We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis MO
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a pleasant stay here. The room was clean and the price was actually quite reasonable (AAA had a special that included parking - be sure to look for this!) The gentleman at the front desk (I believe his name was Daniel) was quite helpful from the outset. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel is RIGHT next to the Crystal City Metro station (which is so convenient).

I ended up having to extend my stay and Sara at the front desk was very helpful. ALL of the gentlemen at the bellhop desk went out of their way to be helpful with directions. They were warm and welcoming throughout my stay (always greeting me, asking me how the day was, asking me if I needed anything.) My only complaint is the internet connection - it is TERRIBLE . . .slower than dialup.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    422
    120
    55
    33
See reviews for
209
219
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms lovely staff near the metro and bus links into Washington etc a couple of malls near by but very quite on a weekend due to it been very corporate round there but lovely hotel and service we were very happy !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vmorri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent assistance from the outstanding front desk clerk Ranjit got our stay off to a wonderful start, as did the truly excellent valet-bellman people. Negative was that the club lounge is closed on weekend -- we checked in on Friday, so that meant we did not get to enjoy the club. But Ranjit made sure to make up for that by giving us wonderful coupons for the hotel restaurant. We had dinner at the hotel casual restaurant-bar -- we received great service even though the hotel was a bit understaffed. The location and price were great -- this hotel is just a short Metro ride from DC yet the price was right. It is not a new hotel. But thanks to great effort by the waiter at dinner, the valet/bellman, and especially Ranjit, overall we were glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Our room shared a wall with the lounge -- not good when someone turned up TV way too loud. Problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've been to numerous places around the world (Brasil, Belize, Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Greece, and Turkey) and stayed in some pretty rough looking hotels and some extremely nice ones. First, before my trip even began, my trip had been rescheduled the night before I left and the Sheraton Crystal City was more than accommodating in rescheduling my reservation to later in the week despite being within the "make changes get penalized/loose your money" time frame. Arriving at the Hotel, it has a modern feel to it as you walk into the lobby. I went to check-in and had to wait 5-10 minutes due to other guests checking in, no big deal (I've had to wait longer in other places). Upon checking in, quest services were extremely helpful and polite and upgraded me to their "Preferred Guest" floor and gave me a voucher to cover a meal in the restaurant as an apology for having to wait the mere 5-10 minutes. The room was very clean with a beautiful view of the Arlington area. Some of the furniture was a little beat up, mainly the desk, But those nicks and scrapes are inevitable in a hotel when you have business individuals and families running in and out. The location was great. I was there for business and wanted a quiet place to rest. There are some nice cafe's and restaurants around the corner for those who might want a little night life. There are also numerous shops in the crystal city "underground" which is connected to the Metro System. The Metro entrance is less than a block away. The bridge you walk under to get to the Metro entrance was very clean with artwork (glass pieces making flowers and what not) and is well lit. With all that said, the hotel is in a great location with extremely quick access to the metro and Reagan National Airport. The rooms were clean with some scuffs on some of the furniture (desk mostly) and baseboards. The bathroom was clean (and somewhat small, would be a tight fit for two people to be in there at the same time) with granite and plenty of water pressure and hot water. The service staff went out of their way to check with me every day to see if I needed anything taken care of (especially if I was leaving and still had the Quiet Please tag on the door). I would stay here again for business but if I was going for pleasure I would want to stay closer to downtown D.C. to be closer to all the attractions. I hope this review gives an honest, up-to-date, and non-extreme (good or bad) view to help other travelers who get tired of whiny travelers who seem to complain about everything little thing or those who praise the ground the hotel is built on.

Room Tip: Try signing up for their Preferred Guests Membership (Its Free) and see if they will place you on on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our one night stay and valued the hardwork to provide premium service to us as we celebrated our 6 year anniversary. We especially appreciated the excellent level of service displayed by Ranjii to get us all set up and for helping me surprise my wife. Could not have asked for a better hotel stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esurprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was staying here as an extended stay while transitioning to the area for a new job. Jennifer was the only manager that was super nice and assisted me in the utmost courteous manner when I had a billing issue. The other desk attendants were super rude and snotty. One front desk manager named Ranjit walked into my room when I didn't answer right away. I yelled at him as I was undressed and he did not announce himself. When I went to the front desk to confront him about it, he denied it and questioned me like I was crazy. He treated me like a criminal when I had a minor credit card billing issue and talked down to me as if I was garbage. Jennifer was the only one that treated me nicely and even gave me some apartment hunting tips.

Room Tip: Lot of hallway noise but otherwise ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Lisa W.

Thank you so much for staying at the Sheraton Crystal City. We strive to deliver the highest level of service to every guest that walks through our doors. I am very sorry you did not receive the level of service you expect and deserve. We will certainly use this experience as a training tool as we move forward.

I am very glad you were able to speak with Jennifer and that she was able to accommodate you and help you out during your relocation process. Again, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will try us in the future so that we can demonstrate our commitment to customer service.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We got a room for $88 p/n between three people which turned out to be CHEAPER than staying in a hostel. We would've stayed here the whole time in DC if we could've done. The hotel was incredible - rooms were clean and comfortable - bathroom was really nice - gym for us to use - felt very safe - staff were very friendly and accommodating. Location was also really good, very close to a subway which was easy to get into the centre of town on. Absolutely no complaints.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 51 in Arlington
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#10 of 51 in Arlington
1,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Property: The Westin Crystal City
Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202-3506 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing