We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent staff and accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked my stay here primarily due to its idael location, but was thrilled when I arrived to be greeted by such a wonderful front desk staff who went above and beyond to make sure I had everything I needed to make my stay enjoyable and hassle free. The room itself was clean comfortable and spacious, and the folks with room service were delightful and efficient. If I ever need to be in this area again, this is where I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    371
    110
    48
    29
See reviews for
180
189
122
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
villa riva, ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I’ve stayed here numerous times over the past few years and this hotel never disappoints. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are above average and comfortable. Food options are adequate and as a Platinum SPG member I often receive vouchers for bar food. My only negative comment (which is slight) is that of all the Starwood properties associated with DCA this property has the least frequent shuttle pick up from the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid any room under or near the gym. The treadmill vibration and noise is noticable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic reception. During the height of check-in about 1700, Trey and Ranott tag teamed to check-in everyone in record time. The team work and great attitude made it fun to watch. Please recognize them for going above and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Room:

We stayed in a room with a King sized bed. It was a very nice sized room, large bathroom, great water pressure. Big closet with hangers, bed was super comfy as were the pillows. Two night stands would have been better if there had been outlets near both but a minor detail. There was not a lot of draw space if you're planning on unpacking but fine for just the weekend. A mini fridge, no microwave/freezer as some have noted but this did not bother me. There was also no room safe although one was referenced in some of their literature. Probably unique to our room, the thermostat did not work very well. Luckily it was stuck on a fairly comfortable temperature but we usually like the room a little cool at night and it didn't seem to matter how much we turned it down, the room stayed the same temperature.

Location:

Great location. About a block from the Metro which will take you straight into DC. Trains came about every 5 minutes. Also, plenty of restaurants around, a small mall of shops, a 7-11, and a CVS. Basically anything you need is within walking distance.

Service:

Ultimately, this is what will keep us coming back. Let's face it, the hotel and the location are nice but there are plenty in the area. It was the people there who will have us booking this hotel the next time we return to the Washington area. Everyone I spoke to was quick, smiling, super nice, and helpful. From when I called to book the reservations, to the gentleman at check out and every maid, concierge, and server in between. It was a pleasant experience to deal with the employees of the Sheraton. Kudos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

During a quick business trip to Washington, I search high and low for the right property near the airport. I was not disappointed staying at the Sheraton Crystal City. Everything was what you would expect from a Sheraton property. The hotel shuttle to/from the airport is always something I look for in an airport hotel. Easy access to the Metro was an added benefit, making my meetings around DC amazingly accessible.

Check-in staff was friendly and courteous. The room was of the Sheraton standard with the clean, white sheets on the bed. The bathroom was tidy and I would definitely return to this hotel for my next visit assuming the price was right. Although I didn't use any of the other services, the bank of computers was available most of the time. The bar downstairs was great for hosting clients and I look forward to returning to this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGuy07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Arda and Ranjit were very pleasant and helpful also assisting with a very late checkout request. Rooms well appointed, fitness room on the 15th floor was great (love fitness rooms on top levels of hotels with a view - albeit not the greatest view :)). Also shower was fabulous. Possibly highest pressure shower I have ever experienced and I have been a road warrior for over 10 years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suburbansnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The staff at the Sheraton were more than helpful. When I couldn't find a room service menu and asked at the front desk, they were very courteous and directed me to the bar for a menu to take to my room. Because this was the day they were changing to a new menu (which, by the way, was amazing!), they didn't have a copy for me to take to my room. When I told the front desk the bar didn't have one, Ranoit, was more than apologetic. He gave me a $15 credit for my meal. That was going above and beyond in my opinion.

The staff at the Sheraton were always smiling and had kind words for everyone. I will definitely stay here again the next time I come to Arlington, VA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.1 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Property: The Westin Crystal City
Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing