We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Not quite what I expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Sheraton location is great, a block from metro, but if you stayed in the Marriott across the street, the metro and shops/dining are conveniently located under the hotel. The hotel is clean and beds are comfortable. Room service is fast and food is tasty. Free wifi. No valet parking, and this was a disappointment. Self parking is under the hotel and was $18 per day...group rate I think, and dark and scary for a woman alone. No bellman upon check in, however the desk clerk ,Jerrell, was absolutely great and helped us with a big smile. Although solidly built, the rooms are not quiet, hallway noise and voices are easily heard in the room and all doors slam. Can hear the ice machine from room 505 even though two doors down. There were only two towels in the room upon check in to our double room, had to call for more. Our first day my daughter had to return to the room to get something while housekeeping was there. The housekeeper let her come in, and checked her room key appropriately, but then said "tip! tip!" As my daughter was leaving. To ask for and insist upon a tip from a teenager is just wrong. So the next day, our beds were made and room was otherwise untouched. Trash still in room, room service dishes on the bed...a halfway done job. Unsure if this is because she did not get a tip the previous day. Our stay could have been better. Many in our group (volleyball team) had hotel stories and it became a joke during our three day stay. If I had a choice, I would probably choose a different hotel. Generally in need of renovation.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from vending machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MACVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear MACVirginia,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Sheraton Crystal City. We very deeply value all our guests’ experiences and certainly do care about the issues you experienced. I assure you that the service you received is not our standard. We strive for 100% Guest satisfaction and unfortunately we have failed to live up to our expectations. I am happy to hear that Jarrell did go above and beyond to assist you. However in regards to the housekeeping situation, I have passed along this message to our executive housekeeper. I do hope we might have another opportunity to be of service in order to make things right. I would encourage you to reach out to me directly and I will personally look after your accommodations.

Kind Regards,
Julie Yeung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here on Valentines Day 2014---Alone. I was trying to get home after the big snow the DC area had here. Well this hotel was great. My room was excellent with couch and chairs as well as a small bar area with refrigerator. I have stayed here before and nothing has changed since my last visit. Everything was clean and well appointed. My bed was excellent and the sheets were soft yet crisp just the way I like them. The heater blower had a little rumble to it but I sleep in so many hotel rooms that I look at it as my white noise maker. I have been very impressed with all the Sheraton Hotels I have stayed at recently.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear MSM19,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again real soon.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Every time I go to this hotel, I always get an amazing service from the staff ,especially a gentle man by the name Ranjit. He is extremely professional and friendly , to my amazement he recognizes me every time I showed up. The hotel is great and because of the excellent treatment I get from the staff, I put this hotel as my primary preference when I travel the DC area ,either for business or leisure. I couldn't ask for a better staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Getahun,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and excited to hear such great positive comments about our front desk associates. As this truley what defines customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel is your average Sheraton, so you get good quality and good service. I have stayed here a few times as it is generally less expensive than other Starwood properties in DC. So a good value for the money. It is also a block from the Crystal City Metro with access to the Yellow and Blue lines. It is a quick and easy ride into DC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Adam,

I am happy to hear that you found our accomodations to be valuable and convenient for you! DC has a lot to offer and we are so glad that you chose us to spend your time while exploring it. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great location. I love that this hotel has everything you will need and love while traveling or vacationing. The fitness center is very comfortable. It has all of your updated equipment and very bright with windows overlooking the city. I like how comfortable the staff makes me feel every time I check in (especially the welcome from Jarrell) and I find the restaurant menu to be reasonable and offers many options, whether it be you want to have appetizers and beverages at the bar or sit and enjoy the restaurant. The lobby area attached to the restaurant/bar area is great with computers and couches so you can use the computers in a very comfortable setting. I just love the hotel. If you are thinking of staying in Crystal City, VA, I would highly recommend you check out this hotel. The restaurant staff is awesome as well. I love my room. Clean and large with refrigerator and all updates you can think of to make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 10th floor and just a couple of rooms down from the elevator. I was very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Linda! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are quite proud to have people on our staff like Jarrell, who go above and beyond to create a welcoming experience for our guests. We strive to create exceptional experiences for each and every one of our guests so please come and visit with us again the next time you are in the Crystal City area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sheraton Crystal City Hotel always provide me with excellent customer service. Mr. Ranjit always present himself in a professional and courteous manner and always provide me or my party with excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Convass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for the great trip advisor review! We are truly proud to have ambassadors like Ranjit who go above and beyond to create exceptional stays for all of our guests. We truly appreciate our repeat guests as well. Without your loyalty, we wouldn't have guests to provide "Excellent Customer Service" to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have had a fantastic time and experience in this Hotel, every thing was beyond expectation. I strongly recommend this place to high class travelers. It is exceptionally great location, makes it very close to many beautiful places in Virginia that you most see in your visit:
such as Pentagon Mall and Alexanderia down town. Which will expand your your limitations of enjoyment. It is also about 5 minutes away for our nation's capital Washington Dc. I am a big fan of Sheraton hotels and very loyal to them also. This place strengthen my loyalty and bonds with these pioneers in hospitality business... To feel you are home with some extra unexpected services you should visit this place. Among Varieties of choices in Crystal City this Sheraton sits on the top of other hotels in the area. I loved this place and I will always visit it .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hellman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Your "wonderful experience" is what we hope to create for all of our guests that stay at the Sheraton Crystal City. I am so glad that through our ability to make you feel at home and our great location, we were successful in making your experience wonderful. Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Crystal City at Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#28 of 52 in Arlington
33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#9 of 52 in Arlington
1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $80 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing