We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
newport news, va
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Made reservation through travelzoo because it had a great rate with 2 free breakfasts.
Also because of the reviews on this site.
They were spot on.
The front desk people were very professional.
The room was wonderful and the bed was so comfortable. I have stayed at a number of hotels recently that said their beds are the best, well they aren't.
The bed was firm and super comfortable.
There was a sofa chair with ottoman that made it comfortable to watch tv.
The coffee and tea were excellent.
The bathroom was super clean with shampoo, conditioner, etc.
The shower was kind of hard to get started, you had to push up on the faucet to get it started. Had never seen that before.
The breakfast on sunday a.m. was a buffet. Good selection.
The service was excellent. The staff acted like they really liked having us there.
This hotel is first class and is also right across from the metro which is so convenient.
Enjoy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    420
    120
    55
    33
See reviews for
207
217
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2007

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. From initially calling the hotel to make my reservation - she assisted me herself rather than transferring me. I was picked up by the most friendly gentleman who offered me water. All of the staff at the front desk were so friendly. They really went out of their way to ensure I was settled in my room. Then - then even called to inquire if I needed any maps or suggestions on what to do while I was here (I mentioned I wanted to get settled first at check in) I could tell I was not the only one that experienced this type of service. Others mentioned in the elevator and in the restaurant with similar experiences - whether it be a simple laugh or a greeting with a smile. I think all it takes to get friendly service - is to be friendly yourself. It goes a lot further. I have already sent my letter to the hotel - but felt the need to put it in writing here. They have a really great team there!

  • Liked — Exceptional Service / Location / Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Seasonal Pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timlem07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

I stayed at this property while visiting a friend in DC. The property was reasonably priced, is right across the street from a metro stop, and is surrounded by other hotels/food options/shopping. Because of my status in Starwood's program I received a comp upgrade to a club floor room. Because this was a weekend this included a complementary breakfast buffet in the downstairs bistro, which was substantial (eggs, bacon, potatoes, rolls, pastries, etc.) and filling.

My biggest concern with the property was that my non-smoking room had the lingering smell of having been a smoking room. I also had no functioning ice machine on my floor (the 14th). When I tried the 15th and 12th floors, neither of those ice machines were functional either. When I called the front desk to inquire which floor had a working ice machine, I was told not to worry, that room service would bring a bucket of ice to my room. In my estimation this was an appropriate response to a broken ice machine . Unfortunately, room service never arrived with my ice.

The staff at this property were at one of two extremes, either friendly and helpful or disinterested with an "I can't be bothered" type attitude. Since the property was very lightly booked during my stay I would have expected service to be very prompt and attentive. I sometimes got that and sometimes did not.

Overall I wasn't turned off enough to swear off this property for good, but I wasn't impressed enough to not seek out other options next time I'm in the area.

  • Liked — Convenient to metro, good room rate
  • Disliked — Smell in room, inconsistent service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paubri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

For the price this is an INCREDIBLE place. We paid $95/night, AAA rate, booked on the Sheraton site. The other sites (Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, etc.) were not much more. Our room (on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor) was spacious -- two double beds (and room to squeeze a rollaway cot between them), a desk, stuffed chair and side table. We had a small refrigerator, and a complimentary bottle of water was brought every day. We were VERY disappointed that the pool "wasn't working" after Labor Day -- I think they just don't staff it or something.

The restaurant food was good -- lots of choices on the kid menu. Service is AMAZINGLY slow. Breakfast service was so slow that they apologized and offered a free breakfast the next day. Dinner was even slower; the waiter explained that it was because, since the dining room had few guests, he was doing room service, too.

Internet access is $10/day, not wireless.

Location is very convenient to Metro (arrive early -- it's confusing!), and to a small shopping center that's attached to the Marriott. There's a Rite-Aid, where you can buy water, soda, milk, etc. to stock your tiny fridge.

Airport shuttle service was quick, easy and friendly.

In spite of the slight disappointments, this was still a great price, and a great place to stay for a D.C. vacation.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank blooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Crystal City last week and found it to be a very nice experience. The room, while a bit on the small side, was clean and comfortable. The staff of the hotel was exceptionally friendly and had immediate answers to all our questions. Our request for extra bath towels was answered within minutes. The hotel is just a hundred yards or so from the metro, which was a major bonus in our book!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elykremraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

I had not stayed at this hotel for a couple of years and so was worried since the last time, it was down in the dumps.

A quick trip to DC required me to take this hotel as it was one of the few that still had open rooms. I was most pleasantly surprised. From check in to check out, all of the staff were very pleasant and accomodating.

As others have mentioned, the location is central to Crystal City and a short walk (one block) to the Metro.

The 14th floor Club Level room I was given was newly redone and very nice. The bed was very comfotable, the furnishings modern and well done. The Bathroom was well lit and had all of the necessities including a large towel supply. The airconditiong system seemed much improved from my previous stays and was more than adequate to cope with a typical DC summer day.

The excercise room has all new equipment, a sauna and Plasma Screen TV's. Again, a large supply of towels were available.

The Club Lounge was well stocked and comfortable. The only thing missing were local and national newspapers since the only selection was USA Today.

All and all, I was pleased with the changes to the Hotel and now have a good backup in case my usual locations are unavailable.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skibuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Although I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 5 years, it has never been a favorite. It has an excellent location next to a Metro stop that is only one stop from National Airport. There are also many nice restaurants within walking distance. In the past, its best feature has been lower prices than the nearby hotels, but now everything in the Washington area is very expensive. During this stay, I noticed that the hotel had been renovated, and the front desk personnel had apparently taken a course in customer service. On a rainy night, the desk clerk volunteered the hotel van to take our group to dinner and bring us back. This was a big help. The hotel room and meeting facilities were very nice. I would not automatically return to the Sheraton if I were staying in this area, but I would check prices and consider it if the price were competitive.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 51 in Arlington
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Property: The Westin Crystal City
Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing