We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ritz quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ritz quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved staying here. First class all the way; starting with check-in, where they were efficient and knowledgable, and served our kids sugar cookies!- way to make friends- and ending with check out, nothing but excellent service and class.
The staff knew our names, offered us assistance every time we got off the elevators in the lobby, and did their best to make our family vacation special. They made a fuss over the kids, gave us advice about making the trip easier and truly made the stay fantastic.
First morning we came down to the lobby, they asked where we were going. We said the zoo. They asked if we had eaten and when we said that we planned to eat there, they pointed out that they really don't have much for breakfast. The concierge suggested the food court in the mall, when we didn't know what that was or how to get there- he WALKED US over and showed us! Now that is service!
And of course, the hotel is beautiful. It's the Ritz! Nothing more to say. It's not called "putting on the Ritz" for nothing. Stunning beautiful.
We stayed in the executive suite and it was large enough for our family of 3 adults and 3 kids (ages 4, 2, and infant) to have plenty of room! And the decor was tasteful and elegant.
This hotel is connected to the mall and so has indoor access to the metro, and as stated earlier, a food court, and shopping. Quick food is important with kids, so much easier than a restaurant. There is also an entrance to the metro right outside the front door if you prefer, things here couldn't be more convenient. And what a quick trip to the National Mall! We were worried we were too far away, but it was literally 5 minutes on the metro.
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and it's wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    349
    111
    41
    27
See reviews for
283
252
92
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

OK. It's a Ritz. Service is Ritz quality. Courteous, thoughtful, polite, helpful, and all of that. After arriving on a red-eye at 7:00 a.m. they immediately found me a clean room so I could shower. Very much appreciated. Impeccably clean. No complaints whatsoever about the amazing staff.

But this architectural train-wreck desperately needs a renovation. Uninteresting 80's exterior with dated furniture and decor. This type of furniture belongs in a classic '20's hotel -- not a badly planned-out modern building wedged between two wings of a mall. Cramped public spaces. Marble bathroom floors (which look pretty, but are really slippery when wet). Horrible sound insulation between adjoining rooms. Rotten location with views of a Costco and a freeway. With a total renovation, the place could be a pretty good upper-mid-range convention hotel. It's not nearly up to Ritz standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Pentagon City is first-rate in terms of service and comfort. While staying there during a business conference my roommate and I found a few quirks which, while they didn't ruin the experience, were disappointing considering it was a Ritz Carlton. The room itself was plush and well appointed with lots of fluffy pillows, beautiful curtains and furnishings, and perfectly comfortable beds. The bathrooms, while marble clad, were very much lacking. The fact that there was no exhaust fan left the room all but impossible to properly dry and style one's hair without waiting an hour or so for the humidity to dissipate. In addition to the lack of ventilation, the lighting in the bathroom had an awful yellow cast to it and was too low for applying makeup.

The service staff was friendly, accommodating, and very quick in spite of having a house full of potentially demanding guests.

The view from our room wasn't great but considering we never left the building in 3 days (and never had to with the connected shopping mall) that wasn't as much of a factor. We also never had a chance to avail ourselves of the metro stop literally right outside the door either.

As a bonus, having the connected mall was brilliant for my roommate and I as we preferred to breakfast more economically at the Au Bon Pain at the mall instead of the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus_Myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
292 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our second and third stay here. We now plan our trip to and from Colonial Wiliamsburg from our home in Connecticut with an overnight at this hotel each way. The service is impeccable as one expects from Ritz-Carltons, the rooms are comfortable bordering luxury (even the 'standard' rooms), everything is immaculate and the food is wonderful. We always use Room Service since we get there after a long drive and will be on another long drive in the morning; notwithstanding, I say again, the food is wonderful. One orders pancakes and the maple syrup individual glass containers are warmed when one receives them (!). As others have noted this hotel has far more to offer than we have been able to take advantage of, yet, even just for an overnight, it is wonderful to be in a Ritz-Carlton. (We have tried the Hay-Adams and the Ritz-Carlton on 22nd Street as well as Tyson's Corners but have settled on this one primarily because you are sufficiently outside of the confusing roadways of Washington proper [Manhattan and its environs are simple and straightforward compared to DC]).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for a long weekend in D.C. It is attached to Pentagon City Mall. The metro stop is right in the mall, too. We made it to the hotel from DCA in literally minutes... maybe 10. Then we checked in to the hotel and in our room within a half hour of disembarking our flight. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. They had orange-strawberry water and apples in the lobby at the entrance. The room was nice. Not as luxurious as some other hotels, and with the name "Ritz" this is expected. But it was very comfortable, very clean, and very quiet. This was the ideal location for all of our sightseeing. We were able to grab the metro and go anywhere. Plus after being out all day, we stopped and picked up snacks in the food court at the mall. The food shops open early also to grab a quick breakfast or Starbucks on the way out for the day. I will definitely stay here every time we are in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enchilada72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers regarding the rooms (e.g. small, clean, comfortable, but dated) that being said, if you do not intend to spend your entire stay in the room and wish to be centrally located to all the great things in the Washington Metro area - this Ritz is perfection! From check in to check out, the Ritz delivers wonderful service. Special thanks go to Frank (Front Desk) and the lovely women who work on the Club level. The concierge and the staff at Fyve also shined during my visit.

Some of the things that make this Ritz special are:

1. Metro is located directly across from the Ritz entrance so you can zip downtown to check out the museums and monuments with ease.

2. The hotel is connected to the Fashion Center Mall (Macys, Nordstroms etc..) and across the street from a CVS, Starbucks, Marshals and Nordstrom Rack. If you forget to pack ANYTHING you can purchase it within walking distance.

3. Reserving a club level room is worth every penny. There are 5 presentations daily. The breakfast was fantastic with eggs, oatmeal, chicken sausage, bacon, fruit, bagels, smoked salmon and various pasteries. You have access to water, soda and snacks through out the day and a 5pm the club level hosts a lovely happy hour with terrific wine and hot hors'oveures. Just what you need after a long day of sightseeing and a great way to hold you over until the 8:30 dinner reservations!

4. All members of the staff want to help! The concierge arranged for sedan service to take us to Nationals Park and the driver was delightful! He even picked us up so we could avoid the crowds on the way back to VA.

I will definitely go back to this Ritz!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzee2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights with wife and kids for spring break. Rented 2 adjoining suites. Rooms are nice, a little dated. First morning I woke up and went to take a shower, no water. Called the front desk and was told that guests were notified the day before but there was no mention whatsoever about it when I checked in the night before. Also, they were cleaning the brass on elevators during our stay and decided to do it on the floor we were staying on. Fumes were horrible! Why can't they do it on the floor where the gym or conference rooms are after they are closed???? Not very thoughtful. We ordered room service a few times. Food was just okay. The order was wrong a few times and they had to go back to get the rest of it. Also, there is a service charge and 18% gratuity added on to room service but yet there is a space to leave a tip and only once did the server mention that gratuity is added to the bill. If you are putting 18% gratuity on my bill and there is a space to leave a tip when you sign for it I think it's only appropriate that you mention it!
Now for the good stuff. The staff are very nice. The location I thought was great. It's attached to a nice mall. Metro is steps away from the entrance and its only minutes to all the sights. Like I said, food was good. Not great. Not bad. Price was much better for comparable hotels that are more central. Nice pool and gym.
Overall, would I stay here again? Probably. Just not what I experienced at other ritz Carlton's I stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler29574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,298 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing