We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I stayed here for my last night in DC after staying at a "boutique" hotel for the previous four days. The Sheraton Crystal city was somuch better than the historic hotel we came from. It was very spacious, well decorated. It was pretty clean, though the mirror in our room was actually falling off the wall and I fixed it myself. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even at six in the morning when loading up for the free airport shuttle. When we asked for a few different ammenities, the desk staff brought it up to our room immediately and on multiple trips. The hotel was very nice for one of your larger chain hotels, at least for the price I paid. I booked it for $69 per night through hotwire and honestly have been trying to book again for a price that's even close for when I return in the summer and have not been successful. I grew up staying in five star hotels in Europe and I honestly would really enjoy staying here again. Also has a nice underground mall system that is one block from the hotel and spans forever it seems!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmie_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    420
    120
    55
    33
See reviews for
207
217
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2009

This hotel would be superb if it weren't for the fact that due to it being near Washington Airport and fellow guests arrived late at night and also early morning and then put TV banging doors etc disturbing sleep. The rooms very spacious and luxourious. very easy to get to Washington city by subway only 5 mins walk from hotel. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This trip was personal, where I was in for 3 nights and out again. I needed something cheap and pleasant for my son and myself. Wow! I was blown away. Especially for the price. WAY beyond expectations. This is an outstanding hotel. It is close to major attractions, the Metro and Hiway 1. Having been recently rennovated, it is up to date and comfortable. Especially given the expense of hotels in the area, it is an absolute bargain!

The area around the hotel is a mixture of residential and hotels, with most of the structures having been built w/in the last 25 years. There is new construction going on less than a mile away and just about anything one could want is a short taxi ride away. All the D.C. attractions are just across the Patomac, one or 2 metro stops away, making this an ideal place to retreat from the usual hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I enjoyed my one day stay at the Sheraton. I chose this hotel for it’s proximately to the Metro and the Pentagon. I easily found a parking spot, and checked into my room. Then, enjoying the warm day, I walked over to the Pentagon. After my meetings, I came back to the Sheraton in time for the Manager’s reception. The food was fine and there was free soda and alcohol. The staff interacted with us during the reception, which I enjoyed.

Finally, I made it to my room, which was very good; spacious and quiet.

The next day, since the price did not come with free breakfast, I took the Metro to the Pentagon and ate there. I came back for my car, and since I stayed 24 ½ hours, I had to pay more than one days rate ($33).

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Parking Fees
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, but not since 2005. This time I found a very good rate of $119 over the weekend. Usually it costs more than $200 to stay here. My room had a view of Jefferson Davis Highway and the pool at Marriott Crystal City. The Sheraton does not have a pool anymore. The room had an empty fridge so I could put a lot of drinks in there. The hotel is only a block from the Metro and the Crystal City mall, which has a Riteaid and Sbarro, which I like to visit for groceries and takeout respectivelyi. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, but both the bathtub and shower were good. Internet was $9.95 for a day, but you could go down to the lobby and get free Internet use. Probably the best part of this stay was after checking in on Valentine's Day to be given a small plate of minicakes by housekeeping and wished Happy Valentine's Day. It was certainly not expected and was a nice gesture by the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hydepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Stayed here because I got an excellent price on roundtrip airfare from EWR + 2 nights for $250. I booked a king bed since I was traveling alone but somehow ended up in a room with double beds. Also, I was on a low floor (4) with a view of nothing (a highway). I couldn't really hear any outside noise though. The rooms are updated, nice, and very clean. LCD TV, frig, and coffee maker are in the rooms. Don't believe that they provide Starbucks coffee for the in room coffee makers though because they don't.
What I really liked: Crystal City is a great place to stay while visiting DC! It's a nice corner of Arlington just across the river from DC. I'm a girl traveling alone and felt perfectly safe walking around this area at 1 AM, which I cannot say for many areas in DC proper. Very close to Reagan Airport also. The Metro is right down the street and makes commuting to the city very easy without a car. Also, if you're a Zipcar member, there are a few available just outside the hotel.
What I didn't like: In room WiFi is expensive ($10 per day). On my first day in the room, an unknown man opened my door with a key card?!? He went away and I immediately reported the incident to the hotel operator but am still asking myself WTH that was all about. The showers are really strange and have the worst water pressure ever. You have to pull on the spigot to engage the shower. Be prepared to take baths. The water pressure is just that inadequate IMO!

  • Liked — location, easy to get to the Metro and around DC
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lemongrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

I enjoyed the stay at Sheraton Crystal City.

Location:
It's very close from both the airport (free shuttle - we had a really nice, attentive driver) and Metro station. It was surprising easy to use Metro to get to DC.

Not too far away from 23rd Street, where they have many restaurants (less than 10 minutes? walk).

Staff:
The staff at the counter was helpful when we asked questions about the area.

Room:
Clean, updated room.
Three things I was not happy about the room: Coffee maker, the wall, and the price for in-room internet.

The coffee maker in our room had wrong-size coffee packet and it was hard to make decent cup of coffee. The lobby had free hot drink (it was hot apple cider one day) and apples, so that was nice.

The wall is too thin and the connecting door between our room and next door had a big gap at the bottom. We could hear people next to us talking. I was really disappointed at this.

I was also disappointed that they didn't have free in-room internet . I think the do in the lobby (they had computers and a printer so you can check-in for flight and print out your tickets).

Overall:
I think this place was a good choice for my trip. Except for the three things about the room, I was very happy about the stay.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Noise Level
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orangestar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#15 of 51 in Arlington
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Property: The Westin Crystal City
Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing