.

As you mentioned about our location, the hotel is next to Arlington Cemetery and you can here taps. Also along Columbia Pike there are 5-10 restaurants within 6 blocks of the hotel. Plus the hotel runs a shuttle to Pentagon City every 30 minutes where there are numerous restaurants.

I wanted to apologize if the noise while you were hear bothered you. We were doing a quick facelift of our pool and it has already finished. The pool will be reopening this weekend for all to enjoy.

If you have any more recommendations on how we can better serve you, please feel free to reach out to me.


Scott Ragosta

Scott.Ragosta@sheratonnational.com
703.271.6603
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel is well maintained and was undergoing some repairs when I stayed there for two nights. My room was clean and comfortable but did not have available power outlets close to the beds. It has a nice coffee shop that opened early on Saturday and Sunday. The hotel is next to a major highway and within a residential area. It's location is good if you have a car. If you don't have a car, you have to rely on the hotel shuttle to go to the Metro station and to places to eat or sightsee. Parking fee is $20 a day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed at this property 3+ years ago (can't remember if I wrote a review then) and was generally unimpressed. I've stayed here twice in the past month and must say it was much improved. While the location isn't optimal - need a shuttle or taxi to get anywhere, including the Metro or airport - the rooms are good-sized and much cleaner than I remember them. The room furniture is a bit outdated (dresser, desk, and nightstand could use an update), but everything is in working order, the bed and pillows very comfortable, and the bathroom appointed as a typical Sheraton would be. For elites, the Club Lounge was well-stocked with breakfast items and service was attentive but not too much so. Overall, the hotel was comfortable and had everything needed for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the big tower, not the smaller one toward the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank You Doug H,

We are very pleased that you have noticed the increase in quality in our property. We take pride in the service that we provide and it'ss nice when it is noticed.

The hotel provides shuttle service every 30 minutes to both the metro and the Airport. This gives great flexibility to get around the local area and to see all of DC's great attractions.

To better enhance the quality of our the hotel, we are currently giving the pool and gym a facelift. Soon they too will be of even greater quality.

During your next visit I would be honored to meet you. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Scott Ragosta
703.271.6603
scott.ragosta@sheratonnational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This hotel has two buildings and we were in building 2; in other words "the other side of the tracks". You must go up or down 8 stairs to get to an elevator. The first floor rooms are actually partially underground. On the 4th floor I had a view of a roof and run down houses. The bathroon door only cleared the toilet bowl by 1/2 inch and then hit the shower curtain. It takes a good five minutes to get hot water in both the shower and the sink.There are no ammenities at this hotel. No complimentary coffee, frig or microwave. If you want an appliance it is $20.00 per day per appliance and we were told they only have 3 refrigerators for the entire hotel. The outlet in our room was broken and falling out of the wall which made the TV reception poor. Overall it is over priced and not worth the money, I will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Guest:

We thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your recent stay.

Our commitment to exceptional customer service relies on our guest feedback. We recognize the value of your time away from home and simply want you to have the lodging experience you deserve and expect at a Sheraton Hotel. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and for you to share your excitement and memories with us and others. Unfortunately we failed to achieve that goal.

I invite you to call me personally at 703.271.6603, to discuss your experience and give us an opportunity to bring you back to the Sheraton National. I look forward to hearing from you.

Again please accept my sincere apology,



Scott Ragosta
Guest Relations Manager
Scott.ragosta@sheratonnational.com
703.271.6603
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is in a great area and customer service is over the top. I recommend that Starwood downgrade this hotel to a lower tier because the rooms need to be updated. It's an old hotel, I see that you have tried to keep it up but I think you could do a lot more in means of the guest rooms (i.e. new baths, wallpaper, drapes, carpet, lighting, and decor). The bed was great, almost like the heavenly bed, that's all that matters is a great place to sleep and this hotel did that. However, the price needs to be lowered because of the quality of the rooms, but it's DC.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I spent five days here at this hotel. The room was alright. Nothing remarkable despite paying almost $200 a night. The room was clean, bed was great but the rooms look dated. Just a plane clock radio, no Ipod player.

I was placed in the loyalty floor and the only difference I could detect was a bottle of water the first day of my stay. The bathroom is small, as is the closet. This hotel is out of the way. A short shuttle drive (hotel provides) from the Regan Airport but not close to much of anything at all. The hotel did provide a shuttle to Pentagon City where we could catch the Metro (subway) to sight-see. Although close to Arlington National Cemetery, to get into the Cemetery we had to ride the shuttle to Pentagon City and catch a subway to the main gate. No restaurants nearby beside the one in the hotel so it was expensive and limited to eat anyplace else. The amenities were average. The little cotton balls and q-tips were available the first day but not replenished. There was a coffee pot in the room but only one serving of coffee was stocked. Room service was expensive. Two bowls of oatmeal and a container of coffee was $29. There is a coffee bar until 11am and I could buy the same thing for $15. The hotel has a roof top swimming pool but it was closed during our visit for the remodel. The view from my room was the opposite side of D.C. fortunately one of the women who worked at the hotel let us in a conference room in the evening so we could enjoy the view of D.C.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not near the construction. It was noisy during the day, hammering and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Ms. Patspell,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton National for your recent stay here in DC.

I first wanted to apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves at providing an unparalleled level of service and obviously we fell short.

The hotel’s location actually is a hidden gem. The shuttle service provides access to the metro but also Pentagon Row which is attached to one of the largest malls in the area. This provides access to numerous restaurants and shops. This allows for a short metro ride to the National Mall and the Smithsonian. Also, a revitalization is ongoing on Columbia Pike just a few blocks away. Within walking distance is now a brand new pubs, restaurants, wine bars and shops.

On property we provide 4 dining options for breakfast. As you mentioned there is room service and the barista. There also is our full service restaurant that has two options, a full Hot American Buffet that changes daily and an a la carte option. These four options hit all price points and we even provided room packages that include breakfast at a discount.

As in the other review, we apologize for the pool “renovation”. We actually are only fixing the pool’s surface and it should be open soon. We apologize for the noise that you encountered and I hope that you brought this to our attention as we always want feedback; even if it is negative. Any feeback is a great tool for us to better train our associates.

Again, thank you for staying with us and on your next visit please reach out to me as I would like to take care of your breakfast.

Scott Ragosta
Guest Relations Manager
Scott.ragosta@sheratonnational.com
703.271.6603
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
1.7 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#14 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204-4520 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing