We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top Notch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
new england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We secured an excellent weekend rate with our AAA membership so decided to spend a few days in that area. It's a very convenient location. We loved the food choices being attached to the mall and a few steps away from the outdoor shopping area at Pentagon row. We parked at the mall instead of the hotel which was less than half the price.

The staff was super friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Convenient to the metro station. We would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
1 Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I spent an extended weekend here in July 2014. The staff was very friendly and although very outdated the room was very clean. I'm assuming the the reason for such a costly stay was the location next to the metro station. The mattress was worn out which gave me great back pain throughout my stay. The restaurant Fyve looked great but again, very expensive for a mediocre breakfast. I do not intend on being a repeat guest at this location as other hotels just a few miles away offer a more pleasant, wallet friendly stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
2 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Timothy H,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I would agree that we offer a great location with easy access to the District, Northern Virginia and Reagan National Airport. I am also fortunate to work with many hospitality professionals that you appear to have experienced while here. I am sorry that your experience overall did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important and If you have the time, I would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. I can be reached at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This particular property is a bit dated including slow creaky elevators and smallish rooms but the service was up to Ritz standard and the location can't be beat. Right next to the Metro station and right next to a shopping mall with a foot court in case you're not wanting the pricey Hotel restaurant option. Sadly, WiFi was not included and you'll either pay $9.95 or $14.95 a day depending on what speed you need. Even with that detraction, I still recommend this property, especially for weekends when substantial discount rates can be obtained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

A good experience as usual the people were 1st class but the hotel itself is a little tired. The shower backed up and the towels were worn. It is great to have a hotel atop the metro station and mall for accessibility. I did need to check in early as my flight was extremely early and this request was met with no issue.

Stayed July 2014
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had a nice quiet room at the back corner of the hotel. Rom had been de-feathered as I am allergic to feathers.

The only complaint I had about the room was that there was a huge scratch on the bedside cabinet. i did not complain as I liked the position of the room and it did not affect its functionality.

Service was very good. Conference people were particularly helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately i did not have time to run in the mornings, but a number of my colleagues commented on the excellent provision for runners of water, towel and map first thing in the morning.

Egg station at brakfast was particularly good with egges always perfectly done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
Thank GrahamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this location before and find it very convenient for travel from the airport and access to the Metro. We were on the 18th floor and found the rooms well appointed and very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly but somewhat overwhelmed at times on the Club Level. The changes to the Club Level were very apparent with one person trying to accommodate all of the guests. We can't really complain because it is a vacation and someone was trying to meet our needs. They become your friends and it is very difficult to see them work so hard.

Room Tip: Flexibility in your scheduled time off can afford you a great rate on the Club Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
2 Thank ssina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton at Pentagon city twice a year for the past 8 years for a meeting I attend. The location is ideal being two stops on the yellow line Metro from Natinal Airport. The staff are uniformly courteous and helpful. The exercise facilities are above average and open 24 hours a day. The rooms have everything I look for when traveling on business. It is a pleasure staying there. I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
The Westin Crystal City
#12 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Groupon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing