We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very accommodating accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very accommodating accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are members of the Starwoods hotel points program, and have generally been treated well when we put up points instead of dollars when booking a hotel. That was NOT the case a year or so ago when we stayed at the 'W' hotel in downtown DC, near the White House. This time we were more frugal with our points and stayed at the Crystal City, VA, Sheraton instead. Crystal City isn't much, but the hotel is very close to a Metro stop and the airport, and everyone was very accommodating. Easy, if expensive parking. Put us on the top floor. Clean rooms, strong green policy (they give you extra hotel points if you forgo maid service), but most of all we had a terrific front desk experience. Minor confusion regarding some perks of our reservation was immediately greeted with substantial vouchers for food in the bar/bistro. And the food was good! And the waitress was nice. Top to bottom, people leaned over backwards to make our stay a great one. If you don't want to hassle with lodging within the district proper, the Sheraton Crystal City will do you well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    383
    112
    50
    29
See reviews for
185
195
123
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inglewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It's conveniently near the airport and the metro station. Claude Pierre provided excellent shuttle service from the airport. Hana expedited our hotel check in. Arie and Ranjit were very helpful with helping us resolve our wi-fi issue and providing us an excellent recommandation at a local restuarant. The overall service at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

During the week this is a business hotel, but come Friday afternoon and this turns into a great getaway hotel for a great price. The hotel is just one block form a Metro station which makes you close to most anywhere in the DC area. Free parking, WiFi and breakfast make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_of_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located with easy access to all points of Wash DC and surrounding areas via Metro. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff - especially Abel, the shuttle driver; Ernest, the concierge / bellman; and India, our bar server. First day of arrival was great! However, with this being an inaug weekend, the hotel was very short-handed on staff which created extremely long waits for food and drink in the bar area - the one server on duty Sunday night had to food/drink orders; take orders back to the kitchen where only 1-person was on duty; mix and serve drinks; clear off tables; and close out customer tabs. I expected hotel management to have planned more efficiently and had more wait staff on working throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ranjit at front desk was very helpful in getting info on inauguration and briefing on hotel facilities. Also like fast trip to DC on Metro. Could provide more coffee but always nice to have refrigerator in room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Location is very good, queit, high standard neighborhood, very close to metro station which is about 20 min to the mall area, clean rooms, clean relaxing beds, free wireless internet ( speed will be the best after like 11 pm otherwise it's not good for playing videos ) but there are 3 disadvantages : 1- parking fees is exaggerating ( $22.5/ night ) . 2- fridge has no freezer (which is strang), and i had ready food should be freezed , i threw in the garbage, 3- which was the most inconvenient issue which will make me (not to go back to this place again) is , no microwave in the room , in the web site they said i can get that upon request, the receptionist asked the manager, he refused , The microwave was at the restaurant downstairs, i was taking my food downstairs , cook it , wait 20 - 30 min . Then go back with food in front of all people at the restaurant and bar going upstairs, it's so stupid embarassing situation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mounirny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Shabby rooms, elevator and lobby but clean. Great price for an expensive city and adjacent to metro. Great and very friendly staff. Got an upgrade but still a very average room. Had to wait over a half hour for the hotel airport shuttle. If nicer hotels in the area are too pricey then this is an ok substitute.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyson360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#13 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Property: The Westin Crystal City
Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing