We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Goochland, Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This will be an unique review so please read on! Being a Marriott Lifetime Platinum Member I've experienced a long list of problems while staying at Marriott properties. However, in the vast majority of cases the issues where handled satisfactorily. This was my first stay at a Ritz and I was looking forward to the experience based upon the upscale name recognition. I was greeted cordially when I drove into the entrance given a parking receipt and my luggage was brought into the registration desk. The hotel registration clerk was very pleasant and explained that "no, you do not have access to the concierge lounge". And went on to explain it is available for $100. Well that went over well. I then asked if there was a pool, whirlpool and exercise room and the response was "yes". Having knee surgery I look forward to the benefits of a whirlpool. I received my key and headed to my king room on the 14th floor. Upon entering I was instantly struck with a strong chemical odor which was most likely a cleaning solution. I turned on the AC and let it run hoping the offending odor went away. Well, after allowing ample time no luck. I called the front desk and voiced the issue and they kindly gave me a larger room on the 15th floor without the odor. Then I headed down to the 3rd floor to relax in the whirlpool to find there is no whirlpool! I'm getting a bit concerned here. Morning came and I headed down for breakfast to be greeted by no one. Finally I got the attention of a server who said to sit wherever I would like and he would be right back. Fifteen minutes pass and again no one comes over to take my order and I'm about ready to walk out and hit Duncan Donuts. Finally, another server sees that no one has taken my order and apologizes. The breakfast was fine as well as the service once I was noticed. Things are looking up! Well, no. I enter the elevator to return to my room and the elevator begins the slow journey upward and begins to jerk, shake, stop and start finally abruptly stopping somewhere near the 4th floor and the doors would not open. For 10 minutes I tried about everything inserting my key hitting the variety of elevator buttons to no avail. So, stuck in their elevator. I decide to try the phone in the elevator and miraculously someone from the front desk picked up. I explained that I was calling from their elevator, stuck, they replied that they would call someone to get me out. I waited for awhile and nothing. I decided to try to pry the doors apart and it worked. The elevator was about a foot below the 4th floor. So I stepped up and was able to find a working elevator and safely made it back to my room. When I left my room to check out there was another gentleman waiting to go down to the 1st floor. We waited over 15 minutes depressing the down button numerous times and nothing. Finally we tried the up button which did the trick. So we went "up to go down"! A unique experience without question. Would I stay here again? Don't think so! I'm sure most patrons here are not as unlucky as I was. Life is full of choices...



Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, I am disappointed with the experience that we provided to you as a first time guest. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your visit. Feedback is very important to us, so if you could afford the time, I can be reached directly at 703-4152-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    364
    116
    44
    28
See reviews for
307
278
100
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have never reviewed anything my life. The service in this hotel was so awesome that I felt like I owed it to them.

When I arrived at the hotel, my card didn't work so I couldn't pay the taxi. The hotel fronted me the money and we're very nice about it. Frank* at the reception told me a story about when he went out and his card didn't work either and that genuinely made the experience much less awkward.

Every single person at the hotel went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Room service was fast, housekeeping is great, the location is perfect. I needed to buy video games for my little brother, jewelry for my girlfriend and a bunch of other stuff: all available in the attached mall.

I'm leaving now after only 4 days in the hotel but it feels like I'm leaving home.


* Frank for president. He remembered my name after only having seen it on the first day (and I have a difficult name), great personality and on my last day told me that the cab ride was on them. If anyone from management is reading this then this guy has to be promoted. You're in trouble if he leaves.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear AlRush,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We work very hard to deliver the feeling of a "home away from home." It is gratifying to read about your experience as it conveys the positive outcome of our commitment to service training. I am very fortunate to have Frank on our team. He is an outstanding hospitality professional and we all appreciate the work he does. I will be certain to share your comments in our weekly staff meeting. Again, my thanks to you for taking the time to leave your feedback. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please contact me directly at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

For the business or leisure traveler this hotel is the best choice in the Capital Region. Access to National Airport and Metro couldn't be easier. My stay started with the warmest welcome I have ever received at any hotel thanks to Mr. Mahmoud. You expect a certain standard at a Ritz-Carlton. Mr. Mahmoud and the entire staff exceeds it. Excellent food on the property and dozens of other dining options within a short walk. In addition to the usual fitness center, there's a pool and sauna, something few hotels in the area have. Superb housekeeking, well appointed rooms and comfortable beds made for great night's sleep after a busy day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear JF Seattle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property with the Trip Advisor Community! We also feel that our location and proximity to the Metro Line allow us to offer a tremendous value when visiting the Washington DC area. I am very fortunate to work with Khaled who is an outstanding hospitality professional. I will share your feedback in our weekly staff meeting as I know he will appreciate your comments very much. Thank you again for your feedback. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, please contact me directly at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am fortunate to travel and stay in nice hotels...after a while one bedroom or a marble bathroom all seem the same so its the small things that make it diiferent and this hotel is about service. Always a welcome from the doorman, doors opened for you by staff saying welcome back..even breakfast which in hotels the worlds over can be a scrum was civilised and welcoming. Its a comfortable nice hotel with an attached Mall, Pentagon Row nearby for restaurants and clean pleasant rooms with Frette linen and Asprey toiletries. Ritz Carlton s are always reliable and a hallmark for quality..after a 14 hour inbound from Dubai this hotel hit the spot. Well done

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times while traveling for business and this time brought the family with. As always, we received fabulous customer service. One of the main reasons I return. We wish to thank everyone at the Ritz for helping make our stay in DC so great. The hotel is close to the metro, making it very easy to get around. But also attached to the mall should you have forgotten something or just want to shop. There are several restaurants close by, as well as a grocery store. The club level offers just about everything one could want and the room service food was very good. We enjoyed our stay and once again, a special thanks to Khaled, Frank, Bethel, Rashid, Sonja, Mulu and everyone else whose names I have forgotten!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a quick 2-day trip to see the cherry blossoms. The hotel is convenient to the metro, is clean and well-appointed, and the service has been excellent. In particular, our bellhop went over and above, going back down to the lobby to get tourist information for us, as well as recognizing us the next day and engaging us in conversation (recommending more for us to see). The maids have been excellent, providing extra towels, waters, etc. The Ritz has exceeded our expectations.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank artsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Ritz and I can honestly say it was the best hotel experience my husband and I have ever had. We travel frequently and usually stay at 4+ star hotels, this one was by far the best! The staff was super helpful and kind. The room was SUPER clean and the attention to details was great. The Ritz may be a little pricier but after a day of sightseeing it was nice to come back to such a wonderful room. The room service food was delicious. The bar/restaurant was a little pricey but again well worth it for a vacation!The location could not have been better. It was the perfect place to stay. We even had friends who live local meet us there fro drinks and they loved it too!

Room Tip: We had just a regular room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEP1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear MEP1999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of our property on Trip Advisor. We work continuously to ensure that we provide excellent services and it is gratifying to all of us to read your review. If I can be of assistance to you in the future, should your travels bring you back to the Washington area, I would be delighted to coordinate your arrangements. I can be reached at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com.

Thank you gain and have a wonderful Summer Season!

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing