We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz-Carlton?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staff were TERRIFIC! The property itself did not reflect what one expects from a Ritz-Carlton.
If you book a stay here, realize that you're getting a "Ritz-Carlton Lite". A fine average hotel, but not a Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staying in or near the DC area, Ritz Carlton Pentagon City is the ideal hotel. Located about 100 ft. from the Metro, it is easily accessible and situated right near Pentagon City mall. The ambience of the Ritz is it's typical fashion. As a Marriott Gold status member, not even breakfast is included but that can be expected at the Ritz. Service is top notch, and front desk and bellmen greet you by your name each time you enter/exit. Gym and facilities are top notch as well. Definitly worth the stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pentagon City view on a high floor as you will have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've stayed here multiple times in the past few years, as we visit friends in the DC area. Price wise for this trip we couldn't go wrong, with the Bed & Breakfast, included a $50 breakfast credit per day and free valet parking. Definitely worth it, as breakfast costs at least $50 here, and valet is another $20 for the night, so the upgrade is worth the price

Check-in service is swift and as expected at any Ritz. They noted they we needed a feather free room, but when we got to the room, it was not prepared correctly. Housekeeping made the changes needed, but it is annoying that you book something in advance and it is not taken care of.

Breakfast is really good. Everything is fresh, easy and the service is good.

Sort of gross to see food carts in the halls left outside from guests from room service the night before. Yes, guests do not call for a pickup, but there has to be cameras in the hallway that security can see. Also, housekeeping was in other rooms in the morning, so they could have made a call to get the cart removed. It was there from before we left for breakfast until we returned, so an hour would have been plenty of time.

Other than that, the room is a standard room, nothing special. Clean and as expected for a Ritz. however, I HATE that they have shower curtains, it just gross.

Location is great for getting most anywhere, which is the reason we stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clearly, this is a Ritz-Carlton and a nice hotel, but equally clearly it is a Ritz lite! I really enjoyed my stay, but something "just wasn't right" all weekend. Would I go back? Sure... Great price & location... But I sort of felt like I was at a really nice Hilton... Not a "Ritz-Carlton."

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank East-mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hey it's a RITZ and you get exactly what you expect, or more if you haven't indulged recently.
But beyond the Ritz, you get virtually instant access to the Washington Metro which takes you everywhere in air conditioned comfort from its pentagon city location just across the patomac river from washington.
I have to compliment the concierge staff . Because on weekends especially the hotel is all about being in or near washington, they know it all and deliver what you need to know which such a friendly and unassuming spirit. What a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wedding reception held here so we got very good room rates. The hotel is very clean and convenient. Metro stop is literally right outside the front door! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Indoor pool very nice but no hot tub. There is sauna and steam room. The hotel is right next door to a huge indoor shopping mall which has a fabulous food court because food prices in hotel are very high. Room is spacious and clean. Does not have a fridge or microwave, which really should be in the room. Wireless is not free- this should definitely be included in room rate! The supper served at the reception was fair. My chicken was borderline not done and was pretty tasteless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kansas534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A two night stay, checkin was easy, right above the metro stop. Off to DC and back later. Being above the metro stops makes it easy to get to. Got Club access, to me, worth every dollar with water, wine, coffee and finger foods throughout the day, breakfast, lunch and dinner. First night, did not get a turndown, but the second night, I did. The sheets even got changed on turndown, because I had the privacy sign out during the regular housekeeping. The staff was friendly, especially the Club attendants. All the amenities were top rate. Fitness center had older machines, but still roomy. Access door to the mall next door. Only thing maybe which was a glitch was the AC, but once I figured out the settings, it was fine. Being the cheapo I am, I didn't want to pay for the valet parking, which I needed on my last night, having a flight at 6am at Dulles. I picked up a rental car by noon and parked it a block away in a meter spot next to a city park. It was $1 per hour and you could park there up to 12 hours. Run to the bank to get a roll of quarters and I still have half a roll in my backpack as I write a review. At night, I moved the car closer to the hotel, because it was really dark by the park and at 4am, no ticket, no smashed window and off I go to IAD.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingChumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,905 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22102 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $201 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing