We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury, Value, and Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury, Value, and Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

I have stayed here many times with my wife and toddler. We have done all the combinations - club level; regular room, suite. Every time we've come, it has been a worthwhile experience. I would recommend a suite or a club level (or both) becuase it gives your child a destination. The hotel appears to be mainly a weekday destination for government business, so the weekends are a relative bargain. The rates are low by RC standards. However, the location, which would appear to be poor - is great. You are right on the metro line and attached to a mall - so everything the area has to offer is within reach. Strangely, the worst part of the hotel is what the RC is best known for - service. I've gotten slow/poor/rude service at the front desk and the restaurant . But the club room has always had friendly, attentive staff. I just won't eat in the hotel restaurant anymore. All in all, I love staying here and think it is the perfect hotel for brief getaway to DC. Skip the pool - it isn't up to par.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheMakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    304
    98
    34
    22
See reviews for
203
194
70
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We chose this location because we have stayed in Washington many times and wanted to explore some sites in Northern Virginia while still spending some time in the Capitol.
As others have mentioned, this hotel has a perfect location for discovering both areas.

Overall this renovated property looks very nice with some new décor that has a more contemporary look while still maintaining the traditional style of a classic Ritz Carlton.

We booked an executive suite which was well worth the extra money. These suites have corner locations and two large rooms with solid French doors separating them. In addition, there was a spacious foyer, dressing area, two closets, powder room and large white marble bathroom with double sinks and separate shower and tub. An old metal lined shower door reminds you that this is an older property. The rooms overall looked new, with two flat screen TVs, nice carpeting, and a very comfortable bed. Several of the table tops had marks, but the room overall was very nice and comfortable.

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and enjoyed the food and attentive service. The restaurant is called Fyve and consists of two windowless rooms that have a nice contemporary edge to them.

We took advantage of the gym and pool. The workout room is small but has a complete set of new equipment. The pool is in an attractive setting with three large windows and a separate loud hot tub. The layout of theses areas however, was not ideal. The elevators open right into the workout area. To get from the locker room to the pool, you have to walk right through the middle of the workout area. The locker room was small but nice with sauna and steam rooms.

All the hotel staff was friendly and nice. The location was great. The adjoining Fashion Centre at Pentagon City is an attractive shopping destination. The metro is right in front of the hotel and downtown Washington is ten minutes away on the two lines available at Pentagon City.

For a suburban hotel, this is a great hotel with a convenient location, and can offer good value. Although renovated, it still shows its age in some small ways, but overall it is a very solid Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in the middle of February. My wife and I both went to Georgetown and were back in town to catch some basketball games and see a bunch of old friend. We've never stayed in a Ritz-Carlton before. We usually stay in a Hilton or Hyatt or something along that level. However, the prices for rooms this weekend in DC were high, and there was a great deal at the Ritz, so I decided to splurge to see what it was like.

Location - you can't beat this location, especially if you're going to be taking the Metro anywhere. The entrance to the station is litertally right outside the front door. Plus, the hotel is connected to the Pentagon City Mall with its own keycard entrance. Also, there are shops and restaurants right across the street. Granted, Pentagon City is not the lively place, but it's easy to get anywhere in the DC/Northern Virginia area. In fact, we had a car (we were driving up the coast later that week) and hopping on the freeway was a breeze. There is charge for valet parking (like most places) but the service was quick and the car always ready.

Room - we had a basic room with a king bed. It was clean and in good shape, but nothing more than I would expect at any other decent hotel. From the bed to the desk to the TV to furniture to the bathroom, I'm really not sure why one pays a premium for a Ritz room, other than the name. Bed was very comfortable. There was a safe and cash mini bar. Internet service worked fine, but cost. We were on a middle floor and had a view of the top of the mall.

Dining - only had sunday breakfast at the Fyve restaurant. A friend staying there had it included in his package and I ate free. Excellent food and choice. It was a buffet setup with high quality meats, cheeses, fruits, grain products, etc. You could get an omelet cooked to order. Also, the waitstaff brought juices, bread products, etc. Excellent meal and worth the price (if I'd been paying).

Service - this is where you'll notice a difference from other hotel. Opening your car door for you, opening the door to the hotel, stocking your car with bottled water, bellboy up to your room, offering to get your ice, etc. turndown service, etc. However, for someone not quite used to such attention, it could be unnerving.

Overall - very good hotel. No complaints, but it the value just didn't seem to be there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our recent saty at the Pentagon City Ritz Carlton is the latest of numerous stays. We had one experience that was not to standard about 3 years ago- they corrected the problem after it was brought to their attention, everything has been perfect with our stays since. Service is typical Ritz Carlton, the hotel isn't as pleasing to the eye from the outside as it is attached to a shopping center, but inside it is everything you would expect. Metro access is in the lowest lever of the mall so getting anywhere in DC is a breeze. The food in the lounge and dining room is excellent, although I miss the more formal "Grill", the decor is modern and foor and service was great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for Valentine's day weekend 2009. The location is excellent and centrally located. It is attached to the Pentagon City mall and across the street from multiple restaurants and shops. This is a small hotel and is easily passed by if you are not looking for it. The front desk staff during our stay seemed rather inexperienced and took far too long to handle requests. My husband had reserved a suite for the weekend and we were fairly unimpressed with the overall quality of the room. While it was very clean, the room lacked the typical Ritz feel and needed an overhaul. Our suite was connected to two other suites on each side and thus, very loud. In fact we could hear our neighbors conversations as if they were in the next room. We later found out that all suites are interconnected. The room was not prepared for our arrival and the amenities that my husband had ordered were not waiting for us as they usually are. They had even forget to add the additional pillows that I always request. This was a very busy weekend and I am understanding of that. However, they should have had a more experienced and professional front desk staff on hand if they expected an almost full house. After two hours of conversation with the front desk, during which my husband asked to simply be taken out of our suite and put into another standard room, we were accommodated. We were moved to a regular room but, on the club floor. The club floor rooms were more appealing and were completely quiet, no adjoining rooms. When we arrived back at our room after dinner they finally had our amenities waiting for us. The club floor lounge was wonderful and the food and presentation were terrific. Brunch the following morning in Fyve was exceptional and the service was top notch. Overall we had a great nights sleep and a lovely stay. However, we did have about two hours of conversation with the front desk staff before they took care of our situation and apologized. In our past experiences with the Ritz we have encountered much better customer service and a all together better attitude. I would not suggest staying in the suites unless you need one to accommodate your traveling group. We were shown to an additional suite which smelled horribly of smoke and was just as loud and unattractive as our previous one. All this said, we did end up having a very nice time once we got past our initial issues. In fact, the brunch and club floor were so impressive that we are returning with family and friends to celebrate my sister's birthday here this year with a weekend long celebration.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glory4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was a generally nice, clean hotel-about what I would expect from a nice Marriott or Hotel. Would *never* expect it to be of Ritz-Carlton standards. Generally was treated ok...nothing super special but not bad either. Using the elevator is really annoying-you have to insert a room key to get to your floor. Great for late night security, but at prime times when the elevator is packed it makes for a zoo in the elevator with everyone trying to get there room keys in the slot before the door closes or risk not getting to their floor. Many, many times I had to ride the elevator up, then down, then back up again to get to my floor. Generally hotel was clean, but the towels were surprisingly *really* itchy and scratchy, likely from tons of bleach being used to make them so white. They really need new ones. Decor is generally pretty good-but more along the lines of a Marriott or Hilton than a Ritz Carlton. If I didn't know better from all the branding, I would never know it's a Ritz. The worst part is the nickle-and-dimed atmosphere you are in, which can get really annoying after awhile. Wireless internet outrageously expensive.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nyctravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Typical Ritz-Carlton service. Complimentary business cards upon arrival, etc. We ordered a 3:30 am breakfast before a 6:00 am flight and it was perfect. They provided complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and arranged to have my rental car returned to the airport. The rooms were average though. Amenities were in order (towels, robes, etc), but it didn't scream Ritz-Carlton. At the same time, the price was perfect. The location is a bit obscure if you are driving and unfamiliar with the area, but it is close to the airport, mall, and access to DC is incredibly easy. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a Ritz-Carlton experience for a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Service Service Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerfromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#11 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing