We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, but the rooms needs upgraded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for the weekend during busy season, the service is overall good, they remember your name, but I agree with many of the review, the room needs updated.

House keeping service needs a bit improvement. They won't give us mouth wash and lotion after we used up the first two days. There is also no saddle in the room, you need to bring your own.

We were staying at 18th club level. Breakfast quality is average , with limited choices. But it is enough for coffee and quick snack.

Parking service is quick and costs $35 a day when we were there.

We also had drink in the bar which is not too bad.

Location is connected to a mall. And with easy access to highway.

Overall, I would not say it is the best, but it is pretty good. With hardware upgrade, this could be a great place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiKevin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved our stay and will never stay anywhere else when we return to DC. The staff was so outstanding and made you feel like family. When we would leave in the evening we were treated to complimentary champagne. Breakfast was delicious, great service, beautiful spacious room, with very comfortable beds. The staff made you feel so special and they made it obvious that they appreciated your business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved staying here. First class all the way; starting with check-in, where they were efficient and knowledgable, and served our kids sugar cookies!- way to make friends- and ending with check out, nothing but excellent service and class.
The staff knew our names, offered us assistance every time we got off the elevators in the lobby, and did their best to make our family vacation special. They made a fuss over the kids, gave us advice about making the trip easier and truly made the stay fantastic.
First morning we came down to the lobby, they asked where we were going. We said the zoo. They asked if we had eaten and when we said that we planned to eat there, they pointed out that they really don't have much for breakfast. The concierge suggested the food court in the mall, when we didn't know what that was or how to get there- he WALKED US over and showed us! Now that is service!
And of course, the hotel is beautiful. It's the Ritz! Nothing more to say. It's not called "putting on the Ritz" for nothing. Stunning beautiful.
We stayed in the executive suite and it was large enough for our family of 3 adults and 3 kids (ages 4, 2, and infant) to have plenty of room! And the decor was tasteful and elegant.
This hotel is connected to the mall and so has indoor access to the metro, and as stated earlier, a food court, and shopping. Quick food is important with kids, so much easier than a restaurant. There is also an entrance to the metro right outside the front door if you prefer, things here couldn't be more convenient. And what a quick trip to the National Mall! We were worried we were too far away, but it was literally 5 minutes on the metro.
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and it's wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

OK. It's a Ritz. Service is Ritz quality. Courteous, thoughtful, polite, helpful, and all of that. After arriving on a red-eye at 7:00 a.m. they immediately found me a clean room so I could shower. Very much appreciated. Impeccably clean. No complaints whatsoever about the amazing staff.

But this architectural train-wreck desperately needs a renovation. Uninteresting 80's exterior with dated furniture and decor. This type of furniture belongs in a classic '20's hotel -- not a badly planned-out modern building wedged between two wings of a mall. Cramped public spaces. Marble bathroom floors (which look pretty, but are really slippery when wet). Horrible sound insulation between adjoining rooms. Rotten location with views of a Costco and a freeway. With a total renovation, the place could be a pretty good upper-mid-range convention hotel. It's not nearly up to Ritz standards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Pentagon City is first-rate in terms of service and comfort. While staying there during a business conference my roommate and I found a few quirks which, while they didn't ruin the experience, were disappointing considering it was a Ritz Carlton. The room itself was plush and well appointed with lots of fluffy pillows, beautiful curtains and furnishings, and perfectly comfortable beds. The bathrooms, while marble clad, were very much lacking. The fact that there was no exhaust fan left the room all but impossible to properly dry and style one's hair without waiting an hour or so for the humidity to dissipate. In addition to the lack of ventilation, the lighting in the bathroom had an awful yellow cast to it and was too low for applying makeup.

The service staff was friendly, accommodating, and very quick in spite of having a house full of potentially demanding guests.

The view from our room wasn't great but considering we never left the building in 3 days (and never had to with the connected shopping mall) that wasn't as much of a factor. We also never had a chance to avail ourselves of the metro stop literally right outside the door either.

As a bonus, having the connected mall was brilliant for my roommate and I as we preferred to breakfast more economically at the Au Bon Pain at the mall instead of the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missus_Myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our second and third stay here. We now plan our trip to and from Colonial Wiliamsburg from our home in Connecticut with an overnight at this hotel each way. The service is impeccable as one expects from Ritz-Carltons, the rooms are comfortable bordering luxury (even the 'standard' rooms), everything is immaculate and the food is wonderful. We always use Room Service since we get there after a long drive and will be on another long drive in the morning; notwithstanding, I say again, the food is wonderful. One orders pancakes and the maple syrup individual glass containers are warmed when one receives them (!). As others have noted this hotel has far more to offer than we have been able to take advantage of, yet, even just for an overnight, it is wonderful to be in a Ritz-Carlton. (We have tried the Hay-Adams and the Ritz-Carlton on 22nd Street as well as Tyson's Corners but have settled on this one primarily because you are sufficiently outside of the confusing roadways of Washington proper [Manhattan and its environs are simple and straightforward compared to DC]).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for a long weekend in D.C. It is attached to Pentagon City Mall. The metro stop is right in the mall, too. We made it to the hotel from DCA in literally minutes... maybe 10. Then we checked in to the hotel and in our room within a half hour of disembarking our flight. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. They had orange-strawberry water and apples in the lobby at the entrance. The room was nice. Not as luxurious as some other hotels, and with the name "Ritz" this is expected. But it was very comfortable, very clean, and very quiet. This was the ideal location for all of our sightseeing. We were able to grab the metro and go anywhere. Plus after being out all day, we stopped and picked up snacks in the food court at the mall. The food shops open early also to grab a quick breakfast or Starbucks on the way out for the day. I will definitely stay here every time we are in the DC area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enchilada72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
0.5 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#28 of 52 in Arlington
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Arlington
Hyatt Centric Arlington
#8 of 52 in Arlington
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Address: 1250 S Hayes St, Arlington, VA 22202-5000 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range: $191 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Northern VA’s most desirable neighborhoods and connected to high-end shopping at The Fashion Center at Pentagon City, our hotel offers more than simply a prime address. A local influence is weaved throughout our hotel, from the artwork of Virginia artists that adorns the walls to the regionally sourced ingredients on our restaurant menus. The experience is unique to the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing